Ratings based on 213 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Stayed was scheduled for classes taken in regards

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Easy access to outside
Cons: N/A
Very good experience. Clean, safe and friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2014 by Mike, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the five star rating! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience and our staff as well. We hope you come back and stay with us on your next trip to Clearwater!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Location: Convenient for Clearwater area without the congestion.
Two night stay, relatively quiet, rooms very dark which was great for sleeping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2014 by Mike, Hotel Management
Thank you for the valuable feedback! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our rooms. We hope you come stay with us again on your next trip to Clearwater!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Poor breakfast

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: We just stayed there for some hours sleep after a late check in
We included breakfast which was very poor. Part of the hotel seemed to be under refurbishment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2014 by Mike, Hotel Management
Thank you for your valuable feedback. . I sincerely apologize for the experience you had during breakfast. I hope next time you are in the Clearwater area you can give our hotel another chance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dissapointed

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: rooms were clean
Cons: ALWAYS give correct directions when a guest calls to confirm how to get there
Location: CONSTRUCTION
When we called to confirm the directions from downtown St Pete, we were told to get off at exit 31. There is no exit 31 off I275 heading north from downtown St Pete! So we drove all the way across the bridge to Tampa. When called back, no one could explain how we got the wrong directions. There is a TON of construction right around the hotel, which we were not warned about. It was very difficult to find the hotel even once we had the correct directions- now from Tampa. Once we arrived and explained our frustration we had to ask for an upgrade, which we did receive. Unfortunately, it was not an upgrade in our specific case as the suite had 2 double beds and we needed 2 queens to accommodate us. Overall, we were sorely disappointed with our overall experience and did not feel we were fairly compensated for all the avoidable inconveniences. I do not plan to stay at this or any other Marriott in the future due to my experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2014 by Mike, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Courtyard St Pete /Clearwater. I do apologize for tehhe mis informed directions and completely understand your frustration. I will ensured my staff is well versed on the area and directions to prevent further issues with future guests. Thanks so much for choosing the Courtyard and we look forward to making your next visit one you have come to expect from Marriott. Kind Regards, Mike
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sharon from Wilmington, NC

Reasonably priced with good service and amenities

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Bistro was a nice add but the staff was a little inexperienced. Check in and out and info desk were nice. TV remote non working.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Close enough to my venue

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
There was trash in one of the baskets and there was a hairbrush still left on the air-conditioning unit. I did mention it to the woman at my time of check-out but didn't get a response so I told her it was an "FYI". I was loading up my car before the 12:00 check-out time and they voided my key card @ 11:50 a.m. so I was unable to re-enter to turn in my room key. Just a little annoying and inconvenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2014 by Mike, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while at our hotel and I can assure you that these matters will be discussed with our staff to ensure that this doesn't happen again. Again, I do apologize and thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to airport

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Location: With road construction, was a little difficult to get the correct road to enter Executive DR.
In addition the convenience, it was clean, staff very helpful and friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We are pleased to hear that our hotel and staff were able to accommodate you during your stay and we hope that you choose to stay with us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Doug from Ellsworth IL.

close to the airport

Posted Jan 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was fabulous! I will stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2014 by Mike, Hotel Management
We are happy to hear that you will choose to stay with us again. We hope to see you soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by ken from dallas tx

courtyard review

Posted Jan 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Bistro was a pleasant surprise. The service was friendly and fast. The room was clean with easy access to everything. The pool wasn't heated even though when I called ahead to check the front desk clerk said the pool was heated. I would recommrnd the hotel to both business and liesure guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2014 by Mike, Hotel Management
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience with the pool. It is always supposed to be at 84 degrees and we have talked with our engineering staff to make sure this problem doesn't happen again. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our bistro and the rooms. Please come and stay with us again on your next trip to the Clearwater area!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2014