Ratings based on 462 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice place to relax

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Views, pool, bar on the beach, clean
Location: Good to walk to airport without worrying about taxis.
After a week on a boat, it was nice to come to this hotel and relax. The views were amazing and the staff was friendly. The facilities are very good as well. We only spent one night here because of its location to the airport (you can walk there). Wish I had time to use the beautiful pool. Would stay there again for one night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2014
The room was not cleaned one day. The shower pressure was terrible. On Saturday the hotel run out of towels for guest to use. They cleaned the room and did not leave any clean towel. One receptionist on the night shift was rude and not helpful at all. I will never stay at the hotel again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

St Thomas vacation

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Close to airport. Close to town. Secluded beautiful beach. Rooms clean, pretty. Inexpensive. All rooms with ocean view balcony and chairs/table.
Cons: Restaurant staff wasn't friendly, high-priced, food not good, slow...
Location: Beach is fantastic. Airport half mile. Charlotte Amelie 2-3 miles. Cabs out front or walk about half mile to $2 buses.
First time to St. Thomas, and settled on this hotel for great price and closest to a good beach. Five minute cab from from airport. Can walk from there if not too hot or too much luggage... Friendly folks at desk. Only three floors, room easy to get to, great a/c, attractive, all rooms have balcony/table/chairs and ocean view. Restaurant was overpriced, slow, and food not so great, but the hotel bar (also directly on the beach) had great drinks and its own menu -- everything we tried was good except burgers. (Try tacos, wings, salad or pizza.) Bartenders are friendly and interesting. About a half a mile up the road is a convenience store, and a little further you can catch a $2 bus into town, or stay on it and circle the island...Otherwise, cabs in the hotel parking lot ready to take you anywhere, but ask up front how much -- price varied wildly with each driver to go to the same place. Frenchtown is a mile up the road, and Charlotte Amalie is a 15 minutes ride. Ask them if cruise ships are in because if there are several ships docked the crowds will be insane. And some shops are closed if no ships are in... We had a quiet Saturday -Tuesday with barely anyone on the beach with us, but on Wednesday five cruise ships docked and our beach and hotel grounds were suddenly flooded with passengers renting the hotel chairs/umbrellas, totally filling the beach. I'd have hated this trip if they were there the whole time. Otherwise this was a really great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice location and swimming beach.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Beach is clear and clean. All rooms are ocean view.
Nice location and close to the beach. Clean beach is nice for swimming and laying out. Hotel room was clean and a nice size. Did not encounter any Wi-Fi issues. Hotel is close to the airport and a short drive to downtown. Food and beverage prices are comparable to island cost. Layout of the hotel flows well. Workers continue to clean walk ways and common areas throughout the day. Landscaping nice in appearance. We divided our time at the island between BW Emerald and a hotel on Bolongo Bay. We enjoyed our time at BW Emerald for our honeymoon. We enjoyed the beach so much we came back for a day to get away from misquotes and sand fleas and poor beach swimming conditions on Bolongo Bay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new Jersey

Best Western Emerald Beach

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Hotel is right on beach. However, I'd not stay there again since it's removed from downtown area and red hook. Also, all inclusive is not an option. Also restaurant and bar hours could be later than 10pm. Stay was very pleasant. Facilities need an upgrade.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Maria, CA

Close to the airport, beautiful beach, awesome bar

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Convenient location. Room was clean, bed was comfortable and shower was great. We loved the bar area. Food was good at the bar and bartenders were really fun. Great views of a beautiful beach. Overall, staff was helpful. Easy to get a taxi at any time. We would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Texas

Convenient to airport - everything we wanted

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: We LOVED the view and easy access to the beach. We ate every meal at the hotel and were never disappointed. Clean, convenient, great bargain.
Cons: Restaurant food was very good and staff was friendly, but service was slow every time we went. Don't go if you are in a hurry. Practice "island time."
Location: Convenient to the airport and easy walk to catch a bus into Charlotte Amalie if you want to skip the cost of a taxi. Tree Limin' zipline is a must.
We chose this hotel because it had a private beach and was conveniently located near the airport. We didn't want to pay the taxi fees so we walked the 1/4 mile from the airport to the hotel with one large roller bag and three carry-ons. We had no problems -- sidewalk the whole way and the entrance to the hotel was clearly marked. The hotel included free wifi which we never used. The room was clean, the a/c was nice and cool and we had a gorgeous view of Lindbergh Bay. We stayed for six days and had no issues until the last day when the water to our building was cut off but it only lasted about 30 minutes. After it was turned back on there was a weird clicking sound like metal on metal or some kind of pump but since it was our last night there, it didn't really bother us. If it had happened sooner during out stay, we may have asked to switch rooms, though. The hotel staff was always friendly and the hotel is very resource-conscious. There are recycle bins throughout the property and signs describing the local plant and animal life so you can learn about and have a greater appreciation for the natural beauty around you. We read reviews prior to our trip about cruise ship patrons using the beach and occupying chairs but we found that wasn't a problem. If anything, we noticed more locals using the hotel's private beach. Surprised to see cats, iguanas, and chickens running about. The lady at the boutique helped us schedule a St. John site-seeing trip and a zipline excursion. FUN!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Needs updating. Rooms are dark and dingy. TV was not in good condition.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norman, OK

I would stay here again!

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Lovely hotel and great private beach! I would recommend to all- especially honeymooners.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Juan, PR

Good beach hotel with the best staff ever!!!

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Our stay was amazing. Traveling with kids can be challenging but the staff made everything great. The facilities are not perfect but the place is clean and all the rooms have a beautiful ocean view. I am already planning my next vacations there.