Ratings based on 1,083 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vernon, Ct

Best Hotel on St. Pete Beach!

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Absolutely everything!
Cons: n/a
Wow! This place is amazing!! It was so much bigger and had so much more to offer than we were expecting! I wish I knew about this place when my kids were a little younger. (They are 12 & 9). This resort has EVERYTHING you can imagine. Life size chess, mini golf, HUGE blow up water slides, best beach, pools, restaurants... I wish I planned our entire trip here. We flew into Tampa. Wanted to spend one day on the beach before heading to Orlando. Again, I wish we would have stayed here for our entire trip. Next vacation - that's exactly what we are going to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: It was right on the beach, the cabana's were great, the activities were fun and the tiki bar the cherry on top.
Cons: The look of the resort is old and needs improvement
Location: Ate at Nori Thai one of the nights and it was excellent Thai food. Another night, we ate at Armani's (Hyatt) and that was a wonderful experience.
The trip was wonderful. Every restaurant that we ate at within the resort had excellent service and food. All the restaurants were on point! The last night there we decided to dine at Palm Court- that was the only below average experience we had our entire trip of 3 nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Family friendly

Posted Sep 10, 2014
The hotel offered many amenities for all ages. Staff were friendly and helpful. The only complaint is that the mattresses should be replaced because they sink in the middle making for an uncomfortable nights rest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

great location, amenities and beach

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: location, beach, comfortable beds and a variety of amenities
Cons: I wish they would paint the lobby at Breckenridge building. Honestly there are better colours but this does not affect your stay.
Location: We go for the beach and for shopping at the outlet mall in Ellenton. There is also the Tyrone Mall and the Macaroni restaurant (yum!)
This is at least my 5th time at the Tradewinds Island Grand. I like that it offers kitchenette facilities, a separate pool for adults and children and great beach cabanas. The restaurants and poolside bars are great with yummy drinks and food. The gym is well equipped and I have never had to wait to use equipment. I used the spa and had pedicures this visit and they were honestly the best pedicure I have ever had.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Never again

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Don Cesar
Walked through the lobby and I had to ask if the place was safe. Very lower socioeconomic and cultural class of the people staying that weekend. Place extremely loud. People near me were throwing furniture out the window and screaming the whole night. Management did nothing. Go to Loews Don Cesar, not 5 stars but acceptable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2014 by Chris, Hotel Management
As the Guest Satisfaction Manager please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations during your recent Labor Day visit to the resort. Due to the fact that it was a holiday weekend, we were at 100% occupancy and had numerous activities on the property scheduled for the extended weekend. With regards to your comments related to the furniture issue, both management and our security department were fully aware of the situation and the guests were dealt with appropriately. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you during your stay, but I can assure you that type of behavior is not the norm at the TradeWinds. Please do not let this one experience prevent you from returning. Sincerely, Chris Metro Guest Satisfaction Manager TradeWinds Island Resort
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bad parking over crowded pools.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Guest should be able to park two cars that was one a few disappointments also one pool was down and the others were so crowded, the room was very clean and there was plenty of activities. I would stay again but on a off season.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Bad cost performance for room

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Close to beach
Although photo of room looks good and spacy, it is very small living room and kitchen as well as bed room. In addition pool is really small. Cabana is provided based on the number of room. We had a suite and one bed room with 3 kids but only one cabana for pair sheet was allocated without no extra cabana even paid.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2014 by Chris, Hotel Management
Please accept my apologies for not meeting all of your expectations during your stay. Our primary goal is guest satisfaction to ensure that our guests thoroughly enjoy their vacation experience. We have many beach activities for to enjoy which include the High Tide Slide, Water Park, JetLev, the Triple Threat (surf board), and “Bucky” the Mechanical Shark to name just a few. We only have a limited number of cabanas during our busy season therefore that is the reason we limit the number available to 1 per room, based on availability. There are also a number of different room types available when setting a reservation directly through the hotel that are explained in detail by our staff depending on what your requests may be and the number of guests in your party. Please do not let this one experience deter you and your family from returning to the TradeWinds. Chris Metro Guest Satisfaction Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Disappointing return trip - untrained beach staff

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: The water slide on the beach was fun. The security guard, Luther, was very helpful and kind when he was finally summoned.
Cons: TRAINING!! The staff on the beach should be trained on how to deal with injuries sustained on the beach. Clean the beach - lots of cigarette butts.
Location: St. Pete's Beach is beautiful.
We stayed at the Tradewinds two years ago, and looked forward to returning to share the experience with our family. We were sadly disappointed. While checking in, we were informed we couldn't get adjoining rooms, but a suite was suggested. The refrigerator didn't work. We asked for maintenance to fix it -- it was never fixed. After checking in, we were directed to another desk to pick up our parking voucher. Once there, we were hit up to sit through a timeshare spiel. We weren't aware that the resort had changed. We were tired and hungry from traveling, then asked to sit through a timeshare pitch. NO thank you! The room was dated, but clean -- the cleaning staff clearly works hard. The suite was fine, except for the refrigerator. The beds were small, but comfortable. There was a lot of construction going on. They were completely re-doing much of the hotel. There are signs at the beach warning about jellyfish and stingrays, if you go -- PLEASE be careful. The staff on the beach clearly doesn't have any training on how to deal with a stingray accident. My son had the misfortune of stepping on a stingray. Not one staff member on the beach knew what to do. One employee suggested we go to the urgent care "up the road". My son was having an allergic reaction, but nothing was done. I had to demand an ambulance be called because he temporarily lost his vision. It was 20-30 minutes before help was summoned. The treatment given on the beach was wrong. Return? NO!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St.louis

my room i booked was changed by hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2014
i have fun at hotel and all the exclusive things at the resort. i did'nt like all the charges on my bill when i checked out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, Florida

Fun for kids but needs a facelift.

Posted Aug 21, 2014
This was a last minute trip for my 5 year old and I. I had heard of Tradewinds but had never stayed. Overall, my son and I had a great time. Now for the price of a standard room, not overlooking the water, and now knowing all of the extra charges associated with that room, it's not the greatest value. Besides the slide, paddle boats, use of pool, cabanas at beach, every single other activity came with a fee. I thought that was a bit much! We pay a resort fee in addition to the room so I feel there should be more activities included. I also feel that for the price paid, the hotel could use a fresh coat of paint. I was disappointed on how run down the buildings looked. I saw people going through timeshare presentations, which I was never hounded on going too, so for that I'm grateful but I don't think this would be a timeshare I would ever purchase.