Ratings based on 481 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Okay pet friendly hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2015
This hotel had excellent staff; however, the rooms are lacking. The rooms are very small and could have been cleaned better. Bathroom was dated and in need of repairs. The pros of this hotel are that is it pet friendly and right off of the highway. There is a nice cove but not an actual beach. So, for those looking beach access this is not the place for you. Overall, hotel Magnuson is great for a 1 or 2 night stay where you will be mainly staying in the room for sleeping purposes and out and about during the day. There are 2 swimming pools and lots of walking trails and fun family bike rentals as well!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando

4th of July trip to Saint Petersburg.

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Location: Location is great close to beaches and museum
Hotel looks very old and lack of maintenance. Room stinks, it was an odor like sewer. Toilette needed flush 5 times. TV very old as well. Breakfast coffee was burnt served on a broken cup on the edge. We wont recommend this hotel to friends and relatives.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lantana, Florida

Another Great Stay At The Magnuson

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Clean rooms and you don't have to leave the grounds to have a good time.
Cons: Could use larger beds in the rooms
Location: Right off the major highway and within 5-10 minutes from everything.
Enjoyed our second stay at the Magnuson Hotel. Rooms are clean and the grounds are kept beautifully.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

It was perfect relaxation for me and my wife.

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Staff, front desk, housekeeping, restaurant, Tiki bar. Location perfect. Quiet & fun different nationalities guest and employees. Perfect price also.
Cons: Seaweed in water, but it's an environmental issue that hotel can not clean up. Beach is very clean, just the seaweed.
Location: on the opposite side of the highway is a beautiful city park. Naturally beautiful and well populated. Saw a number of Dolphins close to shore. Nice
It was perfect relaxation for me and my wife. Our first time visit to St. Petersburg, was excellent. The Magnuson Hotel was laid perfectly right on the bay, except for the seaweed. Beautiful views and a rustic paradise. We will return on our next visit to Florida
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Nice hotel close to beach. Nice pools.

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Main complaint was the plumbing in my room. When turning on the hot water for a shower it sounded like a jackhammer in the walls.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

No free breakfast!!!

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Free breakfast is like a given on hotels, I didn't check if they had it or not so when I went to the restaurant to have breakfast I realized that it wasn't included moreover the service was slow and the 18% tip was already included on the check, I didn't like that at all, The room looked clean till I dropped my phone and I saw a Gatorade bottle next to the bed, not ours! The amenities were old, the TV was archaic. The vending machines were not accepting bills... Wouldn't recommend
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Looks nothing like the pictures

Posted May 30, 2015
Would not stay here again. Stayed on the 2nd floor with a 2 year old. Very noisy and crowded. Difficult lugging everything up and down. Hair in the shower when i got there! Ordered a chicken philly and the bread had mold on it. The beach is covered in seaweed and sticks....not really a beach. More of a swamp with brown water. After checking out i got billed $50 on top of my hotel fees!. They would not refund me or give me a explanation to my charges.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lantana, Florida

Fun times at the Magnuson!

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Pet friendly hotel with a lot to do during your stay.
Cons: The beds were a little small. A double bed is not for 2 people and could be upgraded to a queen.
Location: We were within 5-10 minutes off all popular tourist spot.
We stayed at the Magnuson over the Memorial Day weekend and had a great time. The grounds are kept nicely and the rooms were clean. Having 2 pools, a hot tub, a man-made beach, boat docks, 2 restaurants and a pool side bar all at one resort was great, but they are pet friendly as well! We've already booked our July visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good stay

Posted May 26, 2015
Good stay....................... .........
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gridley, IL

Great Experience

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Staff and cleaness
Cons: Beach could be cleaned up a little bit.
Location: Great location - right by the interstate.
They were very nice and right there with anything we needed.