Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, Il, USA

Great staff, good location, excellent food.

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Very helpful, friendly staff. Wonderful hotel in a good location. Would definitely stay here again. Restaurant was excellent. Beautiful large room with a sitting room. Have travelled a lot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tasmania

Beautiful rooms, excellent food

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: It's not close to major sights but we were picked up each morning so it was no concern to us. We prefer boutique hotels to big chains.
Stayed three nights at this hotel. It was wonderful. A quiet hotel on a canal - had wonderful sleeps here. The rooms were large and nicely decorated. The staff were attentive and spoke good English. The breakfast choice was the best we had in our 2 weeks in Russia. The evening choices were quite extensive and the food was good. Lovely public areas as well. Highly recommended and would stay again. It seems to be popular with business people as well as those on holiday like us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Russia

The best hotel in St Petersburg

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Everything from the stuff till the fireplace
Cons: To open the same hotel in Moscow
Location: Location is perfect cozy emb, close to the Mariinsky theatre and concert hotel and Winter palace
Small luxury hotel! the best of the best Recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peterfrom Graz

A very small and very luxury hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Die individuell eingerichteten Zimmer.
etwas abseits vom Zentrum - aber nah genug- gelegen. Sehr aufmerksame Mitarbeiter lesen jeden Wunsch von den Lippen ab. Wenn man im Urlaub gerne "nach Hause kommt" ist man hier richtig.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Oslo

Kjempekoselig hotell!

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Veldig fint hotell, fine rom, hyggelig betjening, og en god pris. Kunne gjerne vært enda mer sentralt, men det var bare en 20 min gåtur fra hermitasjen og nevskiy prospekt
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrewfrom California

Quite possibly the best hotel in St. Petersburg

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: The staff, the furnishings, the room quality, the caliber of service provided, the breakfast service - all were amazing.
Cons: If they could outfit a small room with something like an elliptical trainer, stationary bike, and some weights or a small gym, that would be ideal.
Location: Less than a half-hour walk to the Winter Palace and many other attractions, as well as many fine restaurants, the location is quite good.
I found every single aspect of staying here to be absolutely delightful. The staff were uniformly helpful, friendly, courteous, and committed to going out of their way to make my visit comfortable and enjoyable. The building itself is a marvel - dating back to 1821, it's rustic interior features wood floors and beams that make it seem like a spacious country home, yet the furnishings are surprisingly cosmopolitan, as though the former owners had traveled all over the world and brought back artifacts for guests to enjoy. The 24-hour service - from check-in to room service to dining and drinking in the restaurant - was a real bonus. I very much look forward to staying at the Alexander House again in the near future - in fact, it's one of the main reasons I am planning to return to St. Petersburg this summer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy

Quite cozy comfortable

Posted Nov 30, 2013
Pros: Authentic, comfortable, quite
Cons: Furniture in the rooms
Location: Very nice and closed surroundings of Nikolsky Carthedral, Mariinka
Very pleasant stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Nausicaa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Furuholmfrom Espoo

Hyvä ja ystävällinen palvelu

Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Ainoa harmi oli liian lyhyt vierailuni. Olisin mielelläni nauttinut palvelusta pidenmpään.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mefrom Washington DC USA

Charming, well run, well-located. I'd come again.

Posted Sep 26, 2013
Cons: A few more rugs on wood floors in passageways to muffle some footsteps.
I spent 4 days here, enjoyed it enormously. The staff is excellent, motivated and professional. Walked to major sites - St. Isaacs, St. Nicholas's, Mariinsky. Slightly longer walk to Sadovy Metro and Nevsky. Breakfast good, coffee also. Professional service, kept track of details, taxi, airport pick up, laundry. Excellent. Would return.