Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel staff need to mind their own business

Posted Apr 21, 2014
The front desk closes at night so you better not need anything or you're out of luck. The staff also were very nosey and it was not appreciated.
1 out of 5
by Dean from Canada

Be Careful!!

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Had a nice view of the bay.
Cons: Customer service
Location: Not much shopping nearby or within walking distance. Just some grocery stores and. Restaurants. Pineapple Pete's was good .The Palms has very gd food.
Heard good things about this place in the reviews. Arrived in the morning and they gave me a room right away! Ok, this was a good start. Went to the room and it appeared someone took a shower in our suite and left a wet towel on the bed. The beds did not appear to be slept in. hmmm. Later in the afternoon someone from the front desk along with a Security guard knocked on my door. They asked why I did not check out? I explained we checked in early. I had to write my name down on a piece of paper and they took it to the front desk. I got a call 30 minutes later. They wanted me to come to the desk with some proof I booked the suite. I gave them my expedia confirmation sheet. They apologized. 15 minutes later they called and said I was not in their system and I would have to pay $193.00 or leave. I pre-paid through Expedia and it was non- refundable. They gave me no choice despite showing proof of paying. So I had to pay. What I do not understand is when I booked in, they had me on their system. Was this a scam? Btw, the room was dated, noisy and the patio door would not open. Very expensive to eat there.
3 out of 5
by P&M from Atlanta

SBS St. Maarten

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: Location and courtesy of the manager.
Cons: Drop the price.
Location: Midway between airport and cruise port. On a busy street with several restaurants and a market. Not on the water.
First off, the picture shown is NOT of this hotel. This was a relatively small hotel. The staff were all extremely courteous and helpful. The hotel is located within easy walking distance of restaurants and a grocery store, but is not on or near the bay. The room was clean and modest, but overpriced by American standards. If I paid more than $100 for this room in the U.S., I would be upset. For a one-night stay, it was okay, but I wouldn't want to spend a week there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Corey from Toronto

Hospitality

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a very good stay at Simpson Bay Suites - we needed an extra night in St Martin before our flight left, and this was the perfect spot. We were very comfortable in the well-appointed room, and we could easily walk down to the beach at Buccaneer Bar. In particular, the hotel staff went out of their way to make our stay extremely comfortable, and we appreciated it very much.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The owners have to spend money, to make money, nothing worked.
Everything in this hotel is cheap, the locks, the TVs, the beds even the towels are second hand products thrown away by larger hotels. If you can stay elesewhere (even your car) you should stay there and avoid this hotel. It is also Expedias mistake to not rate this hotel, it is obvious that they have never inspected this property. Even the front desk and lobby closes at night and you have to go through a dark back Street to gain Access at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Customer service was poor. Employees at front desk seem disinterested. There was no jesture of welcome.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

1

Posted Feb 14, 2013
TOTALLY MISREPRESENTED AND WAY OVERPRICED . NOT AT ALL WHAT SHOULD BE
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Alex

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2013 on Hotels.com