Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kein Hotel, ein in die Jahre gekommenes Motel

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Die Stornierung
Location: Direkt neben dem Highway
Hatten ein Zimmer in der Marina-Anlage gebucht, als wir am "Hotel" einchecken wollten, wurde uns gesagt, dass diese Anlage gerade renoviert wird und wir ins Hotel upgegraded würden. Viel Blabla bei der Schlüsselübergabe, dann wollten wir unser Zimmer beziehen...Das "Upgrade" stellte sich als ein kleiner, nach Desinfektionsmittel stinkender Raum dar, mit Blick auf den Highway (ca 3 m vom Zimmer entfernt)...nach einer kurzen Diskussion und der Feststellung, dass mehr als 100 Dollar pro Nacht für eine derartige Behausung vielleicht ein bißchen überteuert ist, wurde uns angeboten, die Reservierung ohne Gebühr zu stornieren, was die einzige befriedigende Lösung war...wir fanden dann in St Petersburg ein traumhaftes Hotel für 60% des Preises...von unserer Seite also keinerlei Empfehlung!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cincinnati

Great niche resort at reasonable rates!

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Size of room, cleanliness of pool area and friendliness of the staff.
Cons: Can't think of a thing.
Location: The location is approximately 30 minutes from the Tampa airport, 30 minutes to Clearwater and has many restaurants and activities for all.
My experience was very good. The staff was very accommodating, especially Brenna who was very attentive and anxious to make sure my stay there was a pleasant one. The beach is beautiful and there is plenty of nearby restaurants to keep you satisfied.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mass

Nice location, very small parking lot

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Location. Suite size.
Cons: Very small bathroom
Location: Very convenient location. Walgreen and Publix next door. Great beach. Good reataurants.
Hotel is under construction. Room have very little furniture. Kitchen was well equipped. Very small bathroom. Friendly staff. Overall nice experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Columbus, OH

Excellent Dog-Friendly Resort

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: Extremely pet-friendly, lots of great amenities nearby. The staff are awesome. Rooms are spacious and convenient, but semi-secluded and face water.
Cons: Thicker zoysia in the closest dog-walking grassy area, with some better drainage (there was some standing water when it rained). Otherwise very nice!
Location: Two dog beaches within driving distance - Fort DeSoto Park (20 minutes away, leash-free) and Honeymoon Island (an hour away, leash required).
We had a great stay. The layout is a bit irregular, with the office at a second resort across the street, but it's not a problem if you locate both the resort and office by GPS. Definitely call the resort if arriving late, or if bringing a pet, to get the right room size for your pet. The staff are extremely pleasant and pet-helpful. The pet-friendly policies are wonderful and well thought-out, not tacked on like so many places. Our room was spacious - easy to keep clean and orderly. Everything we needed was there, and we felt at-home very quickly. The resort is on a main thoroughfare, and parking is very convenient. Grass for the dog does require a short walk (very typical of Florida beach areas): 30 seconds to a small patch, 1 minute to a larger patch, 2 minutes to a small park, and 3 minutes to a large, beautiful park on the other side of the pharmacy. That park is great for children, too (the whole resort is kid-friendly, with a pool, dock, etc.). Several dog-friendly restaurants are close by, including a bar and grill with amazing handmade crab cakes and key lime pie, and an enclosed patio bar that is super-casual and dog-friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2014 by Robert, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review! I’m glad you found us both pet friendly and family friendly. Please visit again soon. Robert Czyszczon, General Manager
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Patrick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by jacobfrom Missouri

Young family on Beach vacation

Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Family of 4, 2 adults 2 children. Children 2 & 4. Upgraded to 1 room suite free of charge, suite included 2 hide-a-beds and 1 queen. Full kitchen with cooking utensils and kitchenware provided. Room 214 has view of Gulf Bvld(Beach cannot be seen). Facility offers private heated pool (heater was non-functional) and bay view with fishing docks. Actual facility office was closed, all business done at main facility (Plaza Beach Hotel)about 1 block away. Stairs were cumbersome for kids, requested upgrade to gulf view at main facility at check in, staff willing to move us for $90/night additional. Choose to stay with current reservation at $90+/night booked on hotels.com. Overall good experience, floors in room were not clean upon arrival and over the course of stay were soiled further with beach sand. Location pool was only sunny up till 1pm in mid November. Pool was too cold after that point to use. Bay view was nice but offered no benefits to our family and because office was closed there was no one to offer its unforeseen benefits. We used the Main location for beach towel rental and Beach access, main location offered heated saltwater pool, and sand wash off facilities. Also had extension of Ricks Reef Beach Bar on property. Mostly older crowd during our stay, but everyone was courteous to our young family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2015 by Robert, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I’m glad you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade to our Deluxe One Bedroom Suite. The office at our beachfront property handles all check ins and guest services, and is available at any time for assistance. The rates are different at the beachfront property, so there would typically be a fee incurred to upgrade there. I am surprised to hear that you did not feel the room was clean upon arrival, as our standards are very high. I will be sure to speak with our housekeeping supervisor regarding any shortfalls during your stay and I do apologize for any inconvenience. All of our pools are heated and are even covered at night and were fully operational during your stay, so I’m not sure why you thought it was not functioning properly. I welcome you to come back and stay with us again, and now that you know what we have to offer you may prefer the beachfront resort next time. Robert Czyszczon, General Manager
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Not a good place to go

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
too pricy for that place I was able to change the next day and go to a better place with the same price
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2015 by Robert, Hotel Management
I’m very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. The majority of our guests leave great reviews. Perhaps our smaller boutique resort was not the experience you were looking for. We are currently undergoing renovations so I welcome you to give us another try. Robert Czyszczon, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Need staff at this location

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Its not a hotel and not a resort, its a studio apartment with no staff around to service you.
Cons: Staff the place...seriously. If you one is around, then no one is around to take care of your guests or upsell us on additional services
My big big issue with this place is there is absolutely ZERO staff! Of course they don't tell you that at booking. We arrived like most people, tired from hours of traveling and ready to be out of the car. However, we were quite irritated to learn upon arrival that no one worked there. But instead, there was a note taped to the door that said you have to drive to another location to check in. No no no, not acceptable. If I want to have a situation where Im on my own with no one around to address my needs as a guest then I will pay less money and go through a private website where places are not staffed. So we drive to the location to check in, wait in line, and get our key. Go back to where we were, and oops...where is the room? We went all over that place trying to find our room and we got sooooo irritated looking for it. The numbering there is weird, and our room was on the back of the property which no one told us. It looked like someone's private apartment so we didn't look there originally. When we tried calling the phone number given when booking...no answer and we couldnt get through to the front desk where we had just been. Ugh. By the time we finally got in our room nothing seemed nice because we were so irritated just trying to go through what should have been a simple process of going from our vehicle to our room upon arrival. Also, anything we needed while we were there, of course there was no one around to service us. So we had to get back in our cars and drive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2014 by Robert, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. I’m sorry if there was any confusion upon your arrival. Our hotel description states that you need to check in at our beachfront location and provides the name and address in the “when you arrive” area. I apologize that you did not notice this important information. The check in desk is only 100 yards (one block) away and our staff goes back and forth all day between our three properties to address any of our guests needs. All you would need to do is call the front desk from your room and we provide the same services of an on-site office. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay. Robert Czyszczon General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Great experience

Posted Sep 11, 2014
When I went to check in the location of the hotel there was a sign instructing me to go across the street to check in. After I figured out what I had to do, the experience was great. The room was very spacious and clean. The view to the canal was amazing and across the street you can go swimming in the gulf. Kitchen was fully stocked with kitchen utensil. I live in central Florida and will definantly come back on long weekends!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2014 by Robert, Hotel Management
Thank you for an excellent five star review of your stay at the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort – Hotel and Marina. It sounds like you had a great stay and being semi-local I welcome you back again anytime. Robert Czyszczon, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom scotland uk

Well located hotel with good facilities

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Stayed one night following flight into Tampa. Worthwhile and would use again. Sister hotel is across the road with access to beach.