Ratings based on 287 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orlando, fl

A very nice oasis

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Impressed with the hotel. Very comfortable, right on the beach and walking distance to the wharf....will return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Harbor, FL

Perfect location, nice and clean, great staff!

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Have been coming here for several years and we love it! Walking distance to John's Pass for shopping and good eats. Barefoot Beach has a great pool and their own private beach area - it's perfect. Make sure you visit Lisa's Cafe just down the street, this was an amazing find for breakfast, lunch and dinner! Barefoot Beach is a perfect place to come and unwind, we will definitely be back!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Cons: More experienced and knowledgable staff. There was no attempt to apologize the following day or compensate us for the stress we endured
Location: John's Pass village
This was the worst experience at any hotel we have ever experienced. Checking in on 8/22/14, we returned to our room at 10:30 pm. deciding to take a walk on the beach. We attempted to open the door to leave it would not open, trying several times my husband climbed over the balacony to the ground and attempted to open the door from the outside. We both tried credit cards, knives to try to open the door, I from inside, my husband from outside, no success. I called the office at 10:54pm, it was after hours, left a message that we needed help. Several more calls were made, no success. I placed a call to 911, spoke with Bridgette, she stated she had 8 phone numbers to call to help us. After approx 30 minutes, Bridgette called, she had no response to their antiquated system and was sending the fire department. With the help of two fireman, one removing pins from the door from inside the room, the other on the outside to remove the doorknob and lock. The hotel maintenance personnel came to our room afterwards, put the door over the opening, placed a towel where the doorknob should be, then returned shortly and said for liability we should be moved to another room to have a door that locked and UNLOCKED. To add to the stress we then received a call from the offce, Aaron, my husband talking to him first, and he proceeded to become irrate with my husband because we called 911 and had the door removed. My husband has heart issues, recent surgery and videos were taken.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Guest get to do all the work

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Beach
Cons: Less signs on what guest need to do and more bang for the buck.
Location: Great location.
Only thing your paying for is the beach. Staff only washes your towels if you put them out in time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Location: On the beach. Walking distance to John's Pass, restaurants and shopping.
Pleasant and convenient. They stay out of your room. You request daily towels, supplies, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leesburg Fl

Posted Jul 9, 2014
My wife booked this hotel after reading the reviews from previous guests. We had an ocean view. The room was clean and nice. The room also had microwave, Fridge, Iron, hair dryer. It had a pool and a gas grille on the bottom ground. Parking was good. The price for this hotel is reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by "The Shawnald's" from Barefoot Beach @Madeira Beach

Great location, right on the beach!!!!!!

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
We've stayed here 4 times in the past 6 years and love it! Can't beat getting up in the morning & walking right outside to the beach! Close to everything.We discovered "Screwy Louie's" for take-out breakfast, "Lisa's cafe" is in walking distance. Must visit St. John's Pass, have eaten at The Friendly Fisherman" & went to "Sculley's" to listen to music & have apps. Publix market is close by too! Would recommend Barefoot Beach to all!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york,ny

room by pool

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Walking distance to all
Cons: quieter a/c units
Location: close to shops,resturants,etc
If possible don't get a room by the pool. Our experience was that between 9pm and 11:30 pm it was noisy and no answer when reported to office.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older hotel on beach

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Location is excellent.
Cons: In need of a renovation!
Location: Close to shops and bars.
Older hotel in need of a renovation. Great location right on the beach. Very uncomfortable bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Heidi from Ohio

Everything it was advertised!

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
I searched and searched for an oceanfront propert in Madeira Beach for my husband and I to go to for our 10 year anniversary. I came across many excellent reviews for Barefoot Beach Hotel, and now I see why! It was the perfect location, well supplied in the kitchenette, had friendly staff, provided beach towels and chairs at no extra cost, and even went above and beyond by printing our boarding passes for the trip home. We will absolutely stay there again if we ever travel that way again!