Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant staff, close to beach, clean,quiet

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Quiet, easy access to beach, and clean
Cons: Should not offer gulf view if only partial view is available
Booked through expedia, expected king bed with gulf view. Room had 2 double beds with partial gulf view
Comment from
Jan 15, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay. When booking through a third party site, we do not guarantee the bed type, it is only a request. Your room type was correct. You booked a Superior Gulf View Suite, which does not have a direct view, but is a partial view alongside the hotel, per the room description. I hope you enjoyed your stay and would visit again. Robert Czyszczon General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Colleen from EP, MN

Disappointing at first, but a pleasant experience

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the beach was great! Quiet
Cons: The housekeeping could use improvement. The lounge chairs on the beach are really uncomfortable.
Location: Right on the beach, what more could you ask for? The Ellenton outlets had lots of great stores. Agave had great Mexican food.
I must admit when we first pulled up to the Plaza Beach Hotel I was a bit disappointed. The exterior is a bit dated and the rooms are very spartan. But the hotel's proximity to the beach couldn't be beat, we were literally 50 yards from the beach. The staff was very accommodating - there was an issue with our room (I had requested a room with two queen beds and we got a room with only one queen and a pull-out sofa) and after the first night were moved to a room with two queen beds. We lost our ocean view, but that was fine. This a very nice family oriented establishment, quiet at night. A parking spot and free WIFI were included in the hotel rate, which wasn't standard in many of the other hotels along Gulf Blvd. Friends of ours would get up early to wait in line to pay for a beach cabana. The Plaza Beach Hotel doesn't have cabanas, but they do have colorful Adirondack chairs for guests to use which add to the atmosphere of the place. Most rooms had a kitchenette - there was a Publix very close by, so you didn't have to eat out for every meal. The place grew on me over the course of our vacation and I would probably stay here again.
Comment from
Jan 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. I’m glad we were able to get you into a room that worked for your party. Bed type is only a request, not a guarantee when booking online, but often we can move things around to ensure your comfort. I’m happy we grew on you and that you were able to appreciate the difference between the large hotels and a cozy boutique resort like ours. I hope to see you again. Robert Czyszczon, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Second stay, like the location and facilities.

Posted Feb 27, 2014
Pros: Allows guests to be self sufficient and located on the beach.
Cons: Poolside lounges have the old vinyl straps you can slip through, and without wheels, so you disturb other guests when moving them. Very nice poolside
Location: The location is great, even if you don't have a car. Trolley service along Gulf Blvd. and grocery/pharmacy shopping within walking distance
We like to make our own breakfasts and/or lunches and the suites allow this comfortably. Fully equipped. We would have preferred a room on the sunny side of the building (south), which would have made it brighter. Certainly enough furniture and linens. We were there for 10 nights, and didn't have time to interact with long term guests, since we were out every day visiting friends and seeing the sights. Weather was windy and cool, so we didn't get to walk along the long sandy beach, which is beyond the hotel and pool. Beach towels provided as well. A nice stay and staff is very helpful. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by R and L from Upstate NY

Perfect place for casual vacationing.

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: The staff, the quiet beach and pool. No noise anywhere at night makes for restful sleep. Avid recyclers, this is the place for you.
This is our second stay at Plaza Beach, and, as expected based on our first stay, were not disappointed. Great, friendly, helpful staff, comfortable room with nice efficiency amenities, and nice quiet beach and pool area. Recycling is an obvious priority of management. More importantly, the management, without being intrusive, makes sure everyone respects their fellow guests regarding noise and litter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by S & K from Wisconsin

Great beach hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Location: Great location with the Spinners restaurant and a great beach bar close with grilled burgers and great beer.
I loved that the hotel had it's own private beach with chairs and hammocks. I didn't see any other hotel with such nice facilities. Nice warm saltwater pool. The staff at the desk was very nice and helpful. Room was so cute with a blue ceiling and very clean with a nice kitchen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marshall from Cape Cod, MA

Quiet hotel on the beach and close to shops

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: Personally i was happy having the kitchen. Made it more like an apartment than a hotel.
Cons: Na
Location: You are on the beach so there are things there. Short drive to Johns Pass in Madera beach. A nice board walk along the water with shops and restaurant
Nice quiet hotel on the beach, not a party place! The rooms are very clean and the small kitchen is great. Nice to be able to cook meals in instead of eating out 3 times a day. Happy hour from 4 to 5 with free beer and wine was a nice touch! Lots of restaurants and bars close by within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peggi from Albany, NY

Eco-friendly, clean modern motel on the beach!

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Pros: The second floor rooms are accessed by a pretty veranda with individual patio tables and potted palms at every door.
Cons: The mattress was too soft for my comfort. I would like to see the bedspread disappear in favor of a washable duvet or cotton blankets.
Location: Located within walking distance to a handful of restaurants, bars and grocery store. No nightlife to speak of so expect quiet nights in a quiet hotel.
We had some hesitation about this motel because pictures can be deceiving, but we were not disappointed. Our second story room was spacious despite the king size bed and kitchenette with table. There were no lingering nasty artifacts of an older motel. Every surface and fixture was brand new. The décor was pleasing and simple without pretense of being artsy or elegant. The management has gone to great lengths to do its part towards energy and environmental conservation with low flow plumbing, tinted windows and CF bulbs. The only downside was a strange odor which is common in many motels and hotels. Pesticide? Disinfectant? Hard to say, but fortunately the temperature was suitable for open windows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by EUGENE from ST PETES BEACH AT PLAZA BEACH HOTEL

hotel was beach friendly

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: close to the beach and they provide beach chairs
Cons: more towels
Location: great location and many great eating places
staff were excellent and had a good time with others who were at the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Happy Customer from Florida resident

Very pleased with my stay

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband and I stayed only one night, but were overall happy with our experience. I would stay at this hotel again. The bathroom was recently remodeled (new fixtures, tile, flooring) and the room was comfortable. We booked through hotels.com and paid the $98 price, so it was a good value for staying right on the beach. We were upgraded to a better room due to our late check in and they didn't have any lower priced rooms available at that time. Plenty of room for 2 people (room 212) and very nice hotel staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Peter from Nyc

If you want to play on the beach

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was okay.easy access to beach, may be they need to innovate a little bit like post card inn to make it look more like resort from outside... Most of the folks who stay for a single night dont bother to complain as its not worth their time and they adjust.. Ex: the room i stayed has very strong asian food smell.
Comment from
Jan 22, 2014
Thanks for your review. I’m glad you enjoyed our location and beach access. Our hotel is a boutique resort that purposely uses the “Old Florida” style design. We do want to know if you encounter any issues during your stay and even for just one night will do whatever we can to assist you. Sometimes guests make use of our full kitchens and cook foods with a lingering odor. I do apologize for that, however if you made us aware we would have acted immediately to move you to a different room. I welcome you to give our unique resort another try the next time you’re in the area. -Robert Czyszczon, General Manager