Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Doug and Bev from Melbourne, Australia

interesting hotel, great staff

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Pros: close to everything
Cons: variety of breakfast
The hotel is quite close to everything...churches, the Hermitage, canals, station restaurants etc. The hotel is accessed via stairs, which would make disabled access complicated. The staff speak excellent English and were very helpful with queries, We would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Leeds, Yorkshire, England

Posted Dec 27, 2013
This place is unique, I have previously stayed in modern run of the mill "square block" hotels at places like Moscow, but the Art hotel Rachmaninov is like a small museum, and it gives you the true feeling of being in St Petersburg.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from London

Overall Impression

Posted Dec 13, 2013
Pros: In a word - character.
Cons: I think my only slight criticism would be the bland breakfast, but that shouldn't detract from my overall impression.
Hotel was handily situated within walking distance of all the main St Petersburg tourist spots. Being off the main Nevsky Prospeckt, probably the main road of the capital, it was extremely quiet. Not much imagination went into the continental breakfast, but it was adequate. Hotel staff were all extremely helpful and wanted to speak English at every opportunity. I think it's fair to say that I have never stayed in a hotel of the same character as Art Rachmaninov, but I'll leave the surprise until you get there!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and very well priced

Posted Oct 29, 2013
We enjoyed a short stay at the hotel. The staff were helpful. It is a little eccentric but the location and price are both ver good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

hotel Rachmaninov, St Petersburg

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Pros: It has character and is unpretentious.
Cons: Breakfast choice was limited and items often ran out which meant waiting a long time for more eggs or plates or bread.
Location: Very close to Nevsky Prospect and within walking distance of many of the main sights. Also close to the Metro.
Very central and clean. Helpful reception. The street door is unassuming and it was difficult to find. It would be useful for others to know that it is on the 2nd floor of a building with 4 flights of stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Richard from London

Great location hotel with character.

Posted Sep 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel location is virtually perfect for exploring central St Petersburg and its 2 minutes walk from Nevsky Prospect Station if you want to go further. Rooms are clean and comfortable and the hotel feels stylish characterful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by clare from kingsbridge, devon

very good russian feel and central location

Posted Sep 14, 2013
Pros: We particularly liked the feel that as you entered the hotel you felt as if you were entering historic russia. Nothing had been changed.
Location: Central location for exploring the city on food and using public transport - perfect
the hotel had an artistic 'russian' boutique hotel feel which was exactly what we wanted. The staff were polite, helpful and friendly. My 2 teenage daughters felt happy and at ease which was important to us. Good breakfast. Great, central location for exploring St Petersburg. Very good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CH from UK

Nice hotel - great decor

Posted Sep 8, 2013
Pros: Decor, location, friendliness.
Cons: Sheets larger so don't come off mattresses.
Location: Just by the Cathedral of out Lady of Kazan. a couple of minutes from Nevsky Prospect with its shops, cafes etc. Other 'Sights' are in walking distance
A nice hotel with great decor. Well located just off the main drag of Nevsky Prospect. Don't be put off by the entrance door and stairs. Once you get through the main entrance door on the second floor everything changes! I loved the art on the doors and walls. Staff very helpful and spoke good English. We had a room at the front verlooking the street. A couple of small gripes - the thump of bass from music until the early hours on one or two nights - not the hotels fault - must have been something else in the building - and sheets which are not big enough to properly cover the mattress and come off during the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel in central St Petersburg

Posted Sep 8, 2013
Pros: Welcoming, lots of character, you felt at home immediately.
Cons: Hair dryer in bedroom, rather than on request at reception
Location: The hotel is just off Nevsky Prospect. Access is through an old doorway, and up stone stairs.
The staff were friendly and welcoming; the room was pleasant and comfortable. From the hotel we could reach on foot most places we wanted to visit.