Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by P&M from Atlanta

SBS St. Maarten

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: Location and courtesy of the manager.
Cons: Drop the price.
Location: Midway between airport and cruise port. On a busy street with several restaurants and a market. Not on the water.
First off, the picture shown is NOT of this hotel. This was a relatively small hotel. The staff were all extremely courteous and helpful. The hotel is located within easy walking distance of restaurants and a grocery store, but is not on or near the bay. The room was clean and modest, but overpriced by American standards. If I paid more than $100 for this room in the U.S., I would be upset. For a one-night stay, it was okay, but I wouldn't want to spend a week there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Corey from Toronto

Hospitality

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a very good stay at Simpson Bay Suites - we needed an extra night in St Martin before our flight left, and this was the perfect spot. We were very comfortable in the well-appointed room, and we could easily walk down to the beach at Buccaneer Bar. In particular, the hotel staff went out of their way to make our stay extremely comfortable, and we appreciated it very much.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The owners have to spend money, to make money, nothing worked.
Everything in this hotel is cheap, the locks, the TVs, the beds even the towels are second hand products thrown away by larger hotels. If you can stay elesewhere (even your car) you should stay there and avoid this hotel. It is also Expedias mistake to not rate this hotel, it is obvious that they have never inspected this property. Even the front desk and lobby closes at night and you have to go through a dark back Street to gain Access at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Customer service was poor. Employees at front desk seem disinterested. There was no jesture of welcome.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

1

Posted Feb 14, 2013
TOTALLY MISREPRESENTED AND WAY OVERPRICED . NOT AT ALL WHAT SHOULD BE
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Alex

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cecily from Bermuda

Great for couples or families.

Posted Sep 21, 2012
Pros: Location and cleanliness.
Cons: 1 Television, 1 telephone.
Location: conveniently located to bus, beach and fine restaurants.
Very cleanand comfortable, good location. Very easy to travel if you are not driving. Grocery store and nice restaurants within walking distance. Should have 2 Televisions since it is a suite. Also should have a phone in the bedroom.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid this one

Posted Mar 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
The room was dirty and the surrounding area was not nice. Definitely overpriced. We wished we had booked in Phillipsburg and paid more for a nice clean facility near amenities. The hotel looked like an abandoned office building from the outside. Repairs were underway in the flooded lobby area when we entered. Downhill from there.