Ratings based on 522 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Overpriced and a disappointing stay .

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Excellent location and proximity to Maho Beach and airport was convenient .
Location: Lack of water sports at this resort but you can easily go to Simpson Bay for Jet skis or hopping the ferry to Anguilla. Great beaches nearby.
Overall, the service was sub-par and not what you would expect at an all inclusive resort. Having been to many resorts and several countries, this was my worst experience .I made a huge effort to adjust my expectations and enjoy the remainder of the stay. Food choices were limited , with couple of new items introduced everyday . The staff was grumpy at times and even rude on occasions. Lengthy wait for drinks and extra cutlery in the buffet restaurant.The hotel is in need of repairs and renovations. The tiles were broken across the bathroom floor and di walls in need of paint. The sofa in the room was grossly dirty. I tried to get a different room and expressed my surprise and disappointment explaining I never had issues with my Expedia booking. The female employee politely responded that Expedia books their cheapest rooms and if I wanted a renovated room will need to pay more. I felt embarrassed in front of my relatives who had more acceptable accommodation. I paid a lot of money after saving all year for a vacation, only to be made to feel inferior.Upon check in, while awaiting our room, my pre-teen son went to the lobby bar after not noticing the "18 and older" signage to obtain a soft drink. He was scolded by the bartender who asked"How old are you?" After my son's response, the bartender said, "read the sign , get out !" Certainly not the warm welcome one would expect. Later that day at the pool, extremely hot day, the pool bar was filled,similar unpleasant exper
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staten Island NY

Nice hotel. Close to beach.

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Me and my son had a wonderful time. Hotel staff very helpful, and nice. Close to shopping, and clean beach. Lots of fun activities. And a breathe taking view of jetliners.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mississippi

Very nice resort near airport

Posted Aug 19, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at the resort. Some construction going on around the resort but everything was very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anguilla

Great option!

Posted Aug 17, 2014
The hotel is a very good choice for family travel, options for all ages, food is good and has a wide variety of stuff at all meals. Staff is super friendly, and for those who enjoy drinking, liquor is included.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Daytona Beach, FL

Disappointing

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Customer service.
Location: Waking to the beach and seeing the planes take off. Casino is across the street.
Sonesta Maho needs a lot of upgrades to be called even a 3 star hotel. Rooms are old, smell musky and have poor ventilation. We were in an 8th floor ocean view suite. Food was by no means fine dining - would rate as reconstituted cafeteria food. No hot food, no clean glasses, coffee cups. Always needed to wait. Pizza place usually closed. Unless you tip the bartender, you wait for your watered down drink. Ascot Pub was out of most entrees on the menu. Pool was dirty and No clean beach towels. We asked to be moved to Sonesta Great Bay but we're told additional charge for transfer,plus additional $100 per night more plus pay our own cab fare to get there. We spoke with Mr King and it took 4 hours to get this response.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

The vacation we needed

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The pillows, the bed, and the comforter in our room was comfy, the ac and plumbing functioned properly.
Cons: The bar selection, more happier staff, and more food selection
Location: The location is great, in and out the resort. We went to bamboo, sky bar, and one more that I don't remember the name.
I went to celebrate my birthday and take a break from reality. We experienced just that. Staff was helpful when asked, the weather was beautiful, there was some passing showers for two days that we didn't mind. Food was decent. Ramon the bartender by the beach was friendly, Sheryl at the pool bar was awesome, the rest of the pool staff was cool too, Henry at the beach was always helpful, we tipped most of them to show a little appreciation. We had a private dinner that was amazing. First day at the beach I got an unbelievable foot massage from Jayjay, my boyfriend had a back massage from Annmarie the morning before our flight. We plan to return. There were all types of visitors college kids, parents with kids, middle aged couples, older couples but everyone kind joined where they fit in or mind their business and enjoyed the sun. This resort can be for anyone!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

worst all inclusive

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything needs to be improved
Too many issues to talk about. would not recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Cheap All Inclusive at Sonesta is NOT worth it

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The beach by the airport was amazing. Watching planes land and take off over your head is something I will never forget. (This beach is public)
Cons: Staff. The facilities are old and showing signs of over-use. The bartenders could learn how to make a drink. Dry old towels in the rooms.
Location: Taxis are expensive and sketchy, take the bus. Around $2 anywhere on the island. Ok scuba diving, nothing spectacular.
Upon arrival the hallway and room itself had an unpleasant odor that lingered the entire 6 days. Not to mention if you get a room that isn't classified as "Ocean View" you will have a balcony overlooking the service area of the hotel and the dumpsters. The gym is adequate for the average Joe but for us that are semi serious about training it is a disgrace. Dumbbells go up to 30 pounds and there is a very limited selection of equipment jammed together into a small room. The pictures found on the hotel website are edited so that the gym appears larger. The food itself was not bad, although I've certainly had much better food at other all inclusive hotels and I have to rank this place on the bottom. The service at the restaurants was terrible. Long lines to get seated especially at the buffet and rude employees. On top of that it was a hit or miss with the waiters if they came over to pour water or coffee. Sometimes we would get seated at tables missing utensils and have to physically make our way to the entrance to the kitchen to ask for them. This place advertised Pinot Grigio as an available wine option but supposedly they were out of it the whole week. It's clear the person in charge of dining room management does not recognize these problems as they persisted meal to meal the entire trip. As for the drinks at the bars, bottom shelf all the way, not even Coronas. The frozen drinks are made with little alcohol. Refrigerator blocking emergency staircase
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

If you want to relax - this is not the hotel.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
I should've read the reviews before booking this hotel. My first impression was not good. Lobby/ hotel is very 70ish looking. And needs a makeover quickly. The room was horrendous! The Tiffany blue couch had cigarette burns on it. The bathroom tiles were broken. We decided to look at the grounds and it was another disappointment. No pool entertainment ( a very very small pool). There was a restaurant under renovations so only two restaurants available (only had lunch there and the choices warre less then acceptable). Staff was nice. I didn't know that the. Hotel was literally 8 minutes from airport. Soo, little did I know that you can almost touch the planes while you were on the beach as they landed. It's nice the first two times you see a plane land but after that it's annoying and to add to that, their building an adult only hotel right on the same grounds and all you heard with the planes was drilling! I was not happy and spoke to the front desk and inquired about their Great Bay location. Since we could eat their for free as part of the all inclusive, we decided that very night to go there for dinner. Well $20 can ride over and what a difference! An all inclusive adult only resort that was exactly what I was looking for. Great grounds, staff, food choices and clean hotel. We enjoyed dinner and quickly returned to Maho and requested a transfer. Next morning transfer was complete and we made our way to Sonesta Great Bay. Maho needs major renovations!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2014
The hotel itself was just ok. Nothing too special. There was quite a bit of construction going on while we were there and one restaurant was closed. The staff at the Palms Grill is terrible. We ate at the buffet for most every meal. The beach really does make up for it though. It's absolutely beautiful. The pictures don't do it justice. Overall, we had an amazing vacation in spite of some flaws with the hotel. Wish the service was better, but would stay on the beach forever