Ratings based on 499 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Cons: staff
my experience was good ,but staff need to be a little bit more welcoming to the guest
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tampa,fl.

nice hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: pleasant staff
Cons: 1.room was too cold .unable to adjust thermostat. 2.the room needs a sofa. 3 would like a night club in the hotel
Location: location is great.
good experience.very relaxing.i enjoyed staying at the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by hotel concierge from l

Excellent staff excellent service,foodgreat

Posted Jun 20, 2014
This staff was excellent, sheryl at the pool bar excellent, jardine in the spa wonderful service great messages. Simone waitress gets your breakfast ready every morning service fanstatic. Room cleaniness and service terrific.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful ST. Maarten

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: The staff were very friendly.
Cons: Maybe some renovations.
Location: The location was excellent. The hotel was located near other attractions.
wonderful experience. Will do it again. my family and I will definitely recommend ST.Maarten to our friends. The hotel was excellent. It was all inclusive and the food was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sonesta Maho in June

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Staff was very sweet. Very happy and helpful. View is amazing.
Cons: We requested a room with one King bed on booking and we got two double beds. When we called and asked about it they said it was by availability only.
Location: Location is great. Just 5 min from airport.
Definitely not luxury, but very good for the price. Food was good. Liquor and beer selection included in all inclusive was good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shivan from Trinidad

Close to the airport

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: closeness to the airport
Cons: Hotel staff friendliness and food
Location: Location was perfect. Close to all the entertainment, airport and also close to a great public beach mullet bay which was extraoridinary (big pool)
The stay was great. The hotel was close to the airport and also close to the Maho shopping area. The food in the hotel was disappointing since most of it was the same throughout. The beach was not what i expected. For my wife who can't swim the water was extremely rough and there was a sudden drop to enter the water.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel on beach

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: It was close to airport, had a beach, all inclusive.
Cons: Staff needs educated in how to deal with customers (people in general)., The place needs to be renovated.
Room was not available when we checked in after 5pm. Front desk employees were not very friendly or helpful. Hotel was old and needed updated. Tiles were stained and broken in hallway and in our room. Carpeting in main lobby bar was very dirty and stained. Food was good for buffet style. Bars were fairly good. Not much in way of variety. Pool lining was bubbling up all over pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Plane lovers paradise, families welcome!

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: The staff were excellent, the environs of the hotel were clean, down to sweeping the dead flowers off the lawns in the mornings. The scavaging birds!
Cons: Some infrastructure is showing its age. Indoor films could be somewhere more quiet. A map of the hotel, staff surprised if asked for directions!
Location: Watch the planes on Maho Beach, even if you are not a plane enthusiast! Phillipsburg and Marigot for shopping. Don't miss Mullet Beach nearby.
We were welcomed to the hotel with hot, menthol flannels and the offer of champagne or water. Perfect after a long flight. The staff were welcoming and helpful. The room was lovely, very large, the kingsize bed was almost square and very comfortable. The meals were good, perhaps not quite varied enough, but certainly well prepared. My criticism lies in that most evenings the only variety really was in the hot food offered. There was an abundance of salads and vegetable dishes, which appeared to be the same each evening. However, it was all very tasty, there were plenty of desserts and the staff were great. We ate mostly at the Ocean Terrace and most evenings there was entertainment of some sort. Dont rely on the timings given in the daily activities sheet, it will happen, just not necessarily when promised. So for entertainment with your meal, be flexible! There is plenty to do for children with the kids club, there is adult entertainment most days in the pool, we saw bingo being played by the pool edge, there was aqua aerobics and other things happening most days. Pick up the activities sheet for the day at reception for what's on, restaurant choices etc. there were films most nights, one for the children followed by an adult one. On possibly wet evenings these were shown in the lounge which could get a bit noisy, people on phones, etc as this is the main free wi fi area and in the main concourse. All in all you could spend the week in its environs. Fantastic
2 out of 5
by Mochabar 18 from New York

Horror show!

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: The beach and the pool.
Cons: The following things need to improve: the staff's attitude, housekeeping, food, drinks and entertainment.
My family and I stayed at the Sonesta Maho Beach on 5/22/14-5/27/14, the resort facilities are pleasing and nice. The hotel staff is not friendly at all. In fact they are rude. Our lien on our bed was not changed. There was a stain on the lien and housekeeping just turned the lien over on the other side. We asked for additional towels and we were asked why do we need additional towels. We were not given wash cloths. The food at the main dinning area was not very good. The entertainment was less than desirable. I have traveled to several All Inclusive Resorts and this was the worse experience I have had to endure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mike from fairfax

Great hotel

Posted May 25, 2014
This hotel is a great place to stay if you plan on not exploring the island to much. The food is good but not a huge variety. The drinks are fantastic and the bar staff espically Sheryl at the pool bar are amazing( get a bbc there fantastic). My only complaint is that for an all inclusive parking should be free as well as better free wifi. The wifi is very expensive and losses signal in the rooms we were on the sixth floor and it only worked in place in the room and it was 58.8kbs at best so for 17$ a day it's very pricey. Other than that it's a great place and I highly reccomend this hotel to anyone. We will definatly be coming back in the future.