Ratings based on 256 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MD.

Very pleased with room. Great for my family of 6.

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: Everyone is very friendly and hotel was very clean.
Location: Great beaches and restaurants
We had the best vacation ever! Hotel is very close to the airport. There are many beaches and activities. Hotel has a great pool.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Beautiful Hotel, Great Views and Good Location

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Great views.
Cons: SECURITY!
Location: The location is perfect, we walked to many great restaurants and enjoyed the Dutch side of the island.
I just returned from St. Maarten and I thought I found the perfect place at The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina. Unfortunately my trip was spoiled when my rental car was stolen from the hotel. We parked and locked our car at the hotel which has ample security personnel, a gate to enter the parking lot and camera's yet all of that failed to protect my property. I do understand that this is not the hotels fault, but I am supposed to feel safe and this left me very uncomfortable. I also feel that the hotel should have tried to make some type of restitution for their failure at guarding my car in their parking lot. I was extremely disappointing that no one contacted me after the incident to see if they could offer any assistance. I spoke to a few of the hotel staff (security, front desk, concierge.) and they were unaware a car was stolen from the property this week. I rented the car from Thrifty/Dollar which is located on the property (so endorsed by the resort) and not one person followed up to see if they could assist us. I reported the incident to the hotel manager, the security manager and the St. Maarten police and the only people that were concerned and helpful were the St. Maarten police. I love St. Maarten this was my 6th visit to the Island and I will return, but not to the Villa's.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Surprise!

Posted Nov 13, 2014
We thought we were booking into a regular hotel and were surprised when we found that it was a timeshare facility. We did not have all the services that a hotel might have such as daily room services, but we had the advantage of a small kitchen and the availability of resort type offerings. The location was great, away from Philipsburg and it's constant traffic. The staff was friendly, although sometimes we were surprised at their lack of knowledge of the whole island. We were very, very pleased that we were staying on the Dutch side of the island; the French side is a bit run-down. We were also very surprised that there were guards everywhere on the island, including many at our resort. We would happily return there should we plan again to be on St. Maartins.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom near Philadelphia, PA, USA

Like your room being changed w/no notice?

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: It was not bad until our room was changed. Then, we were quite surprised and not at all pleasantly.
Cons: They should keep some rooms for guests only so that guests could stay in a room for their full stay.
Location: There are restaurants in the resort and nearby.
They changed our room, w/no notice, 5 days into our stay. We went to our room and our swipe cards did not work. When we inquired, we were told we had to move to another room immediately. They did not call or visit us in advance. It was just pack up now.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2014
I enjoyed our stay, but the reception staff need some lessons in Customer service. On check in I was made to wait while the clerk answered phone calls during my check-in, then I was not informed of where my room was located. Again on check out, the person who came after me was served in front of me, then I was told I have to wait 10 days for my deposit to be released, unbelievable! no where else in the World has this happened to me. Apart from that the rest of the staff were OK.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Louisiana

Nice Location on Simpson Bay

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Good clean property in close proximity to airport, restaurants, casinos, etc. in Simpson Bay.
Cons: One of the elevators that served our room was not operable but there were other elevators to use.
Location: Restaurant on site (Stone) was quite good. Red Piano bar across street. Zee Best across street great for breakfast.
Stayed at the Villas at Simpson Bay overnight on way to Anguilla. Property is located on Simpson Bay about 5-10 minutes ($12) by taxi from Princess Julianna International Airport. Despite the fact that Hurricane Gonzalo had hit St. Marteen only two weeks earlier, there was little or no significant damage to the property and what had been damaged was being repaired. The property itself is in good condition as is quite well maintained. Property looks nicer than most nearby properties from what we could tell. Room was quite nice as well and appeared to have been renovated in last couple of years; it was comparable to most beach condo rentals we have stayed in previously. There is a restaurant (Stone) on site that had pretty good food and stayed open until 11 pm (on a Sunday night); enjoyed a good steak dinner there cooked on a hot granite stone. Fun bar called the Red Piano across the street as well as a casino. Staff was very nice and accommodating. We were not bothered at all by the time share sales staff that were set up in the lobby as other reviewers had described..Would definitely stay at the property again when in St. Marteen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Nice hotel - close to the beach & restaurants

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Lovely lot of linens - only problem was getting facecloths. We enjoyed Bon Appetit very much for breakfast & dinner. It's great to be able to walk to many restaurants. Sidewalks are a little sketchy so best to have sneakers or strap on sandels. Nice Italian restaurant L'Isola (I think that's the spelling). There's a few more restaurants on the property too. Pool bingo & happy hour together one day, quite a bit of laughs. Cynthia the bingo caller is fantastic. Be certain to read the daily activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the best in SXM

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: See Above
Cons: See Above
Location: See Above
We have stayed at this resort in the past. I can't speak to much other than the room and staff, we don't really use much else as we lived in St Maarten for years and return to visit friends. The location is great, right in the heart of Simpson Bay. View is to the west for sunsets and to watch the bridge traffic. The room, we were in a junior suite, was clean and comfy. If you were on to watch much TV the chairs in the room do not lend themselves to long term sitting. But who goes to SXM to watch TV. The staff from the front desk to the security is first rate and very accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alexandria, TN

We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa(#203).

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Location: Ferry to Anguilla is a must!
It was very nice. Easy check in and check out. No complaints. We had housekeeping every day. The only drawback was its not on the beach, but there are so many close by so it was fine. Rent a car. Cheap and fun to drive. $250 for the week. There are many great restaurants within walking distance though but all are expensive. Overall, had a wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and location.

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Hotel room and amenities were in great shape. Stayed for a week, wish it was longer.