Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Julie from Danmark

Godt hotel til prisen

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels
Hotellet var rent og pænt, og der var engelsktalende personale i receptionen. Morgenmaden var ikke særlig lækker, og man måtte ryge i morgenmadsrummet, hvilket kunne lugtes på alle gange. Men til prisen er dette hotel fint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great choice!

Posted Mar 15, 2014 on Hotels
We were absolutely satisfied with Comfitel Alexandria! The bedroom and the bathroom are big, clean and warm. The breakfast is also satisfactory. In general the staff was nice, they gave us extra bottled waters when we asked for it, and they didn't take away the breakfast although we arrived in the last minute to have it. The hotel is very well located (one metro station from Nevsky Prospect) However, it can cause inconvenience that most of the staff doesn't speak English so get ready with basic Russin knowledge! The hotel is on the second floor and there is no elevator but it's bearable, I think... So after all I can highly recommend this hotel to everyone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 4, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2013 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Stalker from Helsinki

Hinta ja sijainti harshoo

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels
Oma huoneeni oli vahvasti homeessa, kai kokolattiamatto. Tyttärellä sensijaan toisesssa kerroksessa erittäin miellyttävä huoneisto samaan hintaan, joka oli edullinen. Aamiaisen voi unohtaa tai sitten pitää sitä pittoreskina kun pienessä huoneessa sauhutellaan vieressä, huone täynnä tupakan savua vaikka seinässä tupakointikieltokyltti, kahvi karmeaa ja keittiöhenkilökunnan palvelualttius noudatti neuvostoperinteitä. Resepsuunityttö kyllä hymyili ?! Vaikea löytää varsinkin pimeään aikaan kun kadulla ei ollut minkäänlaista kylttiä !!! Sijainti ja hinta mielestäni hyvät, uudelleen en valitettavasti uskalla mennä, pelkään että saan jälleen sen homeisen huoneen. Periaatteessa kyllä pidin.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Oct 5, 2013 on Hotels
location is really good but you shouldn't expect something else from this hotel. ladies on the reception, they are really helpful. on the other hand this hotel does not deserve 3 stars at all. Do not take the room of 1 or 2 which are closer to reception. because room number 2' toilet smells very bad. and you could all the time hear noise from outside and door bell.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from World traveller

Typical Russian conditions

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Pros: Location to the Hermitage and other sites.
Cons: Everything except the staff.
Location: See above
The staff were very good. The location of the hotel to sight see was good. That's it. The bathroom smelled of sewage and there was brown water leaking from under the shower stall. Getting to the reception area required a climb up old concrete steps (from USSR days vintage) - no elevator/lift. It was even difficult to recognize the hotel was located behind an old black steel door that required a buzzer to be rung before you could enter. In spite of no smoking signs in the breakfast area people smoked. In fact some of the hotel staff also smoked during their shifts at the front desk and lounge area. I think smoking is a typical Russian habit that is prevalent almost everywhere including almost all the restaurants. This hotel rating is at best 1/2 and should be taken off the Expedia site altogether.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Franck from London

Average hotel but great location

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels
Do not expect much from this hotel but at least you will be centrally located and can walk to all the main sites. It was not very easy to find, only a small sign saying Alexandria on a closed black door indicates that you are at the right place. Then you have to walk up 3 floors, so if you have heavy luggages, be ready! The offer "breakfast included" is always attractive but when you see what the breakfast is... Economy everything (milk, bread, yogurts) kept in the open for 3 hours every day and not in a fridge which is basic hygiene for dairy products.. Our room was close to the reception area and breakfast areas which allow smoking so we had the cigarette smell coming in our room, not great when you've asked for a non smoking room. So to be honest, its all about budget and location for this hotel. And the staff was quite nice.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eric from Barcelona

Mal olor

Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels
El baño olia muy mal y ni con ambientador mejoraba. La cama no era doble como se anunciaba. La entrada bastante cutre. Lo mejor la ubicación. Lo demás sin problemas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by dazzler197 from Carlisle

Great location

Posted Aug 26, 2013 on Hotels
This hotel was difficult to find on the street. It was clean and reception staff were exceptional. They can understand and speak a little English and they managed to order us tickets the night before a performance of the Russia state ballet. The breakfast is basic. Bread or toast, 1 type of ham and cheese. You could also order fried eggs and a hot dog sausage. There is free wifi and for the most part it worked. You have to be buzzed in the hotel each time which is ok but a little annoying. The bathroom had a bit of a smell to it. There are no English channels on the tv. It was definitely good value for moeny.