Ratings based on 1,292 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2015
The property is kept well. The rooms were lovely and spacious. There are choices of food venues to match everyone's needs. They are also gluten free friendly!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great beach and activities

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Loved the beach!
Cons: Pools are small and therefore crowded. Would be helpful to have more stations for picking up clean towels on beach/near all pools.
Location: Busch Gardens 40 minute drive.
We stayed 4 nights in May (2 adults, 1 child). This hotel is on a fabulous beach, fun activities such as the inflatable slide and the Adventure Water Park. We also did the parasailing, so much fun! The pools are all very small (and quite crowded) so we stuck to the beach for swimming. Salty's bar is nice for a sunset drink and The Flying Bridge is convenient for an easy family dinner. Rum Fish Grill was fantastic for a special occasion meal. We had an ocean front room in the Breckenridge building. Great view but no balcony.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

Getaway

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: I liked all the amenities that the hotel had to offer.
Cons: No Bluegreen sales people would be nice.
Location: The location was nice.
Tradewinds Island Grand was a very nice resort. If you are looking for everything all in one this is the place for you. The restaurants were very good and the staff gave excellent customer service. The pools were nice and well kept. One thing that I was unaware of was that Bluegreen is in there and want you to tour the facility to buy vacation packages. They had called me prior to our visit and they stand around almost every corner of the hotels trying to talk to you about the tours by giving you free stuff, so if you don't want to be bothered by sales people this is probably not the place for you. They will leave you alone if you tell them you are not interested. But who wants to be bothered on a vacation that you have paid for already. Overall we loved it and will continue to go back. The beaches were amazing and the water so blue. It was a great trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Two bull dogs in next room should I say more

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: Everything except #2
Cons: Not put me next to #2
Location: Excellent
Great time except above #2 The property had excellent grounds and eating facility.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2015
Nice time with great beach location. Walls are a little thin in the rooms as we could hear conversations going on in the next room. Restaurants had good food, and when we had service issues (missed meal, slow turnaround), the wait staff addressed them before we could even bring it up. Kids enjoyed the water slide on the beach. Overall, a great trip and we look forward to coming back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice, no real complaints

Posted May 13, 2015
Very expensive but you got what you paid for; somewhat tiresome that most everything excepting the beach was extra but the place is very beautiful as is the beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, very close to the beach

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: The location and amenities.
Cons: The spa is tiny! I don't think it should be advertised as a "spa" hotel.
Location: There are several restaurants and bars within walking distance of the hotel.
I didn't realize that Trade Winds was actually a time share property, so there was a LOT of vacation planners walking around trying to sell individuals on their time shares. The property itself was very nice, beautiful view to the ocean. I stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with a full kitchen and it was beautiful and nicely kept. We ate at Beef O Brady's on site and it was good. The spa was not what I was expecting in a "spa" hotel, however. It was very small! It was a very nice stay overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Family Experience

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Location, Location, Location.
Cons: The staff was not overly friendly and the activities that were scheduled many times did not happen as they had planned.
Location: The location was fantastic as the Island Grand is centered on Gulf Boulevard and is not far from Treasure Island, Tampa, and many other places to go.
I appreciated the fact that the Island Grand focuses on children and families as we have two young children right now. The amenities were very nice and the rooms were clean. However, the scheduled activities many times did not happen as advertised and staff many times didn't know anything about what was happening... other than that a very nice place to vacation. Great location and beautiful beach!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2015
Fantastic experience! My only issue was not finding a cheaper alternative for breakfast at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Massachusetts

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Been there twice now and will definitely be going back