Ratings based on 670 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect hotel by the beach

Posted May 25, 2015
The beach is just a few feet from the hotel. Our room was very clean - looked like they just put new carpet in. For the time we stayed in the hotel, it was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2015
Cons: The Pillows
We had fun! The room was clean, and we has a decent view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach - excellent location.

Posted May 10, 2015
Staff was super friendly and helpful. In spite of the construction going on so close - it was pleasant and within walking distance of everything.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cincinnati, Oh

2 star hotel with 4 star price!

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: That it had an ice cream parlor in the building
Cons: New Paint and décor, better chairs and a table on the balcony, NEW MATTRESSES! Attention to detail while cleaning and warn guests about construction.
Location: The location was nice, but also misleading. We thought that it was ocean front, it is not. It is across the street.
It seems by looking at it online that this is on the ocean, it is not...close but not. Paid for extra person but had to ask for extra pillows, blankets, towels ect. We were charged extra for parking in our own lot, our guest was charged for parking. MAJOR construction going on directly across the street ON THE OCEAN, jack hammers, back up beeping and more AT 7 AM and throughout each day except Sunday. Beds were not comfortable AT ALL, we paid extra for "ocean view" we could not see the ocean because of the trees. The sliding door on the patio would barely shut/open and no one except my husband was strong enough to do it. The hall entry door SLAMMED closed every time it closed. Paint peeling from walls. We paid WAY too much for this hotel after seeing it and would have left had we not been so tired. Phone wasn't working...they came up and said it wasn't plugged in...like it was my fault. I wasn't crawling around on that floor! For the price we paid (after reading these reviews, I am almost certain that we paid retail rather than discounted rate. We were expecting MUCH nicer for what we paid and we will never stay there again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Magnuson Hotel: Beware of staying at this hotel

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Location was good.
Cons: New management. Stop taking advantage of young patrons.
Location: Beach, aquarium, pier.
This is a 18 and up check in hotel. Checked in. Hotel staff are rude. Hotel manager is shady operator. Upon checking out hotel manager proceeded to state that we had a guest in the room after 8 pm and that is not allowed, New charge on bill. Then he stated there were 5 additional people staying in addition to the original hotel guests, new charge on hotel bill. The total additonal charge to the room was for a large inflated amount and the room was paid I full before arrival. When questioning the new random charges on the room, we were asked to leave the property immediately. We were given no list of the charges, no receipt. Do not stay at this hotel. They try and take advantage of persons staying at their hotel with inflated charges to cover their bottom line. They have been reported to Expedia, with whom the original booking was made.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NICE

Posted May 4, 2015
Very clean and affordable. Walking distance to beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom PA

Decent hotel, close to the beach

Posted May 2, 2015
I was pleased with the hotel for the price, and I was glad it was in such a convenient location to the beach and restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Jacksonville, FL

Older hotel, but just across street from Gulf.

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: Location, pool
Cons: Plumbing
Location: Walking to Gulf and restaurants
Good check-in. Cost too high, compared to others in this price range. Had to pay $15 each day! Unacceptable. Room large, nice furniture. Plumbing terrible, hanging from tub wall, hardly workable at all, had to use towel to prevent slipping. Took 30 min for tub to drain after each use. Labortory difficult to work, didn't drain well either. Toliet also slow draining and refill. No kleenex no coffee pot, not offfered. Continental breakfast hardly adequate for such large hotel 2 wings with 4 floor each. Only 2 small tables with 2 chairs, couple of stools at a counter. Coffee not readly available, too many people. This hotel was sold out, which was good, Staff pleasant, but hardly able to work on our plumbing or offer us another room. Pool very nice, staff did job keeping rooms cleaned, very pleasant. Hotel is old, needs renovation. Good location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is not everything

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Automatically check out everyday of stay..Key would not work daily...ripped couch,,,faucets ready to fall off..otherwise walk across to the beach..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2015
was very pleased with the location beach right across the street within walking distance of the pier, shopping, and places to eat. pool and rooms were very big and clean . would stay again. the staff that checked us in the april 25th was very nice.