Ratings based on 314 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by britt from seattle

Perfect Beach Hotel for R&R

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Dive shop on-site, good restaurants, easy activity booking and beautiful private beach
Cons: Covered hammock cabana! Shuttle from airport, most uncomfortable part of trip. Taxi from airport was rude, expensive and unbearably hot.
Location: Nothing nearby, must take taxi to access most anything. Great beach activity though. Quiet
Clean room, friendly staff and great beach. 3 good restaurants nearby. So-so night activities at Iggies but they do book decent talent for evening entertainment. All staff are more than willing to help with anything you need or activities you wish to line up. Bring bug spray!! And lots of money for taxi service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice, but shortcomings

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Location: It is a bit hard to get to.....but it seems like everything is on St Thomas. Driving is an adventure. Roads are very steep, curvy, not well marked.
The best thing that can be said about this resort is that it is right on top of the beach with beautiful views from the ocean side rooms. The building is showing it's age. Tiny shower stall, with no tub. It is nice that a large variety of water "toys" are available free of charge, such as kayaks, paddle boats, etc. All staff are pleasant and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by grover from l'ville, KY

quiet or lively, whichever you desire

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Slow paced, relaxing atmosphere
Cons: "fit and finish" of room
Location: Lobster Grille & "Iggy's" a perfect compliment.
Great if you want to spend a week RELAXING with momentary spurts of live entertainment or water sports. Didn't get into town to shop or check out local flavor (didn't want to). PROPERTY STAFF IS GREAT... Family ownership and pride in their product is pervasive. The room we occupied was fine for us... can't review others, but "fit & finish" were just OK. Housekeeping staff was perfect.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lee from Seattle

Large beach with good beach activities available.

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Enjoyed beach activities, Iggies service, turtles, excursions on catamaran, setting for wedding, and quality of food served.
Cons: Rooms are old, but have fresh paint. Plumbing, floor tile, louvers, door screen all had problems. Service in the Lobster Grill was painfully slow.
Location: Balongo Bay is half-way to Red Hook and the ferry to St. Johns. Taxi service is easy to get to other beaches with better snorkeling.
Spent a week on the all-inclusive plan. Enjoyed the beach and water activities before and after a beautiful family wedding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kat from PA

Older resort but in good shape

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Had all inclusive. Great menu at both restaurants. You can snorkel within 20 some feet from shore and see sea turtles! Iggie's bar was a lot of fun. Carnival night at Iggie's on Wed. night was fun for all ages!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jill from Queensbury, NY

I love this place.....

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Cons: I am not a big eater, don't like to through away food...small plate options would be nice.
Location: We like to stay put and enjoy the beach!
If you are looking for a casual, relaxing, escape from reality...this is your place. You are just steps from the ocean, the dining is all open air, nothing is rushed, food was great, snorkeling off the beach was good....saw lots of turtles! A true "beach" vacation.... Thank you Bolongo Bay family, for not buying into high tech hype and keeping this little slice of paradise real.
3 out of 5
by retiree from los angeles

nice hotel at beach

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: beach side available
Cons: front staff more helpful resturants foods are bad very expensive bath room improvement
Location: near by nothing you should take taxie no resturants
shower is terrible bath room utilities old no shops around
1 out of 5
by Kathleen from Ca

Run down

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Cons: Everything.
Stayed 8 years ago since then very run down. Room over priced lights didn't work sliding door broken. Our friends window fell out of the casing on her. Restaurant extremely slow took over an hour to get food at breakfast and dinner. Last time we stayed the staff was excellent. Very disappointed. Phone in room was broken and no hot water in master bath so there sound like 735.00 worth for one night!! Lovely huh......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On the beach

Posted Feb 21, 2014
We cant wait to go back! The resort has 2 excellent restaurants and I would definitely recommend all inclusive as there is not much else around unless you taxi. Both restaurants are open air which is wonderful, you always have a incredible view. The staff is awesome, helpful and fun. The rooms are "beachy" a tad out dated but who goes to St. Thomas to hang in the room? Seriously, its totally fine. We went on the resorts sail boat to Buck Island to snorkel and swim with the turtles, would definitely recommend this! The crew was great and offered open bar/snacks on the way back. I just got home and already wanting to go back to this resort! A definite GO!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Michigan

Relax and enjoy!

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: Location, staff friendly and helpful, food dynamite.
Cons: Perfection for us - not ultra-modern but prescription for peace, tranquility, beauty.
Location: A few short paces to the bay, catmaran outings a joy, some fun entertainment at Iggie's, Lobster Grille food and service outstanding.
First rate experience to relax and enjoy the Caribbean, the very definition of peace.