Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Di from London

Great central classy hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: service, location, style classic.
Cons: maybe an in-house currency exchange for foreign money changing although the bank across the street is fine too but closes when you arrive late
Location: very central close to shopping and sights nice walks within vicinity
staff were brilliant and helpful... St petersburg was glorious in the unseasonal sunshine, that atrium cafe is lovely and light and they rushed our lunch so we could get our car in time for the airport and the bar staff were v helpful in recommending the type of vodka which would be best as a souvenir to take home, from the region. All around a beautiful classic hotel, deserves it's rating.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2014 by Grand Hotel Europe, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in the heart of St Petersburg and for sharing your experience with Expedia readers. We value all comments and they encourage us to keep working every day to better our service. We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to Belmond Grand Hotel Europe in a not too distant future. Best regards, Sjefke Jansen General Director
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from Tallinn Estonia

Top Class Business Hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2014
It was a fine stay. Unfortunately, both the Italian and Chinese restaurants in the hotel were undergoing renovations, which is the norm during low season. Luckily, there are a number of very good restaurants within a few minutes walk from the hotel. Oddly, no Sochi souvenirs were for sale in the hotel, even though the Olympics were in full swing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by George from LAS VEGAS

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: Good hotel staff. Most of the people speak English although that was not an issue for us.
Location: Hotel is ideally located in reference to most of the major attractions for St. Petersburg. The Hermitage is within walking distance.
This was my third stay at the Hotel Europe. Probably one of the best hotel's in St. Petersburg Russia. My daughter was only 8 years old the first time we were there. She is now 19. Was amazed at the luxurious surroundings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An outstanding hotel on every level

Posted Sep 19, 2013
I've stayed at 5 star hotels all over the world and expected standard 5-star hotel service. This hotel outperformed on every level. Staff, room design and cleanliness, amenities, room service.. all was just fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Miami Beach, FL

close to all the sights but not a 5 Star Hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location of the hotel is great and the staff is friendly and well trained. The hotel has a dated, past glory look, and does not compare to other 5 Star hotels. Prices are too high and the famed Caviar Bar is a joke in terms of price-to-value relationship
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ed and Marion from Westfield, NJ

OLD WORLD CHARM,LUXURY, AND SERVICE

Posted Aug 22, 2013
Pros: Staff, location, commitment to superior service, concierge, breakfast, room
Cons: Consider making the whole hotel non-smoking.
Location: Location is central city. The Russian Museum and the Museum of Ethnography are an easy walk. Best shopping in St. Petersburg right there.
Great check in, room was large and clean, all the staff were warm and helpful. Had our own Butler. Breakfasts were great and concierge could arrange for anything including trip and transportation. Even got us ballet seats at eighth row center aisle. This trip was truly a fairy tale come true due to the Grand Hotel Europe, St. Petersburg, and Russia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Wilton Ct

A grand old hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beautiful old hotel, worthy of 5 star rating, but all hotel amenities are very expensive indeed, be warned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from MAdrid (Spain)

Perfect Location

Posted Aug 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Located close to all interesting places. excellent service and very beautiful building and venues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Yuri

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Perfect base to explore

Posted Mar 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great staff and more than willing to help on whatever was needed. Location good as a base for walking. Perfect beds, dream sleeps!