Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sonia from Cumbria, UK

Good value, hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2012
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Poor soundproofing in bedroom
Location: Handy location for metro, local shops and city centre in comfortable walking distance
Excellent breakfast. Room on top floor so no view out of windows and a bit of a trek up the stairs as no lift. Room not very soundproof - could hear noisy guests in adjacent room. Good location failry near to metro and local supermarkets on the doorstep. Could walk into main city centre in about 20 minutes. Helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by olga from Israel

we loved our stay in the hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2012
Pros: room, location and breakfast
Cons: third floor without a lift
Location: great
we (mum and two children, aged 12 and 15) were in august - location is very good, 7 minutes to nevsky avenue, 5 min to metro, supermarket in near vecinity, our room was very spacious, breakfast was delicious and tasty (recommended - bliny=russian pancakes), but there is three floors and no lift\elevator!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Well-balanced package

Posted Sep 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
Spent 3 nights there and was well pleased for the (promotional) price. Good service, no street noise, no noise from other rooms. Breakfast was fine with a good choice for Westerners. Bathroom clean and adequate hot water. Clean towels and bed linen every day. WiFi worked satisfactorily but wasn't very fast! No lift, which could be an issue for some people, but didn't affect us significantly. Location is very central and close to Metro and many main sights. Have no idea if there might be any language issues with Reception staff as my partner is Russian, so it didn't arise! We would certainly go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by K. from Marousi, Greece

Close to Metro Station

Posted Aug 28, 2012
Pros: Good Breakfast, close to Metro station.
Cons: No Elevator
The metro station is approximately a six minute walk to the hotel. If you are coming from the airport, just hop on to either bus number 39 or 13 and take it to the metro station Moskovskaya on the blue line. Take the Moskovskaya station stop towards the direction Parnas. Exit from the stop Tekhnologicheskiy Institut. Get on the red line Metro in the direction towards Devyatkino and exit two stops down at Vladimirskaya. The hotel is clean and modern. The rooms are of average size for European standards and the showers are also of average size and completely updated. The room was cleaned meticulously every day. The hotel will help you with the Visa confirmation letter and the visa requirements, the cost is approximately 10 Euros. The breakfast is a large buffet included coffee, hot tea, juice, rolls, fresh bread, croissants, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, porridge, scrambled eggs, and Russian pancakes. You can take a mini bus to many of the sights: Hermitage, Cathedral, Park, etc. only 10 minutes away. The front desk speak English alright, but any Russian you know will be helpful in getting the message across. On the whole, residents in St. Petersburg do not speak English very well, so be sure to study key phrases and emergency phrases before coming abroad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Linda & Martin from London

Great base for sightseeing

Posted Aug 2, 2012
Well situated hotel. Clean, modern rooms with air conditioning, constant hot water and free wi-fi. Excellent breakfast buffet. Friendly reception staff and very prompt assistance with visa support before our stay. Would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York NY

Good choice if not perfect.

Posted Jul 29, 2012
Pros: Staff and location.
Cons: Lack of elevator.
Location: About a 20m walk to the historic district
This is a good place to stay outside the main historic district. Overall our experience was good. The staff were especially friendly and helpful and the room was very large. Some caveats: The hotel has no elevator and after a full day walking from sight to sight the long walk upstairs may not appeal to all. The hotel's hot water system cannot handle all who want to shower when the hotel is full. We only had one morning of cold showers but this was an unpleasant surprise. The breakfast is mediocre, although the first day we were there there were more choices (bacon, sausage) than the remaining days. Our door cards kept getting deprogrammed, despite us carrying them apart from other cards, cell phones, etc, after the first incident. This happened 3 times and the long walk downstairs to get them reprogrammed after just walking up, was not so great. Despite these issues I would stay there again. It's convenient, quiet, and the staff do everything they can to ameliorate any problems.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good value, good location

Posted Jun 26, 2012
Pros: Size of room
Cons: Staff
Location: Walking distance of centre
Based on the price that we paid, I have given this 4 stars, as compared other hotels in big cities in Russia, I thought that it was good value, seeing as a decent buffet breakfast and free WiFi was included. It is not a 4 star hotel though, as its services fail to match that quality; yet, with some more thought, training and design, this could easily become a much classier establishment. My room was enormous, but you could not see the TV from the bed, and when I travel, this is one of the perks for me! The carpet did not feel like it was the cleanest carpet that I had stepped upon, but this is also due to its hideous design. The shower was hot and cold, but they do provide bathroom amenities including a shaving kit and toothbrush/paste. Also, I like hotels that provide soap and shower gel in a delivery system, rather than soap bars and shampoo bottles. I think that receptionists should definitely go on a customer service course, as it reminded me of the good old soviet times.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware : many steep stairs with NO elevator.

Posted May 30, 2012
No elevator eliminates this from further consideration. Maybe young people with backpacks will find it charming. 2 70 yr olds with luggage for a 3 week trip found it nearly impossible. Location is great, in a great neighborhood. Expedia should have alerted the no elevator, or remove this hotel altogether.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Clarkie from Coulsdon

5th Corner Hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2012
Pros: The breakfasts and the cheery dining room.
Cons: The stifling heat in the rooms.
Location: Reasonable, if noisy.We were able to walk everywhere. Less enthusiastic walkers would be able to access all main sights easily by public transport.
The hotel was fine, breakfasts good, rooms were a reasonable size but very hot and we were unable to turn the radiators off. There was no hot water on the last morning and we had to ask for our toilet roll to be replaced as it had ran out. The hotel has no lift but help was offered with cases.Some staff were really helpful and some less so,(our experience throughout the city). The position of the hotel was reasonable, if noisy,and we were able to walk everywhere. Less enthusiastic walkers would be able to access all main sights easily by public transport. There is a small but comprehensive 24hr minimarket under the hotel. The tourism fee was 150 roubles per person to register not 60 and needed paying at check in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading

Quiet despite central location

Posted Apr 9, 2012
My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the 5th Corner. The staff were very helpful with our visa application, registration and in ordering taxi transfers. Our room was spotless and tidy. It was cleaned daily. We knew there was no lift which was not really a problem for us but will be for those who do not wish to climb several flights of stairs. Staff will carry your luggage if you ask. Breakfast was OK but nothing special.