Ratings based on 798 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is on the beach

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Hotel is on the beach, but there is a distance to walk to the water. The Beach isnt taken care of; a lot of sea weed all over it. The hotel has two buildings and building with suits are in poor condition. Staff if friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Great Location

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Great Location, nice pool.
Cons: The Thunderbird needs to hire more staff. Every time I had a quick question, the staff had people waiting and the phone was ringing.
Location: Excellent location on the beach. It also has a great 1-mile paved walking trail. It's also close to John's Pass, MLB (Rays) and minor league games.
Super location on Treasure Island Beach--right on the beach and the renovated 1-mile paved walkway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Great location and value

Posted Jul 22, 2015
This is not the nicest hotel but it is a great value. The reviews are correct about it being an older property, however the location, staff, and amenities make up for that. You can not beat being steps away from the beach and so close to Johns Pass. Restaurants and grocery stores are directly across the street, and the atmosphere is very family friendly. I did not know what to expect, but was pleased with my experience and will stay here again. Thanks Thunderbird!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice hotel near beach, dining, shopping and more!

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Hotel has an on site restaurant with really good Italian food. The tilki bar with live music is right next to the pool! Walk across the walkway and your at the beach, where you can rent covered beach chairs, paddle boards and more! Across the street from the hotel (0.1 miles down) is an amazing seafood restaurant called Middle Grounds Grill which we highly recommend. Then a few miles down the street at Johns Pass is more great places to eat, lots of shopping and more (dolphin watching cruises, sunset cruises ). Its not a 5 star hotel but really nice for a beach hotel. Our family can't wait to go back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old, outdated

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Very disappointed in this "resort"(feels more like a motel). Whole place felt like I was in the 70's. Desperately needs to be updated. Parking was also a nightmare. Not enough spaces for all the guests. On the plus side, the staff was friendly and helpful and it is right on the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great time!

Posted Jul 16, 2015
We had our 3 grandchildren with us and we all had a great time! The staff was wonderful, especially Dani and Missy, the manager. I left my jewelry and camera in the room's safety deposit box and took the key with me, Missy got it our and sent it to me!! Great!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view

Posted Jul 16, 2015
A very laid back atmosphere, lots of friendly travelers hanging out by the pool. There was a wide mix of people, young and old, couples and families. It could use some updates, esp the beds. But overall it was a nice experience. We would go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel on the beach .

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Hotel dated could do with reverb. Great location on the beach in a quieter and less commercialized part of St Pete.( this is good as I feel the building in neighbouring Clearwater to the north & St Pete beach to the south has been too extensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant surprise

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Took a spur of the moment trip to Treasure Island and booked the last room in this hotel. Surprisingly big corner room, clean and updated. Only downside was we could hear all the footsteps from the floor above us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Hotel experience

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Great experience, good time. Can't wait to return. Sad to have to leave.