Ratings based on 657 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with access to everything.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
We had scheduled our trip through expedia and was told it would be a court side room. Our room was okay but no view only the parking lot to the Post Restaurant and air conditioning units surrounded by rusty metal and weeds. Everything else was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Suzy from Brooklyn, NY

An excellent and unfortunate location; good staff

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Friendly, down-to-earth staff; bed/mattress in good condition; excellent location. Thoughtful to have discount at nearby restaurant
Cons: Could have been more fruit and fresh pastries and rolls in continental breakfast offerings
Location: a short walk to the beach, not far from causeway to Tampa; liked the beach restaurants nearby
In terms of proximity to the beach and decent places to eat, you can't get much better than Pelican. Unfortunately, it is right across from a construction site. But in contrast to some reviews posted just before our trip, the noise wasn't totally unreasonable. There were gaps in noise, and plenty of people sat out by the pool during the day (even tho some of those days were cool and windy). Our room was fine and clean; there's a small sink and small refrigerator, no stove. If you're looking for luxury, this isn't it, but if you're looking for a pretty good room close to things you want to do, see or shop in, it's fine. And the staff really were friendly, caring and responsive, which makes a huge difference.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Vero Beach

Quick trip

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Staff was very nice. Room looked clean until the morning when we looked under the bed for a lost sock. Found two plastic cups and a months worth of dust bunnies.Told staff on check out, they wrote it down for the cleaning staff. Hotels in the area remind me of the worn out hotels in Daytona Beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maggie from Winnipeg,MB,Canada

What's not to love?

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Just about everything.
Cons: Would be nice if it was a non-smoking property.
Location: Across the street from a beautiful white sand beach, close to restaurants, close to commercial harbor activities.
This hotel has everything a person could want on a Florida getaway. The awesome Gulf view from our room (425) was perfect, the room was spacious and clean with comfortable beds. Location great for walks, restaurants, the beach, convenience stores, things to do. The heated pool was nice, lots of deck chairs available. Lots of parking available. The only drawback is that there is a new construction happening across the street on the beach. Construction starts early and it's noisy and eventually whatever is being built is going to block a lot of the beautiful water view. But it will still be a very good place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Grand Rapids, MI

My stay at Pelican Pointe

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: See above
Location: Close to beach
Dated motel but very clean, nice heated pool, pleasant staff, great location, would definitely come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from Butler PA

We will definitely return

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: free parking, walking distance to beach and attractions, heated pool, staff, (Sadie) cleanliness, view
Cons: The construction noise at 7AM across the street. I realize that Pelican can do nothing about this, but if you are a late sleeper it may be a bother.
From check in to check out, everything was fine. The front desk staff were courteous and efficient. They were able to help us plan a day trip, and gave good advice about using the jolly trolley. Our room was clean, neat. The housekeeping was done in the AM, which is so much better than returning later in the day to a room that has not been serviced. The bed was comfortable, the towels were nice & soft, and very white. The pool and all surrounding areas were clean & neat. The location is great, a short walk to beach, restaurants, convenience store. Free parking with easy access was a big plus. We met many of the other guests, who were all very friendly and were also pleased with their stay. Of course, we all had one thing in common, "getting away from zero degree temperatures!"
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Canada

Nice motel close to the beach

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: Nice swimming pool. They have very clean rooms.
Cons: Sound proof the doors between the adjoining rooms.
Location: Very close to beach, boat tours.
Within walking distance to restaurants, bars, boat tours and stores.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family vacation

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: The staff is very friendly and the rooms were always clean.
Location: I would highly recommend ClearSky for breakfast. The mini golf around the corner is fun as well. Pier 60 is a must at sunset.
This is a great hotel to take the family. Everything is within walking distance from the hotel. Plus you can enjoy the sunset right from your own balcony. The beach is right across the street. there are plenty of restaurants close by. Pier 60 is a short walk for their sunset entertainment. if you are attending Phillies Spring Training games it is a short drive from the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cindy from Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Good hotel, great location

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Pros: Great staff, location and price.
The Pelican Pointe is right across the street from the beach and within walking distance to restaurants, shops, bars and mini-golf. Lots of parking. Our room was large with a sitting/dining area and kitchenette with fridge, MW, coffee maker (coffee supplied), toaster and dishes. Soap and shampoo dispensers always full. Upgraded tile on floors and in shower. Otherwise a bit dated, but that's part of the Florida charm. Chairs and table outside the door on balcony were great for evening relaxing. Great view for now, but construction across the road will soon obstruct the view. Staff were friendly and helpful. Only downside was the construction noise in the morning - not the hotel's fault. Laundry facilities were handy, but busy on a rainy night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bernadette

A home away from home

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: It looked like a home.
Location: If you need to take some tours go to Pier 60 about 5 mins. walk away. Don't miss the Dolphin tours on a nice clear day.
There was something unique in this place that I have never seen in any other two, three or four stars hotels that I have stayed. It does not look like a hotel. It looked like a home. The room was painted with bright colors. I love the pictures of beaches around the wall. I love the little kitchenette supplied with cups, glasses, spoons, forks, small bowls, dish washing liquid, kitchen rugs, microwave, toaster and coffee maker. There was a sofa bed in the rm. There was a heated pool, washer/dryer and vending machine on the ground floor. Complimentary coffee and danish on weekdays. Free wifi. Excellent front desk and over all hotel staff. Two blocks away from the gas station and convenience store and very close to good restaurants. Clearwater beach was the most beautiful beach I have ever seen and it's just right across the street. Some rooms have beautiful view of the gulf. The first time I stayed here, I could see the sunset from my room.