Ratings based on 1,055 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from fort lee n.j.

Very nice family style facility on the beach

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Location right on beach,plenty of activities to interest entire family. Staff is very helpful, very friendly. they try to accomodate all requests.
Cons: Food in restaurants is only fair.
Location: Great location on beach. We went to Rays baseball game(15 minutes away), and Busch Gardens(40 minutes away).
Plenty of activities for entire family so long as weather cooperates. Utilized many of the beach activities right up until it got dark. Hard to get kids out of water, they went to bed exhausted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place. Beautiful atmosphere.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
The best resort I have ever visited or experienced.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to beach, diasppointing service

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Definiately the location.
Cons: Customer Service/Staff.
The hotel environment was great - close to the beach, clean, a bit more upscale. My husband and I found the Customer Service to be lacking. We would have to go find wait staff to refill our drinks at the restaurants, long lines, delayed maid service. We had to remind the valet to get our car (in fact, I wish we would have just self-parked, because I felt like our keys were held hostage). The most frustrating part about our visit was that we paid for upgraded balcony rooms, and there was a group of young males that would party until 2am. We would have to make multiple calls down to the front desk, and they didn't really seem too concerned. This hotel could definitely be a "5" rating with better service, but not with the price we paid for the room and drinks/food/activities. I can't say we'd return without a good deal to make up for the service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2014 by Chris, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive comments regarding our many activities on the property. I am sorry that your neighbors prevented you from enjoying your balcony in a quiet and relaxing manner. I wish that you would have reached out to me during your stay so that I could have turned your vacation experience into a positive one, because guest satisfaction is primary goal at the resort. Please do not let this sole experience prevent you from returning to our resort as we have so many activities for both couples and families to enjoy. Thank you, Chris Metro Guest Satisfaction Manger TradeWinds Island Resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Lots of activities

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Great accommodations. Lots of activities, but beware, many activities have a charge. This resort is a timeshare facility with hotel rooms as well. They will want you to go to their presentation to get free activities. We chose not to and paid for what we wanted to do. Who wants to lose 4 hours of precious holiday time on a hard sell?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staten Island, NY

2nd Time Staying Here!!

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Clean, Slide on the beach.
Cons: I would do more music entertainment and fun beach activities with guests. The Salty Bar area is tooo small. At night they need more to do.
If you are traveling with kids, this is the place to stay. If you are looking for a quiet, calm getaway, this is the place. The beach is awesome !!! I would suggest some entertainment on the beach and more for teens to do. The nights can be boring. We went to many nice places for dinner. We would go back again!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, NY

Good hotel next to a beautiful beach

Posted Aug 12, 2014
The beach is beautiful; outdoor swimming pools are nice. Very pacious 2 bed suites; but the carpet is dirty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Qc

Great hotel Great beach

Posted Aug 10, 2014
I would go again for sure. I think we had the best room. Fisrt floor, beach front. Just walk out and on to the beach. The only down side is that everything has a fee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Great Accommodations!

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: We loved the abundance of restaurants, bars and places to go on the property: paddle boats, hammocks, fire pit, etc.
Cons: Having to wear an armband for the duration of our stay and the prices of the drinks at the hotel bars were astronomical!
Location: Crabby Bills was a great place to eat and watch the sunset, Undertow Beach Bar was fun walk to and get a cheap drink, the Dali Museum was great!
We had an excellent stay at the Trade Winds Island Grand Resort. The hotel was hopping with happy customers and very friendly staff. There is plenty to do and lots of great restaurants to enjoy. We preferred to sit on the beach during our stay and had a great time watching others play on the inflatable obstacle courses, jet pack and parasail. Our hotel was so very accommodating of those with gluten sensitivities - I was pleasantly surprised not really having known that and being Celiac, myself. We arrived and found out that all hotel restaurants had their menus labeled with GF options. It was beyond easy to eat and stay here! Loved that we were put in the Breckenridge building, which has the easiest access to the adults only pool area. It was fun to walk to the nearby property - Guy Harvey - for drinks and dinner as well!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Nice Hotel On The Beach

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Location on the beach
Cons: Rooms were small and the rooms with full size beds there is no way a queen size bed would fit in them.
Location: Good location in St. Pete Beach. Lots to do at the hotel and closeby.
This was a nice hotel right on the beach with a lot of pools and activities. This was an older hotel that had been updated but the rooms were not very big and the beds were full size not queen. We had a very uninteresting view from our room could not see the ocean which was disappointing. The elevators didn't have A/C and you almost passed out from the heat going up and down in them. Had a nice beach. The restaurants at the hotel were very high priced I thought. Food was ok nothing really special though. They were trimming trees and bushes one day so a whole section of the hotel was closed off for a long time which included the adult pool.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Simpsonville SC

Room not clean

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Had to be moved to another room during our stay because so many bugs were in the room. Black long hair was in both beds and on the towels in the bathroom. Staff was very helpful in moving us to the other room.