Ratings based on 483 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed Bongos Tiki Bar behind the hotel on beach.

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: Basic room was comfortable. Toasted Monkey out front of hotel had good food. Bongos tiki bar was very good and employees were very friendly.
Cons: New sliding doors on the ground floor rooms. Sliders are hard to open for women and children.
Location: Great location. There is something to do for all age brackets. Couldn't have a better time for the price anywhere else in the area.
Was pleased enough to consider staying there again on my next visit. The price was right the place was clean and the entertainment and nightlife was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jeff from canada

great price for location the staff are outstanding

Posted Mar 3, 2014
had a great time,nice beach bar and pool.the front desk staff were excellent and cleaning staff were great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expect no surprises

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Pros: On the beach. Bar and restaurant perfectly fine. Near other decent bars and restaurants. Most of the staff were nice and helpful enough.
Cons: The pool is overly warm and not refreshing. It seemed underchlorinated.
Location: Beach, tiki bars, and some restaurants. That's about it.
This hotel is for your run-of-the-mill beachside stay. Got a large sea-facing room. No frills, no tremendous downside. Good if you've been doing Florida beach holidays for a while and just need an affordable place to sleep and spend a modest amount of time in. Not so good if you're new to the area and looking for anything approaching luxury, and really expect the hotel to be an important part of the stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rosie from illinois

awesome

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: so close to the beach.
Cons: the darkening drapery was stained.
Location: lots of bar & grills to walk to with all great music. mc donald's was close too if you like fast food. a couple of beach shops within walking.
very affordable, & just steps away from the beautiful beach. great music too!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

nothing fancy, nothing gross

Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is your average hotel. Needs lots of repairs, but nothing about it is disgusting or made us wish we didnt stay there. Mostly stuff like the tile around the bath tub was cracked, and the lock on the sliding glass door to the balcony was coming loose from the wall. stuff like that. but mostly, it was a convenient, cheap place to stay that fitted our needs. I recommend it if you're not too pick and just need a clean place to sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Les from Brooklin

Good location, but hotel is looking old.

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our party of 9 was in 3 rooms over 4 nights. One cannot complain about the location...right on the beach, with a swimming pool and restaurant and bar on the property. Our room was very quiet too, which is a big bonus for me. On the first night there was a problem when we were given keys to a room we were not assigned to. After returning that evening one party was locked out of the room and not even allowed to enter it to provide proof that their belongings were in it. We had daily problems with the access keys, but that could have been because we kept them in our wallets next to our credit cards. The hotel is looking old. The hallways and stairwells have seen better days. I found that the coffee and cups were not being restocked each day and had to go to the front desk each day to get more. Despite all this, I don't think you can go wrong with this hotel, at this price. Some previous posts have mentioned the noise from the bar or restaurant...I never noticed it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK for the money

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Facilities beg for an update
Location: Excellent location
A very old hotel, needing a good make up, but decent to sleep considering the cost.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Robert McClees

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
We have been spending time at Howard Johnson, St Pete Beach, once or twice (1 yr. 5 times) a year for approximately 12 years. This was probably our best stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com