Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Honeymoon in St. Maarten (August 25-September 1)

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The food, the location, the activities, and the view.
Cons: Some staff attitudes: At times, some of the staff appeared bored and we felt like we had to interrupt them to get a drink or ask for help.
Location: Within walking distance to Phillipsburg, where you can find great restaurants, souvenirs, and watch the cruise ships.
Our stay at Sonesta Great Bay was incredible! It was the off season, so we practically had the entire resort to ourselves (with some other very fun and friendly guests!) We chose Sonesta Great Bay over the sister resort in Maho Beach, because of the beach and it's proximity to Phillipsburg, the capital. The hotel was within walking distance to Phillipsburg and it made for some quick, scenic (and very hot) walks to town whenever we liked. The pools were great, especially the infinity pool which looked out over the bay. Free lounge chairs, a swim up bar, towel service, what more could you ask for? We upgraded to an ocean view room, as the island view rooms are right next to a busy road and don't seem to have much of a view. Definitely recommend staying ocean view:) The great bay hotel seems to be a bit older and outdated than the Maho Beach but our room was very clean and the shower had GREAT water pressure. The food was incredible and despite the low attendance of guests, the staff still offered activities such as outdoor movies, live music, drinking games, and bingo. When staying at either Sonesta resorts, you can visit and use the amenities at both. Maho Beach is more upbeat, kid friendly, with a lot of night life and Great Bay is more low key, relaxing, and romantic. I highly recommend choosing Sonesta Great Bay
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

checked in at 930pm and checked out at 1030am

Posted Aug 28, 2014
very poor establishment, rooms are unlivable, food made us instantly sick, pool is lined in plastic, cheap alcohol
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston ma

beautiful resort with great amenities

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Hotel staff was so friendly and attentive, resort was beautiful with two pools a hot tub and beach access right there. Ocean view room well worth the money. All inclusive is the way to go, especially 18 ! So relaxing and quiet at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Beatrice, Ne.

Great Bay was a great stay!

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: By far the staff was their greatest asset, but we enjoyed NO kids. It wasn't as busy as the Maho resort which was also nice.
Cons: The rooms could use a little updating. And the music entertainment at night should end later than later than 10:30pm.
Location: The location was within walking distance to the shopping and busses.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Juan

Great overall experience

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Hospitality, commodities, employees disposition to make your stay the best possible one. Perfect choice if tired of Bori Bori LOL
Cons: Food, better than last time but still with space to improve
Location: Orient Beach (if prepared to get very limited or not covered at all LOL), french side cussine, night life, water sports, shopping
Overall great experience. Second time on hotel and definetely the have improved their guest hospitality, customer service, food quality (still some way to get to same level as other caribbean sites (San Juan, Punta Cana, etc), will definetely return...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hazlet, NJ

Hotel On the Beach

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Hotel was right on the beach and walking distance to the shopping.
Cons: Some of the employees need to smile more and be more friendly
Location: Hotel was right on the beach and close to the shopping. We took a sail boat ride/snorkeling around the island and to a French beach. That was great.
My husband and I stayed at Sonesta June 20-27-14. We thought the hotel was a little small at first but really enjoyed our stay. Met alot of people from all over the country and had alot of laugh with them. The Hotel staff overall was nice expecially Edwood the bell hop, and the front desk. Some of the bartenders expecially at the swimup bar were not so friendly. If you can ignore it, you'll have a great time. We requested a 2nd floor room and got a 5th floor room. Our room wasn't ready for 2 hrs, which I didn't mind since we were at the beach anyway, but my husband was not happy. We got in our room and were next to this area next to the hotel that wasn't so nice. My husband requested another room, but the room they gave us was worse. The Hotel staff couldn't be more nicer to accomidate us to find another room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Loved the beach!!

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The beach was amazing.
Cons: new lounge chairs, consistent service on the beach, more guidance upon check in regarding restaurants, philipsburg etc.
Location: Walking distance to Philipsburg, go to the sister resort at night
The room was ok, we stayed in the older section of the hotel which was nice because it was quiet and was bad because it was a bit of a walk to get to anything and the elevator wasnt working which was a bit of annoying. The beach was amazing although the chairs on the beach were not really comfortable at all when you like to spend hours on the beach reading like i do. A few days there was drink service on the beach which was great but it was inconsistent which wasn't great. The resort is very quiet and Philipsburg closes very early so if you are interested in a night life but you want to stay near Philipsburg (for shopping and within walking distance although an 8 dollar cab ride will take you the beginning of Front Street and then you can walk and shop your way back to the resort) you can go to the sister resort at night ($20 cab trip) which is much more upbeat at night and the casino was fun!! Breakfast was awesome (get there early everything tastes better), dinner was ok most nights and really good one or two nights. Ask for a rum floater if your drinking frozen drinks kicks them a notch. Overall it was wonderful, look what can be bad about being on an island with beautiful surroundings however there were little things that could be updated/changed to take this resort to the next level.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester NY

Great time but....

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The all-inclusive and the staff.
Cons: The beach, change the sheets every day and the placing of were the private events are held.
Location: Very close to front street
The staff was excellent, very friendly and attentive. The all-inclusive was well worth it. Housekeeping cleaned the room every day, but didn't change the sheets every day. The last night we were there they had a private event that guest were told not very nicely might I had were not allowed to attend which was ok but it took over the whole outside area. I think they could have had it in the ball room or somewhere else so the guest could have enjoyed the outside area especially it being our last night there, many were not happy and it was very disappointing. The casino was nothing like the pictures showed. The beach was also not like the pictures showed, it was very rocky.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Excellent location, great food, service is ok

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Location and food.
Cons: Inconsistent level of service from staff (some were excellent and others were fair/poor).
Location: Excellent location.
Overall a good value. Excellent location - short walk down the beach to bars/shopping. The food was much better than average with plenty of variety. The service level of the staff was varied but not a major drawback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Great place!! Would recommend to everyone!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Hotel staff was Excellent!! Thank you Gorgio, Abel, Yolande, Nigel, Denroy, and the many, many others who I can't remember their names!!
Cons: The water pressure could be improved, but I understand it's an island.
Location: With the all-inclusive, no need to go out to restaurants/bars. Food-excellent/and drinks are in no way watered down. Philipsburg easy 10 min. walk.
Had a wonderful vacation at the Sonesta Great Bay!! No complaints!! Food was great, drinks were great, always something going on -- loved the pool bar, water aerobics every morning (thanks Denroy!), Manager's Reception, Chocolate Night --- so good and so much fun. Games, bands, etc. Felt like I was on a cruise. And, no one under 18 is perfect for me!!