Ratings based on 519 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice getaway

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Beach was great. Bar was relaxing, but a bit pricey. The only problem was the location to town. No shuttles and cab fares added up fast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Benton, AR

Right on the beach

Posted Mar 18, 2015
First trip to the islands but I feel confident we picked the best place to stay! Right on the beach. Friendly and helpful staff. Great food. Beach bar convenient to the pool and beach. When we go back we will definitely stay at Emerald Beach!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Massachusetts, USA.

7 Nights

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Clean. Pool. Beach. Availability of beach chairs and shade. Decent food. Hotel personnel were friendly.
Cons: Elevators might be nice. However, when we arrived the hotel staff was nice enough to bring our luggage directly to our room on the second floor.
Me, my wife and 3 year old son stayed there for 7 nights. We have no complaints about this resort. The room was clean, the decks for all rooms face the beach, the beach was nice, beach lay-down type of chairs were available and hotel staff always re-organized the beach chairs at end of each day. It's close to airport so while you are on the beach you will have fun watching some airplane flights taking off. Not too worry about noise; only about 5 throughout the day that make any significant noise, for example Jetblue Airbus A320 size of planes. It's quiet at night and in the morning; fell asleep to the sound of the ocean. The pool was nice; it was close to the beach. The restaurant and bar face the beach; the food is decent. (Having visited a few restaurants in STT, I noticed they don't always stock everything that is listed on their menu. Food prices are a little higher compared to USA mainland. If you visit nearby St. John, like we did, I recommend a 4x4 Jeep since there are lots of hills there. One important note, driving is on the left side of road.) The hotel had beach towels available at the lobby. The room had a small refrigerator and small kitchenette type of sink area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick break from the winter

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Cons: THE WAIT STAFF IN RESTAURANT WAS LESS THAN EXPECTED. SEEMED TO CARE LESS ABOUT TAKING CARE OF YOU. THERE WAS NO PLACE TO GET COLD DRINKS / SNACKS
Its a nice place- PROS CONS GOOD FOOD RESTAURANT STAFF UNENTHUSIASTIC NICE BEACH FOR SWIMMING SNORKELING WAS JUST OK VERY CLOSE TO AIRPORT LOTS OF AIRPLANES-BUT STILL QUIET PLENTY OF THINGS TO DO WAVERUNNER TOUR WAS LAME CLEAN NO PLACE TO GET SNACKS 2 VENDING MACHINES FOR ENTIRE HOTEL
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Carolina

Nice hotel with beach front excess.

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: Close to the airport and downtown Charlotte Amalie
Cons: The resturant should open earlier 6:am and close later 10:pm Get rid of the cheap plastic shower head
Location: Charlotte Amalie, Frenchtown, MountainTop, and Red Hook all nice places to visit
Very attractive hotel very close to the airport, about a ten minute ride to downtown Charlotte Amalie. The staff was very friendly, helpful and informative.Had problems with the shower and refrigator. The staff took care of our problems immediately. Our room didn't have the advertize free wifi connect. We had to use the internet in the lobby. Wasn't happy with size of the refrigator. Couldn't barely hold a six pack of drinks.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom wi

Great place to stay- avoid the bartender

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: As above
Cons: The female nighttime bartender needs to go. Save your money and walk 100 yards down to the beachcomer for great drinks and better service.
This was my second time to this hotel on STT. First trip was perfect, second trip, almost perfect. All rooms overlook the ocean, all rooms are clean, it is in a safe location and close to the airport, and for the most part, the staff are very pleasant- see next paragraph. If it wasnt for the behavior of a particular employee- we would definitely come back a third time...as it is, it is probably time to try someplace new. OVERALL for the price however you REALLY can not beat BW at emerald beach. Now the but- we will not be coming back. We were treated so rudely by the female night time bartender that it just about ruined our experience. This may not sound like a big deal but when you choices are limited by location, it is a big deal. There is no reason to throw a temper tandtrum and throw a broom against the bar at your patrons when you are ordering food or a drink. Maybe she was busy...there were 2 people at the bar- she acknowleged us after 2 hours and never came back to see if we needed another drink. Maybe it was a bad night for her personally...well the next night was worse! Again no one at the bar, she pratically threw drinks in our face, left the bar for 40 mins, then another 2 hour wait for the tab- we gave her tip to the busboy. All the other bartenders there are really great...but if she is working...save your money and walk 100 yards to the beachcomer down the beach. We took our money, went next door and gave them our business- 100x better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Vermont

beach hotel

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: pretty, location, beach, friendly faces......wi-fi
Cons: radio, clock not working even when asked to be fixed.....
Location: 2nd trip in two years for 2 weeks.....saw the island first trip, relaxed 2nd....swimming....sunbathing.....
1991 hotel needs renovation in off season....room by room.....sink top busted, cabinet door opening for refrigerator wobbly, tv channels limited....service in bar and restaurant slow...food served hot..nobody on island serves ice cream or bread except toast for breakfast....hotel near airport...saved vacation as we arrived really late...nice beach, water very clear....bar and restaurant a few dozen steps to water.....expensive, luxury hotel....taxis very good....prices mid range...comfortable sleeping....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Narragansett, RI

Just what we were looking-for

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Beachfront. Uncrowded, clean beach. Nice, simple, clean room. Just plain nice - nothing fancy, nothing bad. Breakfast was good.
Cons: Need to shift from two double beds to two queen beds, and while comfortable I think our bed was a bit broken. Not a lot to complain about though!
Location: Don't bother with the Charlotte Amalie shops unless you have to. Do Tickles for dinner. Drive to Magens Bay - after 5pm.
We wanted a short trip away from the 3 feet of snow in our front yard. This Best Western was perfect. It could use some updates, and it is probably too much to ask for complimentary skin diving equipment, but we were on the first floor, right on a very nice, surprisingly-secluded beach. The staff were all very nice. We enjoyed our stay very much. Rent a car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Nice beach and pool

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Really enjoyed my stay the beach was nice the pool was great and the bar was amazing. Bartenders were so nice!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas

Great beachfront resort

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Great rooms with beachfront balcony's. On site bar and restaurant. Food was great.
Cons: Didn't appear to be handicapped accessible, as needed to carry bags up and down stairs to get to rooms.
Location: Close to airport. Cost of taxi from the ferry dock is about the same as it is to the airport. ($9.00 per person)
Great place. Has great pool and beach. Friendly staff.