Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Scary looking hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Location was good.
Cons: Front entry should be made to look like a safe hotel. Some rooms need to be rehabilitated.
Hotel front is a steel door, with no windows. When you are buzzed in, you have to walk through a run down set of stairs. When we were told to walk in, it looked so unsafe that we had to have the receptionist come down for us to make sure it really was a hotel. One of the 2 rooms we had had a very musty odor. Very expensive for a low grade hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from World traveller

Typical Russian conditions

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Pros: Location to the Hermitage and other sites.
Cons: Everything except the staff.
Location: See above
The staff were very good. The location of the hotel to sight see was good. That's it. The bathroom smelled of sewage and there was brown water leaking from under the shower stall. Getting to the reception area required a climb up old concrete steps (from USSR days vintage) - no elevator/lift. It was even difficult to recognize the hotel was located behind an old black steel door that required a buzzer to be rung before you could enter. In spite of no smoking signs in the breakfast area people smoked. In fact some of the hotel staff also smoked during their shifts at the front desk and lounge area. I think smoking is a typical Russian habit that is prevalent almost everywhere including almost all the restaurants. This hotel rating is at best 1/2 and should be taken off the Expedia site altogether.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Franck from London

Average hotel but great location

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Do not expect much from this hotel but at least you will be centrally located and can walk to all the main sites. It was not very easy to find, only a small sign saying Alexandria on a closed black door indicates that you are at the right place. Then you have to walk up 3 floors, so if you have heavy luggages, be ready! The offer "breakfast included" is always attractive but when you see what the breakfast is... Economy everything (milk, bread, yogurts) kept in the open for 3 hours every day and not in a fridge which is basic hygiene for dairy products.. Our room was close to the reception area and breakfast areas which allow smoking so we had the cigarette smell coming in our room, not great when you've asked for a non smoking room. So to be honest, its all about budget and location for this hotel. And the staff was quite nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by dazzler197 from Carlisle

Great location

Posted Aug 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel was difficult to find on the street. It was clean and reception staff were exceptional. They can understand and speak a little English and they managed to order us tickets the night before a performance of the Russia state ballet. The breakfast is basic. Bread or toast, 1 type of ham and cheese. You could also order fried eggs and a hot dog sausage. There is free wifi and for the most part it worked. You have to be buzzed in the hotel each time which is ok but a little annoying. The bathroom had a bit of a smell to it. There are no English channels on the tv. It was definitely good value for moeny.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maria from Montreal, Quebec

St-Petersburg experience 2013

Posted Jul 20, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Stairs :)
Location: it was well situated to metro transportation
Although a bit difficult to find the hotel initially it is quite well situated to metro transportation. The people were very kind and helpful. A drawback is that you have to climb stairs so a bit difficult with luggages. But other than that, the rooms are very comfortable and spacious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Idaho

Nice hotel for the price

Posted Jun 24, 2013
Pros: friendly staff; clean rooms, good location
Cons: an elevator, more variety with breakfasts
Location: about a block from a main street with a big metro station. Lots of stores nearby and a beautiful park about 10 minutes by foot from the hotel.
This was my first visit to Russia and finding the hotel was a little challenging due to the address system. However, all the hotels have the same addressing system. The hotel is located very near a major Metro station and about a 10 minute walk to the main downtown area. Without an elevator, it was a little hard carrying my bags up three levels to the reception area. However, once there everything was very good. The staff was very friendly and helpful; the room, while not large, was very clean and well kept. The included breakfast was a bit limited compared to other hotels, but was satisfactory. Overall, considering the price, it was a very positive experience. If I travelled to St. Petersburg again on a limited budget, I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

evaluation of stay

Posted Jun 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
not happy--infact almost too frightened to get out of taxi on arrival. walked up 3 flights of stairs and "buzzed" into "lobby". it was not what i had expected it to be. if our traveling companions were not at the w hotel where there were English speaking people and a functioning concierge desk we would have been at a complte loss.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Overbook

Posted May 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
We could not come in our room in 24 hours because of onother guest