Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CJaz from Duluth, MN

Great stay down in the cities for a concert!

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Staff was very helpful and the shuttle service to and from the Xcel was definitely an awesome attribute of this hotel! Would stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2014 by Paul, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel. Being so close to the Xcel Energy Center, we are happy to accommodate our guests in our shuttle. I am thrilled that you enjoyed this amenity. Our staff also works hard to be helpful with our guests, and I'm glad that our staff was helpful to you! Once again, thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you next time when your in the St Paul area! Sincerely, Paul H. Guest Service Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Drew from Greendale, WI

Not bad...

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is perfectly located near my daughter's home. It was clean and comfortable but I probably could have found the same comfort and cleanliness for less money. Location, location, location!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Paul, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of our hotel. I am glad that we are at a convenient location to your daughter's home. I am sorry that you do not feel that the comfort and cleanliness didn't live up to the value. The next time you are at our hotel, please let us know how we can make your stay more comfortable and we will be happy to assist. Once again, thank you for your review, and we look forward to seeing you next time you visit your daughter! Sincerely, Paul H. Guest Service Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Paul from Thunder Bay

Very convinient location

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Saw a hockey game, shuttle was excellent. Right on the I94 easy to come and go from.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Paul, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. Our staff is delighted that you enjoyed your stay for the hockey game. Being only 5 miles from the Xcel Energy Center, we take great pride in shuttling fans to and from the games! Thank you again for your comments. Sincerely, Paul H. Guest Service Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Ok

Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was ok.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Kris Wilson

Customer service

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the hotel for the Wild game. The room was nice, but the pool area was very small and no game room. Nothing for kids to do there. The service is the bar/restaurant has very bad, no one waited on us for 15 mins and it was not busy in there at all. The waitress finally came with the drinks spilled a soda on the kids didn't bring anything to clean it up with and I asked her to bring a napkin and she never did. We ordered apps and received them the same time as the meals. And we had no silverware or napkins, I had to ask twice for those. The shuttle to the game was not very good, the ride there was fine but the pick up after the game has bad. Everyone from the hotel trying to get on the van running around the see where it was. We waited over an 1 1/2hour with 2 kids to get on the shuttle. Overall, will not stay there again very poor service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2014 by Paul, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel and letting us know about your experience. I deeply apologize for your experience with our restaurant and shuttle service. I apologize for your experience at the restaurant. Your wait should not have been as long as it was. Also, our server should have been more than happy to clean up the mess made from the soda. These things are not acceptable for our hotel and the IHG brand. Please accept my deepest apology. I have forwarded your message to our restaurant manager and we will handle accordingly. I also apologize for your experience coming back from the Wild game. Our shuttle can be in high demand after popular events, but we should have been able to accommodate you quicker. For this, I do apologize. Once again, thank you for your comments. I will be sharing this with our staff to ensure that this does not happen again. Sincerely, Paul H. Guest Service Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for business or pleasure.

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Location: close to downtown St. Paul
Pleasant stay except for the thin walls. I could hear my neighbor doing everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel had a shuttle that was great.

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Close to shopping and dining.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel shuttle was great to use.
3 out of 5
by Dan from Green Bay

Slow

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Good location near I-94, the receptionist at the front desk upon check in was very pleasant and did a fine job getting us shuttled downtown.
Called for shuttle service from Excel Center, waited 1 hr along with the other hotel guests at the same event. Best Western and Double Tree showed up for their guests 3 times each in same amount of time. Once we made it back to the hotel, we asked for an extra pillow and sheets. 1 hour to get these, same person delivered these as was our speedy driver from earlier. During our wait, suddenly up through the drain in the sink in the bathroom sewer water with came some sewer water with associated solid material. To their credit, we were able to switch rooms immediately, no questions asked. Shower drain in new room was slow/ clogged....
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2014 by Paul, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn St Paul East. It is reviews like yours that help us improve as a hotel. I deeply appologize for the wait that you had with our shuttle. We are significantly further than the Doubletree and Best Western, and it does make it more difficult to make trips faster than those hotels. We are working to improve our services to improve guest satisfaction in this department. I also appologize for the wait with your pillows and sheets. This is not a normal occurance at our hotel, and you should have gotten your items in a significantly faster time. I appreciate you bringing the issues with the sink to my attention. We have contacted our maintenance department, and have made sure to check the drains in each of our rooms. I appologize for the trouble. Once again, thank you for writing your review of our property. I have shared your feedback with the rest of our staff in an effort to improve our services to guests like yourself. Sincerely, Paul H. Guest Service Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Brent Stahlecker from Crookston

Unruly kids

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The only problem I had were kids running around the floor I was staying on until 2 to 3 in the morning. Otherwise it was a pleasant stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2014 by Paul, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize that kids kept you up during your stay. We pride ourselves in providing a quiet and comfortable stay for our guests, and I apologize that this was not the case. I am grateful, however, that you enjoyed the rest of your stay! Sincerely, Paul H. Guest Service Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lorraine

Posted Feb 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2014 by Paul, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your great review of our hotel! Please come visit us when your back in the St Paul area! Sincerely, Paul H. Guest Service Manager