Ratings based on 877 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by traveler from chicago, il

Nice stay

Posted Apr 9, 2014
My family and I enjoyed our stay at the safety harbor resort and spa. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The hotel is dated but the beds were comfortable and our balcony view of the bay was beautiful. My husband did receive a massage at the spa which he enjoyed; however, when paying the bill he asked how much to tip and they told him 15%. They did not mention to him that an 18% tip was already included!!! I realize he should have checked his receipt, but I feel since he asked they should have explained to him that tip was included. Very dissapointed in that part of our stay. So beware of spa employees!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by 67 yr old from T, fayetteville nc

Great staff, walking distance to eating, bars etc,

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Love proximity to everything, most relaxed , one could sleep forever it's so cozy, walked to lunch@ dinner, staff friendly and efficient $10 dollar 5oz. Beer at pool was a buzz killer-- great facility have all ready recommended to other. Only place in 50 years were no police were ever seen, just seemed safe all along.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vicki from Florida

Saftey Harbor was better than expected

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: The spa, the restaurant, the view, the beds and pillows- best pillow I have ever slept on.
Cons: Robes in the rooms; bellman should have brought ice for us; no fridge in the room- there is a $10 charge / day...why?
Location: Cute little town but since I was there on a Sunday, I can't comment. The area nearby in Clearwater has great shopping. The beach is about 1/2 hour.
I had a very nice time here. The spa is really nice and if you book a treatment or stay at the hotel, you have access to all the amenities. I had a massage and it was reasonable and a very pleasant experience - the personnel made you feel at home. The rooms were very comfortable, especially the beds. We had a nice balcony that looked at the pool and the bay beyond. We spent time at the pool area and had a nice lunch and had an excellent dinner there too. If you stay on a Sunday night, I will warn you that the local area shuts down at 7:00pm, even the restaurants! We ended up at the hotel restaurant that night and was very pleased with the food and price. I will definately go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eddie from Penna

Great Hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Great location
Cons: The menu in the dinning room
Location: Close to Clearwater and the bright house field
It was all we expected it to be and more. The pool, the grill at the pool and the cleanliness
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eddie from Penna

Great Hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Great location
Cons: The menu in the dinning room
Location: Close to Clearwater and the bright house field
It was all we expected it to be and more. The pool, the grill at the pool and the cleanliness
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: I like the pool area. It's very comfortable and that there are lounge chairs on the balconies of the guest rooms.
Cons: See above. Friendlier, more helpful staff would be a HUGE improvement.
This is definitely an older hotel, the hallways and guest rooms have a musty smell to them which I guess you would expect from an old building. The front office staff is less than friendly. I checked in early and when I asked when the room would be ready I was told with somewhat of an attitude..."I don't know, check back in a few hours." I had to probe to find out if we could still use the facilities etc. I would have hoped for a little more courtesy when paying $200+ per night. The restaurant service in unbearably slow. The bartender at the Tiki bar was byfar the best service we received, however, we waited for a long time before we were able to order because he was sitting on a guest bar stool when we originally walked up and we had no idea he was the bartender until 20 minutes later when someone else walked up to the bar and he went around to help them. The spa was a bizarre experience. My sister and I both had the Ultimate Lavendar dream and when we compared notes on our services there were a lot of differences between what we actually had. Her therapist was not good at all, she felt that she wasn't quite sure of what she should be doing. I left my session drenched head to toe in oil. Literally I was squeezing oil out of my hair and had to wash it 3 times before it was even near clean. Far from a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfect for 50 something couple on vacation

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: Loved the elegance and ambiance, as well as the bay view and access to the community pier, where you could see manatees. The bed was great.
Cons: The restaurant was was over priced for what you got. A television channel that broadcast local weather round the clock would be nice.
Location: We were there for Phillies spring training in Clearwater, but also enjoyed the sidewalk chalk competition on main street of Safety Harbor.
I was a little concerned after reading the reviews about how unperson-able the staff was, but we found the staff from the front desk to the cleaning crew to be very polite, helpful and cordial. We loved the ambiance the hotel provided. We found the rooms and facilities clean. The spa was a delight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Katrina from Ocala, FL

Nice place. Fancy without being stuffy.

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Cons: Don't understand the extra resort fees. The price of a stay was plenty already. Spa prices were very high, so did not partake.
Location: Honeymoon Island State Park. Tarpon Springs Sponge Docks
The indoor pool was really nice and they had just updated the look. Loved the whirlpool tubs (especially the stand-up jets). Saw a few manatees at the dock.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Katrina from Ocala, FL

Nice place. Fancy without being stuffy.

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Cons: Don't understand the extra resort fees. The price of a stay was plenty already. Spa prices were very high, so did not partake.
Location: Honeymoon Island State Park. Tarpon Springs Sponge Docks
The indoor pool was really nice and they had just updated the look. Loved the whirlpool tubs (especially the stand-up jets). Saw a few manatees at the dock.
2 out of 5
by buddy & jan from palm bay fl

Needs fixing for the price

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Both sinks leaked, water backed up in both sinks and tub. Shower head was frozen in one setting. Aminities were outrageously expensive after paying too much for the room that was hard to find because there was no map of this sprawling place. We finally was able to hunt one down . Unless you pay to valet park, you get to park your car in a muddy gravel parking lot. Way bad if it rains. Locals and town was very nice.