Ratings based on 916 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philly

Great fun hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2015
We stayed here for spring training. We only stayed the weekend and I wish we stayed longer. Nice friendly staff and nice and clean hotel. It definately is a party place but is completely controlled by the staff. We never had an issue with noise or loud guests. People are there to have a good time and so were we! My sister, over 45. My mother, over 70 and me, over 45 had a blast! I would definetly recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Nice hotel, but very loud

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Nice rooms, pool, hot tub
Cons: Very loud
Location: Close to Pier 60
Shephards beach resort was beautiful, newly renovated, rooms were great! The pool, hot tub and tiki bar areas were also beautiful. However I would not call it a family friendly resort. It was VERY loud, we were overlooking the tiki bar area where they had a live band playing every night. At check in I asked if there was a quieter room when they told me about the live bands and night club and I was told it basically doesn't exist there. The bands were fantastic, but very loud, which made sleeping difficult. The beach area is also very small and not directly on the gulf. We did spend one morning there, but for a nicer larger beach we walked about 1/3 mile. I would return with a group of friends, but not with kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Michagan

Great location on Clearwater Beach

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: The pool was great, lots of chairs and plenty of drinks to chose from!!
Location: great location
We had a wonderful time at Shepard's Resort. The hotel is right on the beach and close to everything. We stayed for only three nights but it was perfect! Our room was on the island side of the hotel so the noise from the Tiki Bar was not as loud as others have stated in their reviews. The room was nice, clean and the maid service was great. We didn't eat dinner at the Ocean Flame as there are so many choices within walking distance to the hotel but heard from others that the buffet was awesome. We did have lunch at the pool bar, food which was good and the drinks were excellent. We will certainly return to Shepard's but will plan to stay longer next time! This hotel is in a great location, we rented a car but really didn't need one as everything is close by. Valet parking is included at no extra charge....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mass.

Beautifully renovated.

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Everything
Staff very friendly. Well located on their own private beach. Nice pool area and entertainment outside in their Tiki hut every night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario

Loved the place

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: I can't say enough about all the staff, they were fantastic. The fish and chips at the bar were great.
Cons: The 4 for room comfort was for silly little things, like, not a single hook in the bathroom to hang your clothes, no towel rake at the sink. I didn't
Location: Valet parking. There was everything in the hotel, but if you can walk for 10 minutes, there was all kinds of shops and bars to check out.
Great place. Small private beach for Hotel. Clearwater Beach was an easy 5 minute walk. Beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maryfrom Cape Cod

Great Find

Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels.com
Great place, very clean, right on beach. All you can eat seafood buffet. Entertainment nightly. Looking forward to another visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tannyfrom novi

If you want sleep don't stay here.

Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels.com
Both Fri and sat night we were woke up at 230 till almost 4 am from guests in other rooms on our floor who were actually yelling and screaming and singing very loud!!! What ever happened to being considerate to your neighbors!!! These were not young guests either they were 30 at the youngest!! Security finally came up on sat pm about 345. But we were already woke. To make it even more insecure the local police sat out in front of shephards Thur,Fri and satpm. It wasn't spring break yet I can't even imagine staying here during spring break if its anything like this!!! This isn't the shephards we've known in the past!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Craiggfrom Mississauga

If you're a resort, be a resort!!!

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels.com
Nice place. Too bad about the rental of chairs and umbrellas on the beach. I expected that to be part of the hotel offering. I get that they want to make more money but it isn't appropriate. Especially since they charge a resort fee. What's that all about? A resort and no beach chaises? C'mon. Get real!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anthonyfrom New York

Great time at Shepard's Beach Resort.

Posted Feb 23, 2015 on Hotels.com
we'll be back!! reading through the reviews of the resort and considered canceling my reservation. Well I am glad we didn't!!! My wife and I enjoyed the live music played daily. My children are 8, 10 and 13 they enjoyed the beach and pool area. The staff was very nice Michael at the front desk, Kayla in the pool area are very helpful, Courtney and baby at the tiki bar were awesome. Our waitress Brianna was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean and new. We are on the second floor overlooking the pool, you can hear the music, but it's not so loud that you can't sleep. If your looking for a place to enjoy the beach and pool and listen to some good music. Shepard's Beach Resort is the place for you. If your looking for a place that's quiet I don't suggest Shepard's Beach Resort. Natasha at the store was very helpful with directions to the closest soccer field. I do suggest opening the poolside bar everyday once you see people laying out or at least offer service from the other bar. People are willing to spend money being served. It's our vacation we want to be served. I was told it gets a little crazy in March spring break time. I don't suggest booking that time for families. You probably won't be happy. One suggestion to the owners is to add an adjustable bench and dumbbells to the fitness area. Also keep the prices adorable to families with kids!!!. Valorie at the front desk isn't a good fit for greeting people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 21, 2015 on Hotels.com