Ratings based on 451 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new Jersey

Best Western Emerald Beach

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Hotel is right on beach. However, I'd not stay there again since it's removed from downtown area and red hook. Also, all inclusive is not an option. Also restaurant and bar hours could be later than 10pm. Stay was very pleasant. Facilities need an upgrade.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Maria, CA

Close to the airport, beautiful beach, awesome bar

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Convenient location. Room was clean, bed was comfortable and shower was great. We loved the bar area. Food was good at the bar and bartenders were really fun. Great views of a beautiful beach. Overall, staff was helpful. Easy to get a taxi at any time. We would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Texas

Convenient to airport - everything we wanted

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: We LOVED the view and easy access to the beach. We ate every meal at the hotel and were never disappointed. Clean, convenient, great bargain.
Cons: Restaurant food was very good and staff was friendly, but service was slow every time we went. Don't go if you are in a hurry. Practice "island time."
Location: Convenient to the airport and easy walk to catch a bus into Charlotte Amalie if you want to skip the cost of a taxi. Tree Limin' zipline is a must.
We chose this hotel because it had a private beach and was conveniently located near the airport. We didn't want to pay the taxi fees so we walked the 1/4 mile from the airport to the hotel with one large roller bag and three carry-ons. We had no problems -- sidewalk the whole way and the entrance to the hotel was clearly marked. The hotel included free wifi which we never used. The room was clean, the a/c was nice and cool and we had a gorgeous view of Lindbergh Bay. We stayed for six days and had no issues until the last day when the water to our building was cut off but it only lasted about 30 minutes. After it was turned back on there was a weird clicking sound like metal on metal or some kind of pump but since it was our last night there, it didn't really bother us. If it had happened sooner during out stay, we may have asked to switch rooms, though. The hotel staff was always friendly and the hotel is very resource-conscious. There are recycle bins throughout the property and signs describing the local plant and animal life so you can learn about and have a greater appreciation for the natural beauty around you. We read reviews prior to our trip about cruise ship patrons using the beach and occupying chairs but we found that wasn't a problem. If anything, we noticed more locals using the hotel's private beach. Surprised to see cats, iguanas, and chickens running about. The lady at the boutique helped us schedule a St. John site-seeing trip and a zipline excursion. FUN!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Needs updating. Rooms are dark and dingy. TV was not in good condition.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norman, OK

I would stay here again!

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Lovely hotel and great private beach! I would recommend to all- especially honeymooners.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Juan, PR

Good beach hotel with the best staff ever!!!

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Our stay was amazing. Traveling with kids can be challenging but the staff made everything great. The facilities are not perfect but the place is clean and all the rooms have a beautiful ocean view. I am already planning my next vacations there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Nice hotel and staff. They allowed us to switch our room for a better view when we arrived. No complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Convenient to the airport

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: 5 minutes to the airport
Cons: stock the drink machines, add a few more servers to the staff. Two people to handle a Sat. night crowd is not enough.
Location: only here for the night but the nearest store for a coke was a 10 minute walk. This is a place where you stop on your way to your final destination.
We were leaving Tortola after a bareboat charter and didn't want to rush onto a ferry and rush to the airport, so we stayed in STT at the Best Western Plus prior to departure. Good idea. Liesurely pace getting from Tortola to Charlotte Amalie harbor, a 10 min taxi ride and you're almost within walking distance of the runway but our room overlooked the water. Cold air, nice bathrooms, nice grounds, good dinner at the hotel restaurant. Beach is wide and water is very calm Servers were very busy and service was slow. No cokes in either drink machine and no convenience stores nearby
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Has one of the best beaches

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Great people. Airport very close. Extremely nice rooms. Will definitely come back again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Decatur, Alabama

Best Western all rooms are close to the water.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Being close to the water.... the view is not bad either!
Cons: the swimming pool is in need of repair and dinner at the restaurant is bad no matter what you eat. breakfast buffet is ok.
Location: Trunk Bay on St John island is good and Coki Bay on St Thomas is real good snorkeling lot's of fish in the water.
St Thomas has free range Chicken all over the place. and you can get awakened by roosters crowing.