Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

The hotel was not even close to the location said.

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Restaurants have good food, but expensive.
Cons: Provide better descriptions of properties.
Location: Far off the beaten path. Not much to do nearby.
The hotel is a 40-50 minute drive from the airport, not 9 miles as described. The taxis charge is $35.00 U.S. The day staff at the hotel are very nice however the night time staff during our visit were not very helpful. The beach is small, dirty and the water was very rough during our visit. I would rate this hotel as a very low end Westin property. Not worth the cost of the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great family hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Staff and room size
We were very pleased with the resort. The staff was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lackawaxen, PA

Posted Jul 16, 2014
The hotel was amazing! Very clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The food and drink were slightly pricy compared to other places around the island, but our overall stay was perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2014
We spent 10 wonderful nights at this hotel. The beach is gorgeous as is the pool. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We ate most of our meals off the property, though. There are plenty of nearby restaurant options at Oyster Pond.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jesrsey Girl from New Jersey

Anniversary

Posted May 27, 2014
The Hotel is very nice . Location is close to good restaurant. Staff are friendly. The only thing we were charge extra for the room service bar, which is the sneaker bar and orange juice and cranberry juice that we did not even eat or drink in our room. Just make sure check your bill before signing the check out bec I didnt and when I check my hotel charge I saw those charges . Bad :(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Trish from denver

What you expect from a Westin in a gorgeous place

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: It had all of the pluses of a Westin resort
Cons: The timeshare advertising and energy could be reduced.
Location: Too isolated. You can't really walk to anything. The beach is nice and I bet the snorkeling would be good if the wind and seas would cooperate.
We came to st Maarten for a sailing trip leaving from oyster pond and added days before and after at the Westin and in grand case. It was nice to settle into something familiar at the Westin.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2014 by Daniel, Hotel Management
Dear Trish, Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Dawn Beach Resort and Spa in St. Maarten. It sounds like you had a great caribbean vacation. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the St. Maarten and the Westin on your next sailing adventure. Sincerely, Daniel Beddor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by hagar from los angeles, ca

Westin Saint Martin perfection!

Posted May 20, 2014
We just got back from our honeymoon at the Westin Saint Martin. Because of other reviews (of timeshare lunatics and broken elevators etc) we were a little hesitant. But after our stay, we couldn't have asked for a more perfect hotel. The staff is incredibly nice and accommodating; the facilities are gorgeous (huge pools, clean gym and spa, yummy restaurants, and that beach!!!); and the room was to die for (down comforters, huge balcony in every room, modern bathrooms, and all the luxuries you can ask for). We had a perfect stay and would definitely come back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Woww!!!!

Posted May 13, 2014
Wow!!!!!!!! It was so fantastic!! The best hotel !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kris from London

american style hotel standards.

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: Bar, pool, beach, location, quality of build.. Room
Cons: Waiting staff. Slow and fairly rude.
Location: Sadly only there for one night. About a 30 min drive from the airport, but a cheap taxi ride.. It's near the french side..
Lovely hotel. It caters to a certain segment of american holiday makers.. Lots of families. Facilities were extremely well ordered, clean, to a high standard. And the desk staff very helpful, and facilitating. Conversely however many of the waiting staff are rude, and suffer from the (sometime) Caribbean syndrome of passive aggressive and lots of long pauses, looking at you like you are idiot for asking a question such as 'may i order a coffee from you'.. It's by no means a deal breaker, but more a bummer from the holiday vibe.. The ratio of price to quality I think was exceptional good value, location and views were great!. Thanks Westin, a fun trip.. The cocktails at the bar weren't half bad either..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kayla from Boston

Mostly pleased overall, but bad food!

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: The room was clean, updated and comfortable. The beach and pool were beautiful. Staff was friendly.
Cons: The FOOD. Ocean food and service are terrible. The only shining star at Ocean is Simon. I would like if the Westin had umbrellas like other hotels.
Location: Mr. Busbys - it was key to our trip. Rent a car from Oyster Bay down the street not the Westin!
Overall, we had a lovely time in St Maarten at the Westin. We had booked a room with a resort view, but were surprised when we checked into a beautiful room on the third floor with an amazing ocean view. The room was very clean and I definitely would not call it outdated as I have read in some reviews. The pool and beach areas were beautiful - the only downside was that the hotel does not offer umbrellas. They rent cabanas for $115 dollars/day or blue "bubbles" for $28/day. Otherwise, be prepared to not have any shade. The staff is very friendly and make you feel right at home - especially Tony from the pool. The worst part about the Westin is the food. Our first night, we decided to try the Ocean restaurant in the lobby. It was quite possibly the worst seafood meal we have ever eaten. I heard from one couple that the fine dining restaurant (Aura) is good, but we did not try it after our bad experience at Ocean. In terms of eating locally, I would recommend Daniel's by the Sea or Canoa down the street (3 dollar cab per person) for dinner. Mr. Busby's is also in the same area - it is great for happy hour with super cheap drinks, good food. We ate breakfast almost every day at Mr. Busby's - better service, better food, and half the price. You can walk to this area down the beach too. Pier grocery is there and good for buying alcohol, water, groceries. Overall, Westin is great place to stay but overpriced and youre better off eating and drinking down the beach.