Ratings based on 255 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Close to restaurants, beach, & shops.

Posted Aug 1, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay. There's a shopping plaza next door with several very good restuarants and shops. It's a short walk to the beach. The hotel was clean and staff were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Good Hotel - Great Staff

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: The staff were outstanding, always ready to help.
Cons: It is time to renovate and update. Newer, more comfortable beds are a must.
Location: Clearwater Beach is a trolley ride away. Sand Key beach is nice, quiet, the hotel will shuttle you there in about 3 minutes.
The hotel itself is aging and in need of renovation. The rooms feel quite tired, the beds are average, the rooms are big enough for 5 people to stay, but feel small compared to newer suite hotels being built in 2010+. With us, two teen kids, and one younger one really filled the space along with my wife and I, it felt small. The room would work well for people with young kids, who want to put them to sleep and then sit and watch tv in the second room. The washroom is small. The staff are great, very friendly, always ready to help. The room was also very clean. The location is quiet, away from the main strip, too far to walk over the bridge for us, so we used the local trolley, and later rented a car (which can get expensive with parking in Clearwater beach, but we had some other trips planned). The rooms all face the bay and we saw dolphins, sharks, pelicans, etc., almost daily - the kids loved this part. This is a nice hotel for people who want to visit the 'hustle and bustle' of Clearwater Beach, and then return to a quieter hotel. There is a small strip mall beside the hotel, but our eating experiences there were not great, and the prices were high. However, Clearwater Beach itself is also pricey, but there is a lot of choice. I would recommend this hotel for folks who are looking for a vacation where they can go into town, and then return for some peace and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Nice place with a few small issues

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Overall nice hotel. Shuttle or short walk to beach, room has nice view of the bay. Rooms on all floors have front door open to outside, not an indoor hallway. Walls between rooms were thin, could easily hear next door. Staff was great, pool was nice. Columbia restaurant right next door with a small boardwalk and strip mall. Rooms were nice, spacious. We had a good time overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice Hotel, friendly staff.

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: Staff was friendly
Cons: The decor
Location: family oriented area, plent for kids to see and do
Was easy to get to the beach. Food was good at Watercolors. we had a good time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: All the various things to do on site and its proximity to beach with out being on the beach.
Cons: Room finishes and furniture.
Location: Beach, restaurants.
Great staff, cute facilities, room was smaller than expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Very nice pool, jet skis. Nice breakfast buffet.

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Carpet in room had some stains. Great view of bay from room. Comfy bed. No hooks to hang towels in bathroom!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff was great

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Every staff person we came in contact with was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

Clearwater Beach Marriott Sandkey

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: I didn't like anything about the hotel
Cons: everything needs improvement.
I recently stayed at the Marriott in Clearwater on 4th of July weekend with my 3 kids, husband, sister and parents. Over all the staff was very nice but the accommodation were old and badly in need of a renovation. My carpet in the hotel was stained, coming up on the sides, and smelled of smoke. I got an adjoining (handicap) room for my parents, since my father is in a wheelchair. On the first night at 4am the plumbing in the bathroom overflowed onto all the carpet. Hotel staff moved my parent, sister and daughter into another room that wasn't handicap accessible - but left all of their things in the flooded room. At about 4pm the next day, the hotel finally found another handicap room for my parents. After having spent over an hour moving everyone for the 3rd time, and not spending time with our family, the hotel gave us free breakfast buffet tickets (but not including an upgrade of bacon and eggs? I've never heard of such a cheap rule) to compensate. The hotel should have never moved my father into a non handicap rooms, also they shouldn't have had to move 3 different times on a 2 night stay. The pool area was completely over crowded and definitely housed more people that were non guest members. Trash was left all over the hotel as well. We would wake up in the morning to mounds of trash by the elevators, dirty drink cups left over on tables and at the pool. I would not recommend this hotel and will not be visiting again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2015 by Jessica C., Hotel Management
Dear Tracy, I wanted to thank you for providing feedback for us and apologize again for the experience you had. Please understand that when we initially made contact with you we were under the impression that you wanted to remain in the room so you could be close to your family. While we temporarily moved your parents to the only room we had available, we were diligently working to repair the room however the room was not going to be up to standard for sleeping purposes. Once we realized this was the case, we immediately secured an accessible room for your family to move into. Although this room was not next door, which was extremely disappointing for you and your loved ones, it was one floor higher. We are extremely apologetic for the inconveniences you experienced and I hope that you understand this isn't a common occurrence. We hope you do consider us again the next time you are in the Clearwater Beach area. At Your Service, Jessica Carlson Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with a great pool and pool bar

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Quiet location easy to get to
Location: Just over the bridge from Clearwater Beach
Very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel was very clean and has a great pool and pool bar.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Very old, overpriced, rude employees! Not sure why the ratings are so high, because my family and I honestly didn't think the hotel was good at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2015 by Jessica C., Hotel Management
Good Afternoon From Clearwater Beach, I wanted to sincerely apologize for your recent experience at Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites. We strive to exceed all of our customers expectations in not only service but product as well. I hope that you will give us a second chance in the future if your travels bring you to the Clearwater Beach area again. At Your Service, Jessica Carlson Assistant General Manager