Ratings based on 2,468 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Location is everything about this hotel. Beach!

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Hotel is older but decently maintained at first glance. Staff was courteous but took quite awhile to be greeted and served at the front desk upon arrival. Room was clean and decent. Pool was warm and well kept. Toilet in room leaked at the supply valve making the floor wet and the shower fixture was very difficult to operate due to age. Needs some improvements for sure but we enjoyed out stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Disappointing...

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Hotel was on the beach.
Location: Some water sports offered on the beach. Hotel on main road so shops and places to eat easily accessible by walking.
Hotel is old. Lobby and hallways run down, dingy, dirty looking. Room older but nice, housekeeping kept it clean. Air conditioner worked but was noisy. Bathroom small but workable. Was to have partial ocean and bay view but could only see the crane outside our window as their was construction going on, on the roof. No reason to use our balcony. Talked to front desk who offered a bay view only room for the next night, but we declined not wanting to move all of our things. Bay view mostly meant road view, bay barely visible. Staff pleasant. Contrary to hotel description, the only laundry service available was a washer and dryer in basement. Pool small. Seating for 30 people. No Jacuzzi. View of the gulf hidden by fence and greenery. Hotel is located on the beach but provides no chairs. If you want to sit on the beach you can rent a cabana for a daily $25 fee or use beach towels provided by front desk. Room service quick and food okay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: The location right on the beach was nice.
This hotel could use some updates. The windows have wooden shutters rather than curtains. Although the shutters look nice, they allow a lot of light to come through making it difficult to sleep past sunrise in the morning. There is also a bright, florescent light on every balcony that you cannot turn off so that shines into your windows at night and also makes it kind of annoying to sit out on the balcony if you want to enjoy the night sky and stars. Also, weddings at this hotel are common, sometimes several per day. It was frustrating for those of us who were not there for a wedding as it became very crowded in the lobby, elevators and commons areas. Parking also became difficult when there was a wedding. We also found that there became rowdy guests, often after the weddings and an evening of drinking and partying, and we needed to take our kids up to the room so they weren't exposed to the swearing, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Milford, MI

Older beachfront hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: The revolving rooftop restaurant, "Spinners" had wonderful views from every angle.
Cons: Attention to customer service.
Location: Beachfront, with an outdoor heated pool and bar. Short drive to St. Petersburg to experience the cultural and shopping fun.
Upon arrival, the front desk personnel were very helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable and stylish, although a bit smaller than I expected. We had a small patio that was very pleasant. The breakfast buffet was quite nice, we ate breakfast there almost every morning of our stay. Our main problem was that the cleaning staff completely missed our room two out of the four days that we stayed there. We even put the "Service Please" sign out on our door, which was ignored. When we told the front desk clerk about this at checkout, he didn't apologize or act overly concerned. This was very disappointing. We had to scrounge for towels and toilet paper the last morning of our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is right on the beach. Nice ocean view.

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Cons: Have the crane moved so you can have a decent view from the east side of the hotel.
When we arrived we were put in a room that faced east. That would have been great except there was a crane right outside of our balcony. We requested a move and the staff was very accommodating. The east side is great to sit on your balcony and get the sunshine. Bongos has the best Beachside burger! The hotel is older, but still nice. The bed was very comfortable, the shower was great and the room was a nice size. We were able to sit on our balcony and view the ocean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good place for a beach vacation.

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: One-stop shopping for a relaxing beach day.
Cons: Room wasn't great but we were hardly there so it didn't really matter.
Location: There was watersports rentals right on the beach. Lots of seafood restaurants nearby and Skidders next door had a good breakfast.
heated pool was nice during florida winter, cabana rentals right there, and beach bar is right on the beach. Don't need to go anywhere to get what you need, its all there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom quebec,qc

Excellent rapport qualité -prix

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Proprete et commodites dans les chambre (micro ondes et petit frigo) lit tres conforables.
Cons: Insonorisation des chambres
Location: Belle plage, pleins de restos et commodités a proximité
Hotel bien situe en bord de mer. Plage magnifique. Chambre spacieuse tres propre. Petitfausse note quand a l'insonorisation des chambre. Cafe gratuit au lobby. Piscine avec chaises, serviettes de plage fournies. Bref nous y retournerons.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beach front nice

Posted Feb 18, 2015
house keeping was not poor but not great . the palm restaurants, one of the waiters wore the same shirt all week with a hole in the side of it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newfoundland

Great location and awesome food at Bongos .

Posted Feb 18, 2015
We had stayed at the Grand Plaza several times before and was pleased . This time we booked an ocean view room and loved it . We enjoyed the drinks , food and music at Bongos so much that we spent several evenings there ....the " fish trio " appetizer was amazing ! We were pleasantly surprised with a complimentary bottle of champagne delivered to our room from " Expedia "....thank you very much !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario

Nice hotel right on the beach.

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Staff and location
Staff were great, the size of the place just right, not too small but not too big to be intimate. Bongos was a great tiki bar on the beach. I would go back there.