Ratings based on 288 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

expected more for the price.

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: had a very nice breakfast in the morning!
Cons: someone to carry up our luggage 3 flights of stairs. Include the parking fee, should not have to pay for parking when staying there
Location: much more inland, than we had expected. confusing finding the place
lady at the desk was very nice. did not expect to have to pay for parking. parking lot was full of pot holes. no elevator & we found out we were on the third floor. Had to carry up our own luggage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jen from Orlando, FL

AWESOME!

Posted Mar 11, 2014
My boyfriend and I were kind of skeptical at first because the hotel is obviously old, etc. BUT our stay was amazing and we were SO happy with our decision! As a matter of fact, we can't wait to stay again. Yes, the hotel is old, but it is very historic looking and we loved that. The rooms have beautiful vintage furniture and the bed was awesome to sleep on! The bathroom in our room was small, but it did the job and was VERY clean! The staff was super nice and treated us like family. The breakfast was super yummy and we LOVED the coffee machine (makes lattes, cappuccino, mocha lattes, hot chocolate and coffee). The hotel has a front porch, that we totally took advantage of. It was nice to sit outside and enjoy breakfast, etc. Parking was perfect, right next to the hotel, so no issue with that! The location was also perfect! We brought our bikes, so we were able to ride around downtown and sight see. All in all, we can't wait to stay again! Oh and the hotel is part of the ghost tour, but Charles did not pay us a visit... btw, he is a friendly ghost ;-) So for what it's worth, if you are looking for a decent priced hotel with a friendly family feeling, I recommend The Pier!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vicki from Melbourne, Fl

Lots of Charm

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: The hotel was close to a lot of restaurants and shops.
The hotel had a lot of charm. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was exceptionally clean. The bathroom was a little on the small side, but clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JP from Boston

walk to all the "sights" in St. Pete

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: small and close to what we wanted to see
Cons: room a bit dingy, but clean
Location: museums and waterfront
very helpful staff. Made a great suggestion for dinner.
2 out of 5
by Mike from Orlando, Florida

Great Staff ... Poor Facilities

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: The downtown location is great for access to the nearby sites/activities.
Cons: The entire building should be rebuilt.
Location: The exhibitions and museums are our main attractions and we come here once a year.
The hotel staff was great, however, the facilities have long since outlived their capacities. The rooms are very small and do not have central air or heat, but rather have window A/C units and radiant oil heaters. The bathroom facilities are VERY small and not up to standards for a $150 per nite hotel. The hotel has a great location, however, the facilities are well below standards unless you like antiques.
2 out of 5
by DK from Roswell, GA

At best adequate. Not worth the money.

Posted Jan 22, 2014
Quaint hotel but uncomfortable beds, paper thin walls, malfunctioning shower.
2 out of 5
by Alexander from Moscow

Oldest hotel in the city without hot water

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Pros: Location is good
Cons: A lot of thing... Just renovate it up to the star rating please!
Location: S.Pete is brillinat! The place to visit for sure!
I was charmed by hotels long history and good location, plus 45% discount... It results in many things go wrong. Extra payment for parking of my motor bike, well, its ok. The room with window facing opposite wall just in 70 cm, no much light - and I feel that managment provides me the worst room in the hotel, which was much empty, just because I came with EXPEDIA reservation. Im VIP at EXPEDIA - so, here is my room "upgrade"... Well - clean small dark room, without window and sunny day views, lighted by electricity very intimate way, good bed, yes, thanks... And in very small toilet/washer room, too old fashioned (means - cheap, not up to the star rating) - no hot water. Just a bit warmer then the cold one. Very healthy, on the other side.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kate from D

Nice staff, great location, terrible rooms

Posted Jan 14, 2014
The staff were very friendly. Parking and getting downtown were close and easy but the rooms were awful. Paper thin walls had us wake up to not just neighboring rooms but to people in a neighboring apartment building, 2 nights in a row (and even after taking a sleeping pill)! I'm not just talking murmurs but entire conversations and TV shows could be discerned. The shower, which didn't get more than lukewarm water, was broken in 3 sections with only one of these pseudo fixed with duct tape. The entire shower rod kept falling down! And the shower curtain didn't wrap all the way around the rusting tub so water would get on the wall the tub was pushed up against. Overall, not a bad place convenience wise. But definitely not very comfortable. At least there was candy at the front counter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Gordon Baklarz from Mooresville, NC

The Pier Hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was a very nice place. The rooms were clean, the price was right, and the manager was very personable. She went above and beyond to make our stay perfect.