Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott from Tega Cay, SC

Overall a good stay

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Facilities
Cons: Clean house with staff and get people who want to work there and at least smile
Keep in mind that you will spend little time in your room because the out side facilities are really great. The hotel staff pretty much could care less about their job. You will actually get friendlier service at a Chc Fil A in the states. They are understaffed and not personable at all. You will get what you want but with almost the same attitude as my 11 year old daughter. The food and drinks are great and plentiful. The grounds are great pool, beach and dining facilities. That being said, it was a great stay. The best part of the whole trip was eh speed boat island tour of Blue Safaris with Capt Chris from Germany. An absolute man and stud! Amazing with the boat and making you feel safe. Down town is a short walk away ans a must see. Staff sucks but I would recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near shopping

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Restaurants & meals were nice. Liked the "stay at one & play at two" policy. Enjoyed both sonesta's. Enjoyed the proximity to shopping district
Cons: Seems a bit dated...maho lobby is more modern. Could use more landscaping/gardens like maho resort.
Location: Great shopping and restaurants nearby
Good, although sometimes difficult to get follow up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Nice hotel, but nice restaurant was not available everyday. The desk staff at check-in were not very friendly. The recreation staff were very good. Overall, very nice experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Lakeland FL USA

Great Bay Resort

Posted Mar 30, 2014
The beach was great along with the view. our room was in the apartments and not the hotel. This area was old and still needs some work. Also this is not an adults only as advertised because there is timeshare connected to it. It was nice to use the sister facilities. I would go back but I would not stay in the apartments again. I would rate the food and entertainment a 3.5 out of 5.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by meghan from H

Great long weekend!

Posted Mar 29, 2014
I booked this trip through expedia, and paid a little extra for the room upgrade, so glad we did! Beautiful view, and soo worth it! The hotel is in a great location, can walk to town and was very safe....All the staff was very kind, and I liked the food choices. The buffet had a different theme each night. Bingo by the pool with some great prizes and many excursions to choose from. We took the rhino tour up the west coast...incredible island!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by NC resident from charlotte, nc

Run down hotel which tries hard

Posted Mar 22, 2014
The view is nice . Location suboptimal and area dangerous at night . Sonesta Maho is much nicer by far.. Better beach and facilities at Maho. The food at sonesta great bay is good and bar marginal. It reminded me of a cheap carnival cruise . I do not plan to return .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good location.

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Hotel staff were very friendly and assisted with all our needs.
Location: Situated within walking distance to the market. View of Great Bay and the cruise ships was spectacular.
Situated on Great Bay providing a good view of the cruise ships and the market.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing view horrible service

Posted Mar 21, 2014
When there is 100+ reviews on staff being unfriendly... Believe it! They are unhappy and really made our trip miserable. View is amazing food was only good in Italian resturant. Lines were at all three restaurants- for a all inclusive u shouldn't have to wait in line!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by martinique from new jersey

Resort overview

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Beautiful view of ocean from the pool. Hotel staff very accommodating. Great location for beach and shopping.
Cons: Need new lounge chairs. A lot of them were broken. Also I was upset about having to pay for my cab ride to the sister resort on Maho beach
Location: Great location for shopping on Front street and Boardwalk. Not enough night life nearby. Resort could benefit from a night club or free shuttle servic
Great location to beach, very scenic, close to Front street shopping and Boardwalk. Need to take cabs for night life which would not have been a problem if they really did offer free shuttle service which they indicated in the website to the "sister" resort which is close to downtown. I was upset about the $40 round trip cab ride. Hotel staff very friendly especially Vicky at front desk. Very nice place to stay, beach was beautiful and pools very clean. The exertions I booked were of the island tour and sunset cruise from the hotel were great. Food was acceptable. Overall a good place to stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vacation

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Entertainment people were great. Pool bar people were great. Loved the island. Should have main restaurant open every nite. Buffet got old.