Ratings based on 879 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Orlando

On the beach

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Great location.
Cons: A lot! See above.
Location: Great location on beach. Good restaurants nearby.
Upon check-in on the ramp, bell man asked that I park my car in the self parking (my choice) but failed to tell me that the stairway back to registration was closed because of the rain. After I parked, there was no signage to direct me back to the hotel and the bell man never mentioned how to get back to registration! This was completely unacceptable. They charge a $28/day resort fee which includes a newspaper but NOBODY said that you had to order it to the room! The room cleaning staff also had to notified by us that they need to clean the room?!! What ever happened to resorts doing all of these things without having to be asked? The room was especially small and the bathroom unacceptably small. Low end Holiday Inn bathrooms are much bigger. The hot tub was just hot and the jets were not working!. There was a tile missing on the tub wall. The door to the sports bar was dirty and needed a coat of paint.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2015 by Jeff A. , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry that you felt the accommodations did not meet your expectations. I am also sorry to hear about the troubles you encountered, but thank you for bringing these to our attention. I hope that you give us another try in the future. Best,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything you could want

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Wonderful location, excellent amenities, very friendly hotel staff, and guests are equally as pleasant as the staff. Everything we asked for was done without the blink of an eye. I would stay at the Don again without a question.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2015 by Jeff A., Hotel Management
Thank you for your rave review! I am delighted to hear what an amazing stay you had with us! I'm glad that you enjoyed our wonderful location and excellent amenities! Thank you for your compliments about our friendly staff and the great service they deliver, I will be sure to pass along your kind words. I hope to welcome you back soon! Best,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classy and Classic!!!

Posted Jul 25, 2015
We spent a wonderful day and night at the Don Cesar with our family. Great location with an interesting history. Wish that we coul have stayed longer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2015 by Jeff A. , Hotel Management
I am ecstatic to hear what a wonderful stay you had with us at Loews Don CeSar Hotel! I'm glad that you enjoyed our beachfront location and our storied past! I hope to welcome you back soon! Best,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Beautiful resort location on the beach

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: The pool and beach combination being so close. A very lively atmosphere. I could just have easily been in the Bahamas or Cancun.
Cons: The rooms are small, but there really is nothing that can be done about that. I am getting rather tired of resort fees and valet parking costs though
Location: Wonderful location with a lot of things to do close by. There is a complimentary shuttle service run by a company in the area that is great.
I had two rooms reserved for a small family reunion. The beach location is beautiful, and the pool areas is right on the beach. The music they had everyday at lunch was so enjoyable by the pool. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The only criticism I would have is on the cost of beach lounges and umbrellas, etc. The lounges by the pool cost nothing, but the lounge couches with umbrellas ran over $100 a day. The food and beverage service on the beach could have been much better, especially since you were paying a lot for the use of the cabanas. The hotel is a beautiful old hotel, most of which has been renovated. The rooms are very small, but nicely appointed. We wished we had stayed longer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2015 by Jeff A. , Hotel Management
I am happy to hear what a great stay you had with us! I'm glad that you enjoyed our beautiful beachfront location, awesome pools, and live poolside entertainment! I'm also delighted to hear how much you appreciated our historic hotel and its refreshed interiors. I hope to welcome you back soon! Best,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta, ga

Classy and quaint

Posted Jul 19, 2015
We used to live in St. Petersburg and work on the beach. Always drove by The Don, but never stopped in. Glad we finally made the reservations. We will be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2015 by Jeff A. , Hotel Management
I am delighted to hear what a wonderful stay you had with us! I'm glad that the wait was worth it and that you will be back! I look forward to welcoming you upon your return! Best,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Absolutely perfect!

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Ideal location on the beach, great activities for the kids, and a very friendly, helpful staff.
Cons: Roomier baths
The hotel's charm, perfect location and superb customer service makes this the best stay in St. Pete Beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2015 by Jeff A., Hotel Management
I'm happy to hear what an absolutely perfect stay you had with us! I'm glad that you love our charm and perfect location! Thank you for your kind words regarding our superb customer service! I hope to welcome you back soon! Best,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

The Don Cesar

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: Staff was fantastic!
Cons: Prices for chairs and umbrellas on the beach is excessive, given the price you pay for the room and the resort fees.
Location: Great beach and local restaurants.
The service was exceptional. The rooms are a little dated, but the beds are very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2015 by Jeff A, Hotel Management
I'm glad to hear what a nice stay you had with us! I'm also happy that you enjoyed the accommodations and our comfy beds! Thank you for your compliments about our exceptional service. I hope to welcome you back soon! Best,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedminster, NJ

Great hotel on St. Pete's Beach

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: The room was somewhat small.
Location: You do not need to leave the premises, if you don't want to!
Arrived early and a room was made available. The staff is courteous and accommodating! It is a very beautiful hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2015 by Jeff A, Hotel Management
I'm happy to hear what a great stay you had with us! I'm glad that you found our hotel to be beautiful and our staff to be courteous and accommodating! I hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Great Hotel Close to the Beach

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: The location on the beach was spectacular.
Cons: None - keep up the service
Location: Beach
The staff t the Loews Don Cesar Hotel were wonderful. They were helpful, pleasant, and very accommodating on a busy 4th of July weekend. I would recommend this hotel to families and couples.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2015 by Jeff A, Hotel Management
I am delighted to hear what a wonderful 4th of July weekend you had while staying with us! I'm glad that you enjoyed our location and found our staff to be outstanding! I hope to welcome you back soon! Best,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Great location

Posted Jul 4, 2015
The hotel has been nicely updated however be warned the rooms are small and the bathrooms are tiny. If you are bigger than normal you may struggle with the shower and loo.apart from that the staff are excellent and it is in a beautiful position. By far the best hotel in the area.