Ratings based on 321 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A cold stay at Magnuson Resort was comfy.

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: The view of Tampa Bay, the staff.
The heater in our initial room was smelly when we turned it on, since it was a cold day in Florida. The staff was extremely cooperative and gave us another room right away. This is a beautiful resort hotel which USED to be right on the highway but now is just beside I-275.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom atlanta, ga

Recommend for Eckerd parents

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Close to Eckerd College. Clean and comfortable. Would recommend for a short visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2014
My family wasn't sure of this hotel when we pulled up but once they walked around they wished we were staying for more than one night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Great property. The view is amazing at sunrise if you're lucky to be up that early. The raised bar with local musicians tends to keep you up late.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St Petersburg, FL

I cant wait to go back.

Posted Nov 10, 2014
The place is easy to find. It's on a no-outlet road, so only their guest go through it, no heavy traffic. The staff is very friendly. The beds are so comfortable. The location is clean and the view to the marina is breath-taking!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

Okay but facilities a bit dated

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: On the water, close to many things.
Cons: UPdate bathrooms, TV/cable
Location: On Tampa Bay, close to Eckerd College, the Sunshine Skyway bridge, and St Pete, St Pete Beach, TRopicana Field and many other cool things to do/see
the hotel is pleasant, on the water and near Eckerd College. Overall the rooms are fine, but they are a bit dated with the furnishings, carpet, and especially the bathrooms. The TVs are old and cable is pretty bad - not even standard basic from what I could tell. If they updated the TV/cable setup and did some remodeling in the bathrooms I think this would be a great place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Titusville, Fl

Very nice and close to the beach and the skyway B

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Nice hotel, good restaurant and Bar, beautiful sunrise, clean room, we went fishing to the Skyway Bridge but we had a huge tree blocking my balcony and we where not able to enjoy the view of the courtyard but it was good anyway, I will be back again but we are going to make sure to get different room, I recommended to everyone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Comfortable and close to everything

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Hang around the hotel, jogging and biking ttrail, or great white sand beach 3 miles away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hollywood, FL.

Good Location

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: My only suggestion would be to clean up some of the dead sea weed.
Location: As I said, the location was great because you can hop on 275 and go downtown for dinner and Eckerd is about five minutes away.
I picked this hotel based on the review of another Eckerd parent. It is an absolutely perfect place for visiting my daughter. The hotel has an old Florida feel to it with all the rooms overlooking the cove. The sunrise every morning brought in the pelicans and all the different birds to watch feed. The hotel is right off 275 so it was easy to get downtown or to the beach and Maximo park is right next door. You can also drive to Eckerd without getting back on the highway. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful with driving directions and answering questions. Nepa hut is a great place to have a drink or a bite to eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful experience, will go back and take others

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Location was great, offered all amenities needed, or you could get in the car and drive.
Cons: Had dinner at the restaurant, menu and food quality could be improved
The room was clean, nicely decorated, and wonderful view of the bay and marina. The pools, hot tub and grounds were well kept. Staff very helpful and available. We were lucky to see dolphins. Great place to moor a boat and enjoy best of both worlds.