Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Florida

COMPLETELY unsatisfactory

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: The staff was very nice.
Cons: Cleanliness.
We chose the HIX because it was so close to USFSP for my sister's orientation and all the hotels we preferred were booked. Changed hotels after one night (aka as soon as the Hilton had an available suite) All of the rooms at the HIX were supposed to be non smoking but our room smelled so strongly of smoke that it gave both me and the people I was traveling with headaches. We tried brewing coffee, putting the AC on the coldest setting to try to mask the scent but nothing worked. The staff was very nice though. There's no AC in the hallways so it was so hot, it was almost humid. The toliet also stopped working and the front desk said that it was because we had put something in the toliet but we hadn't put anything in it other than pee. There was no other room for us to be switched into either.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, California

A quick night in St. Petersburg

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Location: The location is not the best although it is right by the freeway. It is on 54th Ave and I need to get to 62nd Ave to find only some fast food places.
Fly in from San Francisco with a red eye flight for a 3:30pm important meeting. I was hoping to get an early check-in when I arrived the hotel around 8am. Unfortunately, no can do. Then, I asked if I could check-in at noon. Still no can do. 3pm is the check-in time. OK, rule is rule. After the meeting, I checked in around 5:30pm. The room was clean and with good space. The bathroom was also clean and with towels for 4 people. However, the shower head water flow was restricted too much and without extension. The WIFI internet service was OK. I used the wired connection to get better speed. Next day, the breakfast was better than many similar chain hotel. OK to use this hotel again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2015
War lediglich zum übernachten, liegt direkt an der Schnellstraße. Im Zimmer hat es durch die Klimaanlage etwas gemüffelt. Aber sonst war es ganz ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2015 by Manuela O., Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience with the smell in the room. We are working diligently to have this solved and we appreciate the feedback. Mit freundlichen Grüßen, Manuela O. Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Scott

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

great hotel with convenient location

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Free breakfast/location
Location: ok location
Great stay! nice staff and great breakfast! Stay pleasant and parking very accessible.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2015 by Manuela O., Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn Express St. Petersburg! We hope to see you again whenever your travels brings you back our way. Sincerely, Manuela O. Assistant General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Holiday Inn

Posted Apr 24, 2015 on Hotels
The room smelled of smoke upon entering. It did get better with the A/C on but it took awhile. The staff was very pleasant and readily accommodating. The location off of I-275 is great however it is located in a fairly bad neighborhood so leaving the hotel is not recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2015 by Manuela, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are very sorry about the issue you encountered with the room. It is great to know that our staff was able to assist you in a expedite manner. Thank you for letting us know about your stay at our hotel. Sincerely, Manuela O. Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rodney from Cedar Rapids

Spring Break 2015

Posted Mar 30, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Nice selection for breakfast for our whole family.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

St. Petersburg stay

Posted Mar 21, 2015 on Hotels
OK hotel stay. Had problem with our two rooms, my fault, and the person checking us in had it taken care of quickly and with a smile. Both rooms had a moldy smell to them, maybe not used in awhile but couldn't switch rooms since they were fully booked. Free breakfast was pretty good. Chain restaurant right next door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kimberly from Union, IL

Gasparilla Classic Gymnastic Meet Trip

Posted Mar 3, 2015 on Hotels
We were down this weekend for a men's gymnastic meet that my son was competing at the Tropicana Field. This hotel was easily located off the express way to get to and from the meet. The staff was very helpful. The breakfast was full stocked and if you need anything they brought it right out. Would stay at this hotel again and recommend it to friends and family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anthony from Boston

would stay again

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
attended a softball tournament in Treasure Island