Ratings based on 233 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Delray Beach Florida

Nice hotel but not close to the beach

Posted May 4, 2015
The hotel was great. We loved the room and the breakfast in the morning was really good. We used the weight room and it was very nice. My only complaint was it was not that close to the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2015 by Renee GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and sharing your experience with us. Glad you had an opportunity to use our fitness center - it is a new addition to our hotel! I'm sorry to hear you found our location not convenient to the beach; the closest beach to us is Indian Rocks Beach, which is 10 miles from our hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom St. Augustine, FL

If you have little kids a perfect hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2015
As far as hotel staff, they were awesome and accommodating. The room was nice, the bed was comfy and bathroom clean. The drawback was all the little kids screaming all over the hotel especially the pool area. It was if the parents just let them do what they wanted while they just sat at the pool. It was swarming with kids.We couldn't figure out why either. The hotel is in a business park. So we never used the pool. Instead we opted to drive a half hour to the beach where we could relax. That was our whole point of the weekend getaway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2015 by ReneeGM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and providing your feedback. I am very sorry that you were unable to enjoy the pool area due to the loud children. There was a youth event in our area that weekend and that was why there were more families at our hotel than usual. Again, I am very sorry that you did not get to relax at our hotel, however I am happy to hear you were able to relax and enjoy our beaches.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

enjpy

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Ten min from the water and Johnspass very enjoyable time
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2015 by Renee GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Clearwater East - Icot. We love hearing from our guests! Glad you had an enjoyable time in Clearwater. Next time you are in the area, please stay with us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Excellent. Courteous Staff. Clean room. Great breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2015 by Renee GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Clearwater East - Icot. Thank you for the great comments - we love hearing from our guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsburgh PA

Noise

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: very clean and rooms very pleasant
Cons: sound proof the rooms
Location: Clearwater--near the airport We drove to Tarpon Springs and it was fairly close. And Clearwater beach was interesting but to crowded for us.
The first night was very noisy up until twelve o'clock. the doors kept banging with people going in and out of rooms. Other than that everything else was wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2015 by Renee GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review out hotel. We are so sorry to hear that your first evening was noisy from banging doors, however we are glad to hear that everything else was wonderful. Again, our apologies for the noise on your first evening. We do hope on your future travels to Clearwater you do choose to stay with us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jonathan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Terencefrom Foley

Great value.

Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels.com
Wonderful hotel and a really great breakfast. I will stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2015 by Renee GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Clearwater East - Icot. We love hearing from our guests and we appreciate your great comments. Please be sure to come and stay with us again on your next visit to Clearwater.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ALEXANDRA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sumter, SC

Not Again?!

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: I was pleased to see that they were concerned about being conservative and allowed the guests decide when to change the linen and towels.
Cons: There was not a microwave or refrigerator in the room we stayed in. This was a major inconvenience.
Location: We were able to walk to a nearby restaurant.
Overall, our stay was pleasant and the room was comfortable. However, there were problems with the key. After checking in, we were not able to enter the room because neither of the keys worked. First trip back to the front desk because of the keys. The next morning, again, one of the keys does not work. Second trip to the front desk because of the keys. This time I get the lecture about my cell phone or other electronics may be the cause. Really? both of the keys were in the same envelope given to me. Okay, my husband has a key and I have one. We return to the room and he uses his key. Guess what happens? Nothing!! Another trip to the front desk because of the key. Oh and he had the key in his front pocket, away from everything else. Another issue was that there was not a refrigerator nor microwave in the room. But there was a plant growing out of the side of the heating unit. What's better than live vegetation in the rooms? So aside from the issues listed; the visit was pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Renee GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with us. I am very sorry for the problems you had with the guest room keys. I understand that it can be very frustrating to have to return to the front desk multiple times for the same problem. I do appreciate you bringing this to my attention so I can get with our maintenance team to resolve the problem. Thank you. We do not offer microwave/refrigerators in all of our guest rooms, however on future stays please have your reservation noted that you would like to request one and we will do our best to find you a room with a microwave/refrigerator in the room. I'm sorry you were not able to have one on this visit. Thank you again for your feedback. We do appreciate hearing from our guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom morehead city, nc

good but...

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Everything was great except for the fact that we had a water line break and no water for 6 hours. Only one restaurant -Japanese- in walking distance other two decent places closed down. Maybe a better hotel if it was closer to more food and nightlife...
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very sorry that you and all of our guests had to be without water that evening, however we did have a water line break and were left with no option but to shut the water off to make the needed repair. When we make a decision of this caliber it is done with much conversation to make the best decision for our guests. I do apologize that two of the restaurants near us have closed, however we do offer a complimentary hotel shuttle that can transport you to other restaurants that are not withing walking distance from us. On your next visit, be sure to inquire about our shuttle.