Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Decent place to stay

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was a nice plus. Rate was pretty good for st Petersburg, and the room was clean.
Cons: Individual thermostats in rooms
Included breakfast was quite extensive, good variety of food. Room was small, but clean. Bed was fine, though I requested a king and was given a single. The room was warm and I was not able to locate a thermostat. A bit of a walk from the metro, but not too bad.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Anders

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware

Posted Sep 20, 2013
Pros: Staff - quality of food in the German/Italian restaurant.
Cons: Just about everything. Rooms small and not too clean - carpets in the corridor areas worn out - dark and drab interior to the main hotel areas -
Location: Location OK but no main sights within walking distance - 10/15 mins by taxi to main tourist areas. Metro not close.
Large Soviet era hotel circa 1970s. Pros : Helpful staff mainly English speaking - food in the German/ Italian restaurant good quality and not expensive - location reasonable but not withing walking distance of tourist attractions. Cons : Standard rooms very small - if you use the hotel restaurant or large lobby bar you cannot charge to your room so you have to pay case or use your credit card every time you order something. Note : Since August 2013 the hotel is under major reconstruction - some facilities such as the panoramic bar are closed - seems that floor by floor the hotel will be completely refurbished but noise can now be a facor. Recommendation - dont book this hotel until all renovation works have been completed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The average rating paints the accurate picture

Posted Aug 28, 2013
The hotel was OK. Some rooms are recently updated. Rooms are very small though. When I first checked in, they didn't have non-smoking rooms! but after talking to a manager, they found one :). Breakfast was included and had a large menu; however, be aware that this hotel accommodates a lot of large groups so the breakfast restaurant gets very busy in the morning. I stayed in the hotel because of its proximity to where I needed to be, but it is not very close to the downtown (not walkable distance).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Richard from UK

Posted Apr 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a massive hotel. They say the rooms are being refurbished, but mine, inevitably, had not been. So the decor was rather tired. Not much storage space. No kettle, no bottled water. Hair dryer available on request. Free wifi in the rooms. Comprehensive buffet breakfast. Don't drink the water from the taps unless you like a metallic taste with your water. This is a St Petersburg issue, not specific to the hotel. Fortunately, there was a water cooler at the end of the corridor. The website (through hotels.com) says there is a gym / fitness centre in the hotel. There is not. There is a gym next door to the hotel, but that is not included in the price of your room. You have to pay 800 roubles per day (possibly 500 roubles if you use it before 5pm?) Still, it is a proper gym, with lots of treadmills, bikes, loads of weights and machines, spinning room, pool (I think), sauna, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ballet fan

Loved everything about my time here!

Posted Dec 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
Loved every moment of being in this most beautiful city in the world, and the hotel staff were very helpful and great view from my window. Breakfast is so enormous you don't need to eat anything else! Within walking distance of Mariinsky Theatre and many other sights. Wish I was still there!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel from hell

Posted Nov 16, 2012
Pros: nothing
The worst hotel in ST. Petersburg because of the room teperature ,extremely noisey and lack of cleaning
1 out of 5
by Experienced tra from MD

Enjoy St. Petersburg, don't stay at the Azimut.

Posted Nov 11, 2012
Pros: Restaurant was good.
Cons: Everything else.
Location: Remote
My stay on the 11th floor began with stained, peeling carpet squares, rusty shower, and a smelly toilet. Maid service is nearly non-existent. The little TV was broken, staff said their IT person would look into it, never did though. WiFi is sporadic. "Business center" means they let you use one of their terminals on the counter at the front desk for ten minutes. Incredibly noisy, from street traffic to unsupervised kids running up and down the halls till midnight. The room temperature was a constantly over 80 degrees. I have stayed at many lower priced "rustic hotels" but they always have some nice experiences to balance out quality issues. That is not the case here. One positive is that there is a decent breakfast, and the restaurant does serve good food at decent prices.