Ratings based on 368 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Stay at the Vinoy

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Facility is very well kept up and staff is both competent and pleasant.
Location: Three museums, dozens of restaurants, and miles of pleasant walks.
My wife and I went to St Pete to rekindle college memories. The Vinoy was a wonderful staging point for two days of walking tours of the bay side of St Pete.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

weekend stay

Posted Aug 25, 2014
pretty good settings with restaurants and museums and history too, though pool side is a bit small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A class act from beginning to end.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
We recently spent two days at the Vinoy. The staff must have checked and seen that my wife and I were married there in 1998. A few hours after we checked in, there was a waiter at our door with complimentary champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries. As if that weren't enough, we later got a letter under the door telling us that each morning of our stay we would receive complimentary breakfast in the superb restaurant. If you insist on free wifi and modern rooms, check into a Holiday Inn. If you're after some old fashioned class, stay at the Vinoy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Pool, room size, cleanliness
Location: Great location downtown on the water!
Wonderful resort type experience! Of course with any resort, everything was over priced, but it was still a great stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NW Florida

Reservations

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Virtually everything else.
Cons: They could have been more accommodating, ie not charge me for the room the first night, or half price for half the beds.
Location: We went for the ballgame but I'm sure there are other things to do
our reservations were made almost 2 months in advance yet our room was not there for us when we got there...4 of us and one king bed! They sent up a roll away but our son in law is 6'5" tall! Them overselling the hotel became our problem!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2014 by Jeanette, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at The Vinoy Renaissance Resort and Golf Club in St. Petersburg, Florida. On behalf of our entire team, I appreciate you taking the time to write a review, but as you can imagine, I was sorry that we were not able to accommodate your request for two beds. Our motto has always been and continues to be that we take care of our guests and their needs. I am hopeful that your visit to the baseball game was a great time and that you enjoyed the remainder of your visit. Please stay with us again in the near future. We would welcome the opportunity to provide a more positive experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sebring fl

Expedia made mistakes on our reservations

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Expedia mistakenly made 2 reservations instead of 1, wrong room and bed size. Hotel was quite accommodating. Did everything they could on their end to correct it. Staff is amazing and their buffet breakfast is out of this world.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Posted Jul 21, 2014
My experience @ the Vinoy Reinassance st Petersburg resort was awsome. The staff was excellent place was super clean. Right in downtown next to many restaurants and shops. Great food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Like walking onto a page from BH&G...

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Beautiful hotel...Staff was great. The food for the most part was good except for our first appetizer which the bread was moldy...they brought a new one out but still charged us for it which I thought we should have been taken off our bill. Pool staff/waiters were great, very attentive without being pushy. The only other disappointment was my spa pedicure. The spa area was clean but my pedicure was really quick with not much fluff...I've paid half the price for a more pampering pedicure. All in all, a very nice stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clearwater, FL

Celebrating 30th wedding anniversary

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: The friendliness of the staff and attention to detail.
Location: The view is stunning, especially if you book a room that faces the bay. Lots of shops and cafe's to see along Beach Drive.
We arrived and were greeted by Adriane who was friendly, cheerful and accommodating. We let her know that we were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. She gave us directions on how to get to our room. Within 10 minutes of arriving in our room, she called to make sure we were pleased with the room. She sent us a complimentary bottle of champagne, flutes and chocolates to congratulate us. We had dinner at the Marchand restaurant inside the hotel. Our waiter, a delightful man from Bulgaria gave us the desserts as an anniversary gift.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by arnie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com