Ratings based on 235 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, small, clean, comfortable and welcoming.

Posted Sep 15, 2014
This little hotel met all of my expectations and a more. Nice rooms, grounds, pool and only steps to the surf. I will be happy to return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Motel

Posted Sep 10, 2014
We booked through Expedia. We booked a room that was more expensive to have 1 queen bed (with a mention that it could be a room with 2 double beds). Just below this room, is the listing for 2 double beds at a much cheaper rate.We got two beds.read a few reviews that stated the same issue. Previous reviews were confirmed as 3rd party reservations are not this property's priority. I called ahead of time and requested a queen bed as we were traveling as a couple, and an upstairs room. He said it was likely I would be getting a queen bed and that he would leave a note on my reservation. When I checked in she claimed there was no such note. I expressed my concern with the Front Desk supervisor who checked me in, and she stated that they have talked to Expedia about this issue and Expedia can not fix it. She simply told me I should call them directly to book next time. If this is so, they should remove their hotel completely from Expedia, otherwise they are knowingly scamming their clients. Children and families take over the place - drying their towels, bathing suits, dirty socks and underwear or anything else on stairway railings, benches, chairs, and the chain barriers.Lots of smoking at this motel. The cleanliness of the room was not great. The room was dirty, hair on bathroom floor. The towels were very dingy. The beds had springs sticking out.resemblance of a stereotypical trailer park and devalued the property. This review would be longer but expedia limits the amount.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok facilities..excellent loc. Great time

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Nothing fancy but is right on the beach. Great location and u ll have a great time if u can get pass outdated decor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N. Ireland

Overnight stay

Posted Jul 26, 2014
We booked this hotel for a last minute overnight stay. The location was excellent right on the beach. We had a family room, beds were comfortable. It was a quirky wee place. We made use of the pool in the evening which wasn't overcrowded. They have a social hour 4-5 were you get complimentary beer and wine and the chance to meet new people that are staying at that location which I though was amazing. Nothing fancy but would defo recommend this hotel. Pleasant and helpful staff!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by Robert, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. In an area full of many large resorts, we are one of the few small boutique resorts left who try to keep the old Florida charm going strong. I’m happy you were able to enjoy our social hour and mingle with other guests. I hope to see you again when you visit the area again. Robert Czyszczon General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very clean hotel right by the beach!

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: The room, staff, pool and location to the beach, grocery store and restaurants.
Location: Several good restaurants, a grocery store, and the bay/excursions were within walking distance. The beautiful beach was right behind the hotel.
The room was super clean and comfortable with a kitchenette and fridge. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful! The pool was very clean and a nice way to end the day. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay and would definitely go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Clean and friendly

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Close to beach. Nice pool.
Cons: Bigger pool towels.
Location: There is a small cash-bar on the property that also serves snacks and other food. Grocery, shopping and restaurants all within walking distance.
A nice hotel that is right on the beach. Very friendly staff that always seemed happy to help. Nice pool, not huge but big enough. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Had everything we needed for a week at the beach. Would gladly return here in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs An Upgrade

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Comfy bed, beautiful beach, great pool, pool bar, adirondak chairs, proximity to Publix and restaurants, and staff was very friendly.
Cons: Bathroom. Needs remodeled. Rooms could be detailed a little better. Mopped floors and not broom swept only.
Location: Great location! Publix 200 yards. Restaurants all up and down Gulf Blvd. Very close to the good ones. Blue Fugu was AWESOME!
Overall, it was ok. Not sure I'd stay there again. Loved the beach, adirondak chairs, and pool. The room was the biggest disappointment. When we arrived, the floor felt like it was not properly cleaned. There was sand and a giant booger. The bathroom was very small and the tub was in bad shape. It was bubbling up like a Bath Fitter project gone wrong. Water pressure was terrible because it's a "green" facility. I'll know to look out for that in the future. Thought the "Internet Cafe" neon sign was funny. The bed was very comfy and the Publix is about 200 yards away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by Robert, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I’m glad you enjoyed the beach and pool amenities, and found the beds comfortable. I apologize if you feel there was an issue with cleanliness your room. If you had notified us right away, we would have sent someone in immediately to take care of any of your needs. Our property is newly renovated. I hope you would stay again so that you can see why so many people rave about our resort. Robert Czyszczon General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2014
the hotel is a bit overpriced taking into account its age and equipment (e.g. old noisy a/c units)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful scenery from hotel, close to everything,

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Nice hotel, close to everything, definitely will be going back;-)
3 out of 5
Recommended
by CLV from Clearwater

Check The Fine Print

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Decent place to stay if you are looking but unfortunately I believe I overpaid. I was looking for a 2 bedroom suite and ended up with. 2 bed studio. There is a $10 charge for extra keys, $10 charge for each beach towel (mismatched leftovers) and if you pass more than 10 feet from the pool to be closer to the water, there is a $25 charge for umbrellas/chairs. So description is a little misleading. I am a local and just wanted a decent priced resort to relax on the beach w/friends. Shame on me, paid close to $300 for a one night stay. This is "The Plaza", not the Grand Plaza...more of a updated motel, not hotel. Gulf view is a little angled peak through window. I would stay again, only if it was $99 or less. Staff is friendly, rooms are clean so it wasn't horrible, just not worth the price plus extra, extra and extra.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Robert, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and for mentioning our friendly staff and clean rooms. Please review the room description, which describes it correctly as a studio suite with two queen beds, and nowhere mentions it being a two bedroom suite. Our description also indicates that it is only a partial water view. We charge a $10 key deposit for extra keys, which is gladly returned when all of the keys are returned. We do not charge $10 for beach towels, you sign them out for free, and if not returned prior to check out, only then we do charge for them. We have cabanas on our property that are free to use, but there is a beach service not affiliated with the hotel that does rent cabanas down near the water. This service is available up and down the beach. I would welcome you back now that you are more aware of our policies. Robert Czyszczon, General Manager
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Robert, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and for mentioning our friendly staff and clean rooms. Please review the room description, which describes it correctly as a studio suite with two queen beds, and nowhere mentions it being a two bedroom suite. Our description also indicates that it is only a partial water view. We charge a $10 key deposit for extra keys, which is gladly returned when all of the keys are returned. We do not charge $10 for beach towels, you sign them out for free, and if not returned prior to check out, only then we do charge for them. We have cabanas on our property that are free to use, but there is a beach service not affiliated with the hotel that does rent cabanas down near the water. This service is available up and down the beach. I would welcome you back now that you are more aware of our policies. Robert Czyszczon, General Manager