Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, NC

Relaxing resort by the Cove

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: The personality and friendliness of the staff. The food served throughout the day.
Cons: More planned activities, better information on various processes (perhaps a booklet containing the information like other hotels have),
Location: The resort is situated on a half moon shaped cove near Phillipsburg. There is shopping, eating, and various beach activities available.
The Sonesta Resort Great Bay is a great place to come if you want to sit back, relax, have a drink and let the stress melt away. Although it is a smaller resort, the staff was very friendly and willing to go out of their way in order to make your stay an enjoyable one. We just happened to be unlucky enough to be there during a Hurricane but the bartender, Michael, and the waiter, Innocent, made sure that the guests remained calm and kept the drinks flowing so that people would still have a good time during the storm. My only complaints with the resort is that, because of the smaller size, there were only a couple of planned activities done and the rest of the day was left up to the guests with a few board games available. The second was that the outside music being played was often kept at a low volume so it was hard to enjoy. The last complaint is that there was very little information in how various processes , such as getting beach towels, worked and I ended up having to guess how things were done. Overall a great stay even during a Hurricane.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

fantastic staff, great beach

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Staff, beach, facilities
Cons: Faster checkin
Not a new hotel anymore, but the friendly staff more than makes up for it. Every single staff member went way beyond their duty to ensure the guests are happy. This was one of our best vacations ever.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jersey

The Greatest Vacation Ever !!! A Lovers place.

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: EVERYTHING !!!
Cons: NOTHING.
Location: Everything that you can do around water. From a zoo to night to a butterfly farm with great views of the ocean. It's a Great place to be.
This resort is the place to fall in love all over again. The staff is warm and will help you with any thing you may want. The food is truly the best. The water is warm. Sun shines all the time. I'm going back. I have told lot's of people and I've only been home one day. This is A MUST DO !!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our Vacation

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: That the staff was friendly and that the hotel was clean.
Cons: The water was not hot for our showers. It was just warm. The water was also a little brownish. Not sure why. We used bottled water to brush our teeth
Location: Everything is close. Either a quick drive or short walk.
We would recommend Sonesta Great Bay. We had a great experience. The staff was friendly. The food was good. Our room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Saint Martin is beautiful!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Honeymoon in St. Maarten (August 25-September 1)

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The food, the location, the activities, and the view.
Cons: Some staff attitudes: At times, some of the staff appeared bored and we felt like we had to interrupt them to get a drink or ask for help.
Location: Within walking distance to Phillipsburg, where you can find great restaurants, souvenirs, and watch the cruise ships.
Our stay at Sonesta Great Bay was incredible! It was the off season, so we practically had the entire resort to ourselves (with some other very fun and friendly guests!) We chose Sonesta Great Bay over the sister resort in Maho Beach, because of the beach and it's proximity to Phillipsburg, the capital. The hotel was within walking distance to Phillipsburg and it made for some quick, scenic (and very hot) walks to town whenever we liked. The pools were great, especially the infinity pool which looked out over the bay. Free lounge chairs, a swim up bar, towel service, what more could you ask for? We upgraded to an ocean view room, as the island view rooms are right next to a busy road and don't seem to have much of a view. Definitely recommend staying ocean view:) The great bay hotel seems to be a bit older and outdated than the Maho Beach but our room was very clean and the shower had GREAT water pressure. The food was incredible and despite the low attendance of guests, the staff still offered activities such as outdoor movies, live music, drinking games, and bingo. When staying at either Sonesta resorts, you can visit and use the amenities at both. Maho Beach is more upbeat, kid friendly, with a lot of night life and Great Bay is more low key, relaxing, and romantic. I highly recommend choosing Sonesta Great Bay
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

checked in at 930pm and checked out at 1030am

Posted Aug 28, 2014
very poor establishment, rooms are unlivable, food made us instantly sick, pool is lined in plastic, cheap alcohol
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston ma

beautiful resort with great amenities

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Hotel staff was so friendly and attentive, resort was beautiful with two pools a hot tub and beach access right there. Ocean view room well worth the money. All inclusive is the way to go, especially 18 ! So relaxing and quiet at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Beatrice, Ne.

Great Bay was a great stay!

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: By far the staff was their greatest asset, but we enjoyed NO kids. It wasn't as busy as the Maho resort which was also nice.
Cons: The rooms could use a little updating. And the music entertainment at night should end later than later than 10:30pm.
Location: The location was within walking distance to the shopping and busses.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Juan

Great overall experience

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Hospitality, commodities, employees disposition to make your stay the best possible one. Perfect choice if tired of Bori Bori LOL
Cons: Food, better than last time but still with space to improve
Location: Orient Beach (if prepared to get very limited or not covered at all LOL), french side cussine, night life, water sports, shopping
Overall great experience. Second time on hotel and definetely the have improved their guest hospitality, customer service, food quality (still some way to get to same level as other caribbean sites (San Juan, Punta Cana, etc), will definetely return...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hazlet, NJ

Hotel On the Beach

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Hotel was right on the beach and walking distance to the shopping.
Cons: Some of the employees need to smile more and be more friendly
Location: Hotel was right on the beach and close to the shopping. We took a sail boat ride/snorkeling around the island and to a French beach. That was great.
My husband and I stayed at Sonesta June 20-27-14. We thought the hotel was a little small at first but really enjoyed our stay. Met alot of people from all over the country and had alot of laugh with them. The Hotel staff overall was nice expecially Edwood the bell hop, and the front desk. Some of the bartenders expecially at the swimup bar were not so friendly. If you can ignore it, you'll have a great time. We requested a 2nd floor room and got a 5th floor room. Our room wasn't ready for 2 hrs, which I didn't mind since we were at the beach anyway, but my husband was not happy. We got in our room and were next to this area next to the hotel that wasn't so nice. My husband requested another room, but the room they gave us was worse. The Hotel staff couldn't be more nicer to accomidate us to find another room.