Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very basic.

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Simple room was ok. We were on the lower level. Restaurant was so slowwwww.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great staff, great atmosphere

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: Staff was great. Small inn atmosphere and attention. Food is family friendly, everyone liked something.
Cons: Room was a bit on the small size for a family of four- some negotiation of traffic within the room :) Shower water pressure was a bit on the low size
Location: We went to Fort Louisebourgh, which is about an hour away. Right beside the canal walk.
A lovely character inn. Fantastic, friendly staff. Good launch point for local areas.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with lots of local flair

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Easy walk to the nearby restaurant featuring a Kitchenfest act. Guests in hotel were loud. Lots of noise during the night making for a Not restful sleep! We are frequent travellers, and honestly, left disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by George Foster from `North Carolina

Beautiful Hotel with Great View

Posted Sep 24, 2014 on Hotels
We loved the decor: lots of wood and vintage style, with a magnificent view of Bras D'or Lake. The food was outstanding. A tremendous value, even though our car GPS couldn't figure it out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Helen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
by the ertsinians from Vineland,Ont.

Nice place to stay and relax

Posted Sep 18, 2014 on Hotels
Staff very friendly and helpful.Rooms are clean and well kept. Breakfast was very good. Nice neighborhood. The garden was lovely too
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Bob M from Samut Sakhon, Thailand

Convenient travel stop...

Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels
Good peaceful location next to St Peters Canal "swing bridge", a beautiful view of Bras d'Or Lake. Good dinner atmosphere with local artists performing in dining room four nights a week. A little old and worn in appearance, but comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. Owner and staff very friendly and helpful. The only negative was that the guest laundry (washer) was not working the entire time we stayed here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Nice location by the Lake

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The food and the location
Cons: The welcome!
Location: Good location to tour Cape Breton. Rita's Tea room is not too far!
The most disappointing thing about our stay at the hotel was the welcome - it was definitely the least welcome we were made to feel during our tour of the Maritimes. The hotel itself is very nice and the facilities and location very good. We dined in the hotel both nights and the food was excellent and the restaurant staff very pleasant. The one thing that we would suggest could be improved was to make guests feel more welcome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

A little out of the way but worth it!

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels
The reception was very welcoming. Dinner was fabulous and made our one night stay worth it. The hotel was very clean and general atmosphere welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels
Very clean quiet and comfortable good location local entertainment