Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Accurate resort description. The resort was very clean and the staff was friendly. There's an excellent restaurant/bar next door to the resort. The hotel was very close to many fun activities. I highly recommend the sunset cruise at john's pass also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by LJ

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by C Webbfrom Orlando

Great value

Posted Aug 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Though it may not be five star, this place had everything we needed for a much deserved weekend at the beach. A short walk to the beach and a great pool area. For night St.John's Pass is just a short walk away. We are definitely coming back! Our only complaint is that the mattresses need to be replaced. The fold out couch mattress was just springs, there was foam in the closet thankfully that we put on top. The bedroom mattress is just getting to soft from use.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jane Mannfrom Ocala, Florida

A great family trip

Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had 2 condos for this trip. One of the condos was dirty upon arrival we had to purchase cleaning products and clean the condo before we could even sleep. The other condo was perfect, except the dryer didn't work. Walking distance to John's Pass and to the beach. We had small children and thought crossing Gulf Blvd might present a problem, but there really was no problem at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Davidfrom Kokomo in

Vacationers

Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Terrific experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Joanna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Steven C.from Central Fla.

No complaints here...

Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
We booked a 1bedroom King condo w/ a queen sleeper sofa at Mad Bay only about a week in advance after deciding we were past due for a weekend family getaway. Due to the short notice, there wasn't much availability in any of the St. Pete beach area resorts/hotels, so of course those that did have availability, were either not up to par or were on the pricey side. When my wife and I came across this place, for the price, we jumped on it! We arrived late on Fri afternoon after taking a detour from our home in central Fla to spend the day at Busch Gardens. Check-in was speedy & the staff we encountered was courteous. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the condo we were assigned had TWO full bedrooms, one King & one Full/Twin bunk, plus the Queen sleeper in the living room! The condo was clean and more than well equiped w/ a full washer/dryer, all stainless kitchen appliances, and anything else you would need to enjoy a stay at the beach and feel right at home, including beach/pool toys, chairs, boogie boards, etc... We had a great view of the intercoastal & marina from the private balcony & could hear the live music Fri & Sat night from the on-site restaurant next door, a plus for me. The restaurant offers breakfast as well as a $3 build your own Bloody Mary bar on weekends, my wife took advantage of that Sat morning & was very pleased. Another big plus for us was the very short (maybe 3 min, at most) walk to Johns Pass & even shorter walk to the beach. I would certainly recommend staying at Mad Bay and if we plan another trip to the area won't hesitate to stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, Ontario

Great location across the street from the beach

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Proximity to beach, restaurants, and shopping
Cons: The place needs updating, however that might make it too expensive for the clientele who were there (mostly families with children).
Location: The beautiful beach is directly across the street. Johns Pass is almost next door, with its shops and restaurants.
The hotel is well situated, being right across the street from the beach, with easy access to it. The location is excellent, being very close to the popular Johns Pass Boardwalk, with its many shops and good restaurants. The suites are large and comfortable, although a little dated. We also had a room that smelled strongly of cigarette smoke, despite the fact that the hotel claims to be smoke free. Because the hotel seemed full, we put up with the smell and didn't request a room change, which was our mistake. Overall, the property looks tired. The carpets in the common areas are worn, the elevator frames are full of rust, so a little disappointing, but overall not a bad place to stay. We were also surprised that the rooms apparently are not cleaned daily, only when the guests leave. We were there for four days without having cleaning done - not a big deal, but a little unusual.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kathyfrom new york

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Great location great experience amazing vacation. Lots of fun. Highly recommend this hotel everything was just great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

2 night stay

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Cons: Fitness center could use some more equipment.
Cleanest condo I have visited.Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice view of the marina and intercostal from our balcony.Only a short walk from John's pass and various dining spots.