Ratings based on 281 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Trinidad WI

Very nice resort on the beach front.

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: The rooms are huge and includes a full kitchen!
Cons: Nothing! Some ares were being renovated...we stayed in a room which was recently renovated so I guess once that's completed they're good to go.m
Location: Lots to do on the property or nearby. They even arranged shopping tours.
Nice hotel, very friendly and informative staff. Was impressed with the level of service received. Lots to do, nice restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Beautiful resort with scenic views.

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: I loved the pools and beautiful landscape.
Cons: Advertise the shuttle service better.
Location: Centrally located and near diving, restaurants,and unique shopping.
I stayed in a studio and was very pleased with the facility! The food was excellent at Alexander's and also The Stone. The pools were well maintained and there were plenty of them! The only drawback was the climbing to and from the room to other locations at the resort. The hills are somewhat steep. I think you could catch a ride, but that was not explained to me when I checked in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Hotel on the Beach

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the beach and town.
Cons: To no fault of the house keepers, the bathrooms never seemed to be totally clean.
Location: This hotel is close to everything.
The hotel is on the beach and the staff is excellent. It is within walking distance of awesome bakeries and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Very good location, and all facilities near by.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Orlando, Fl

dated

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: The rooms itself need to be upgraded as they are way too old and dated...really the tvs look 20 years older... Not to mention the furniture!
Location: Location is good there are good restaurants like zee best, water activities as well are available walking distance and a nice small bar the red piano.
Horrible check in experience took over one hour. The rooms are very old and dated.... This place needs to be upgraded in the worst way. Staff is not so bad but the wifi is terrible there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom M, Avalon, CA

Last minute getaway

Posted Nov 10, 2014
We made a last minute trip extending our vacation. We were pleased to see the property in good condition after the island hurricane. Most of the rooms have been redone in their remodeling of the property. Lots of pools, beach access, and great food on the property.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Thunder Bay,Ont

nice view of marina

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: The villas section is modern and luxurious. The Marina section is dated and in need of upgrading
Cons: Cleaner hallways,updated furnishings
Location: Location OK if you have a car, otherwise be prepared to do some walking. Lots of sea excursions available on site and Casino if interested
Stayed for one night, stop over. Difficult to give over all opinion, but stayed there in the past , and not much seemed to have changed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Trinidad

great hotel. close to restaurants, airport, town.

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: The room, cleanliness.
Location: Restaurants. Tours. Activities. Shopping
Absolutely great hotel. Spacious rooms. Close to everything that makes a perfect vacation.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsburgh, PA

Large Resort, Disappointing Room

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: Location in Simpson Bay, restaurants onsite.
Cons: Renovation of the renovated rooms and improved Casino on site. Advertised WiFi was slow and unreliable.
Location: The location is good as it's right in the heart of Simpson Bay which makes it an easy drive either to Mullet Bay Beach or Orient Bay beaches.
We spent 4 days at the Simpson Bay Resort and Marina because by staying until Wednesday in St. Martin, we were able to save over $400 in airfare and we could get a room for around $100 a night there. The resort is on a hill overlooking Simpson Bay and would be more accommodating for a mountain goat than a person. We were told that the room we were assigned was recently renovated. If that is true, they really missed the boat on the renovations. The lighting in the living room/kitchen area wasn't good as there are several dark places in the room at night. The room layout was poor also and the furniture not very comfortable. The bathroom is larger than needed with no benefit to the extra space. When the light is turned on the exhaust fan sounds like Indiana Jones' pontoon plane taking off. It is much too loud and can be heard in the adjoining bedroom. There was a pool right outside our room which was nice but we can swim in a pool at home so our main interest is the beach. The beach was about a three block walk down a fairly steep road which was hard to navigate in beach sandals and even harder on the way back up. The beach itself has a very granular sand reminiscent of construction sand. Don't get any sand inside your sandals as it will cause an abrasion when you walk. We went to a vacation club presentation and I told them the resort didn't sell itself.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2014
There was a hurricane while we were there which I certainly do not blame the resort or staff for. What I dod find disappointing was the staff's lack of knowledge or interest to help with all other matters. This included directions; and information about facilities on the resort. My phone also did not work while I was there and I need to call three times to have that resolved. Then the battery on my safe died and that also required there requests to have it fixed but after the repair man left, it still did not. The morning after the hurricane we had no water, although it had initially been back late the night before. When I called to get an idea of when that might be addressed I was told that the maintenance staff in charge of plumbing did not report before 9:00 AM! Lastly at Alexander's Cafe, the food was decent and the waitress fine but she was the only waitress. This occurred all three times we went, twice for breakfast and once for lunch. It tok 30 to 40 minutes to get each meal.