Ratings based on 254 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NY, NY

Not too great

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Probably one of the better hotels on the Dutch side, but wasn't pleased. Beach was very rough. Not what I came on vacation for, felt like I was in the states. Hotel was just OK. Gave us an upgrade to a beach side view, but the hotel hallway had a horrible stench of mold and mildew from a leak in the ceilings. Smelled it from the elevator doors, to the entrance of our room. Staff had bad attitudes and not very helpful. Going to the French side after a bad experience was so pleasing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ttinidad

Wonderful view of the alantic ocean. quiet cozy

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: very very safe and clean
Cons: The security work very hard yet though they are treated like slaves, security need to be upgraded
Location: location is a little way out, but it worth it, its quiet
wonderful breakfast, nice and friendly staff, safe and secure, surounding, minutes from the city, and no traffic jams,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Curacao

Nice hotel, comfortable

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Spacious rooms, nice beds, great pool and good restaurant Ocean
Cons: Real cutlery in the Beach Grill and improved quality of foods.
Location: Nice and quiet beach area, close to French border
It is a nice hotel on a very quiet location. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Beach Grill was not really a success. After my remarks the manager apologized and solved this problem excellently. So that was very much appreciated. All together a great hotel for romantic getaways or if you want to relax and re-energize again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2014 by Daniel, Hotel Management
Dear Johan, Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Dawn Beach Resort and Spa. We appreciate you taking the time to review the resort. We are glad that you enjoyed the property and the location to relax and re-energize. I am sorry for any inconveniences you experienced with the beachs ide grill however I am happy that our team was able to resolve the issue. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Westin and St. Maarten in the near future. Sincerely, Daniel Beddor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wollongong

Great Place to stay but you will need a car

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: The pool (even though shade was a premium) The staff
The most important thing you need to know about St Maarten is that you will need a car. The westin was a good hotel but not outstanding. The hotel staff were excellent and the pool is spectacular but the rooms were good but not great. The food is great the panninis and sandwiches by the pool are good value and the restaurant has good food at standard more expensive hotel prices. However if you don't want to eat there there is precious little around especially for vegetarians. There are two little restaurants and a pizza place and a small restauant about a 10-15 walk away from the hotel. The hotel is on the Atlantic Coast so waves are rougher. There is a casino but there is not a lot to do after dark as town also closes down, you might have to travel to Simposons Bay for restaurants. Mind you the whole place was pretty much dead as it was the low season. People are friendly on the island. Glad we went.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boulder, CO

Labor Day blast

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Spent a week here during Labor Day -- early Sept. Attentive staff, nice, clean rooms, great mostly private beach... Sweet!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014 by Daniel, Hotel Management
Dear J.B. Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Dawn Beach Resort and Spa in St. Maarten. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Friendly Island of St. Maarten in the near future. Sincerely, Daniel Beddor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

On the best beach in St. Marttin

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: great staff, friendly
Had a fabulous time at the hotel. Great room, lots of lounge chairs available at all times. Attentive service. Ate out most of the time as there were many French restaurants near by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2014 by Daniel, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Dawn Beach Resort and Spa in St. Maarten. We are thrilled to hear that you had a fabulous visit and enjoyed the rooms, the pool, Dawn Beach and all of the great restaurants near by. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Westin on your next visit to St. Maarten. Sincerely, Daniel Beddor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Little Rock, Arkansas

Amazing views

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Almost everything.
Cons: Female restaurant staff members attitude and efficiency.
Location: Great location. Off the beaten path, so no panhandlers on the beach trying to see you trinkets. Lots of great restaurants close by though in Oyster
Amazing views, very comfortable bed, awesome rain shower with handheld wand, efficient housekeeping staff, provision of plentiful amount of towels and high quality bath products, very good food, huge morning breakfast buffet and Sunday champagne brunch, entertaining nightlife. Only complain was some of the female staff members in the restaurants were not very friendly or efficient; however, the male staff members more than made u for them. Fluffiest white sand beaches I've ever seen, wonderful ocean breeze and great waves to body surf. Would highly recommend this hotel. My family had a great time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to relax.

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: great place to relax
Cons: Casino staff could use some customer service classes and a personality injection.
Location: Oyster Pond nearby..............worth checking out. Town only 20 min. away for shopping!
Great hotel away from the bustle. Casino staff could use some personality.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario

The hotel was not even close to the location said.

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Restaurants have good food, but expensive.
Cons: Provide better descriptions of properties.
Location: Far off the beaten path. Not much to do nearby.
The hotel is a 40-50 minute drive from the airport, not 9 miles as described. The taxis charge is $35.00 U.S. The day staff at the hotel are very nice however the night time staff during our visit were not very helpful. The beach is small, dirty and the water was very rough during our visit. I would rate this hotel as a very low end Westin property. Not worth the cost of the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great family hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Staff and room size
We were very pleased with the resort. The staff was friendly and helpful.