Ratings based on 1,010 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2014
The hotel is extremely overpriced ... The pools are so small ,I could not believe!! It is a class C hotel trying to be a a class A resort... Didn't work for me..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st louis mo

Beautiful location on the beach

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Very friendly staff for the most part. Lots of kid friendly activities. Hallway outside room had a foul odor at times. Prices were reasonable for a resort. Pools were overcrowded during the day
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York

Clean, resort like hotel right on the beach

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Close access to the beach. Nice Gulf views. Clean, well taken care of resort.
Cons: Non motorized activities (paddle board, rafts) should be included in the resort fee.
Location: We went to the Aquarium in Tampa which was a fun activity.
Our room was clean, as were the pools and facilities. The on site restaurants were good. The beach was accessible right outside of the resort and included numerous available activities. Not all activities were included in the resort fee so you may want to do comparisons if you plan on doing several things.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Something for Everyone!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The staff was excellent and very attentive. The variety of dining options was great. The grounds were well kept and beautiful.
Cons: Only suggestion is a drying rack for swimsuits and towels.
Location: Location was great with shopping and restaurants within walking distance. Car rental nearby was really convenient.
Settled into room and the fun started. Of course, the kids wanted to see the beach first. Had a great time at the pools and several adults did the pub crawl which was a lot of fun. Paddle boats were a big hit for everyone. Seeing the tanks at Guy Harvey was really cool. The boat to Shell Key was nice and ability to book from beach in front of resort made it really nice. Came back with nice shells!! Truly a "Just Let Go" place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal (Canada)

Going back to the '80s

Posted Jul 7, 2014
This is not a resort... it is a bunch of hotels / motels that are part of a complex. Pools are small and activities are below par. I felt like we were staying at a 3 stars hotel. Only good thing was it is located on the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from so cal.

Close to beach

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Free upgrade at check in .. Everybody very helpful ... Free beach cabanas ...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Great Girls getaway.

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Wonderful place. All we needed and more. My opinion it's the 2nd best in St Pete. If you have little kiddos it's the number 1 place. Staff was excellent. My only complaint is that I wish their were more pools. It was a sold out place when we were there (first week in July 2014) so it was packed. Even parking lots are crammed. But that's a minor thing. This was a trip celebrating my daughters 16th and we had a blast. We definately will be back. You can not go wrong by staying here! You pull in you think "hum" but when you go back side by beach there's so much. Big slide was awesome and lots of eating places right there and all was good. Bars were great. Pay same as just about anywhere else for drinks. My opinion Pack a cooler! Shopping areas-- there's a Tyrone Mall or a wonderful outlet mall 30 min at most away from there. St. John's pass. Great place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pa

Great activities for kids, hotel not so great.

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Paid for upgrade for ocean view, room had no view due to palm trees. No hot water for showers. Shower was broke. Staff was rude. Parking attended gave us a difficult time returning back to the resort, because parking lot was full. Swimming pools were small and crowded.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2014 by Chris, Hotel Management
As the Guest Satisfaction Manager for the Tradewinds Island Resort please accept my apologies for not meeting all of your expectations. During the 4th of July Holiday weekend we were operating at 100% capacity, therefore parking was a premium with ALL staff members required to park off property and be shuttled into work every day. Our primary goal at the resort is complete guest satisfaction and when we fall short feedback is greatly appreciated so that we may continue to strive to improve our guest overall stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Altamonte springs

Awesome

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Awesome Stay!!!.Hotel sets on 25acres!! So much to do at this resort...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too hard of a sell on the timeshare

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Wait staff in restaurants were very accommodating.
Cons: Overcrowding, pushy time share people.
Location: Not a very relaxing place to be. Too many people.
I booked this hotel because it was a kid-friendly resort. What I did not expect was the fact that to validate our room key, we had to go to another desk to get offered a meeting the next day to listen to their timeshare presentation. The sales pitch took longer than they said it would and the pressure to buy is pervasive throughout the resort. The pools were always too crowded and the people were a bit trashy. Not a classy resort at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2014 by Chris, Hotel Management
As the Guest Satisfaction Manager for the Tradewinds Island Resort please accept my apologies for not meeting all of your expectations. We promote a family atmosphere at the resort and have designed many activities utilizing the beach to include the water slide, the water park, paddle boards and the JetLev. We have also just recently added our Triple Threat Surfboard attraction and “Bucky” the Shark beach attraction. Our partnership with Bluegreen Vacations allows for our clientele of guests to increase as their company has many properties available throughout the country for their owners and prospective owners to choose from when embarking on the tour of our property. Your comments are greatly appreciated as we strive to always improve our overall guest experience.