Ratings based on 202 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Excellent resort. Snorkeling was fantastic. Rooms are comfortable. Grounds are beautiful. There are Deer, Donkeys and Iguana's.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything Is Awesome

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Everything was awesome! Just go to Cruz Bay and buy your water! Prices very high for bottled water on site.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Berks County, PA

St. John resort next to the National Park

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: The beauty of its location, the many excellent stretches of beaches, the cleanliness of the resort.
Cons: A quicker resolution to a room problem would have been nice; service in the one resort restaurant was agonizingly slow.
Location: Beautiful location, next to a national park.
After some early room issues, we were able to settle in and enjoy all the beauty the Caneel Bay resort had to offer. The USVI National Park, located next to the resort, gave us the chance to hike and experience flora and fauna of the island. The beaches on the resort were excellent--clean, clear blue waters with fine sand. Food and beverage locations were adequate. The best on-site restaurant was NOT owned by the resort, and it offered excellent food and drinks. The tennis complex was well-kept and well-run; we did not visit the fitness center.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom P

Setting is amazing - expensive not enough included

Posted Dec 2, 2014
We had a great time though very very expensive Beautiful beaches Great staff Everything cost too much
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best beach: Scott's Bay

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Wonderful place - even during peak times (Thanksgiving, Christmas), it feels empty. Huge grounds, magnificent beaches, great service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Coralville, IA

Posted Nov 24, 2014
We went here on our honeymoon and it was excellent!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom NY, NY

Absolutely incredible!

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Cons: there could be beach side foot and shower stalls. It would be the only improvement needed.
Location: Would definitely do the sunset cruise.
If you are a beach lover this is the place to go. In fact once on St. John's there isn't another beach outside of this place that warrants you leaving the grounds. They have 5 beaches, each one as beautiful as the next. Snorkeling, canoes, paddle boards, beach bar service (at some not all beaches) are available. Very romantic, for couples, you could bring the kids, but really more for couples. The rooms are kept clean. Wifi service is available but spotty with weak signals in rooms, better signal near the main hotel. ZoZo's is one of the best italian restaurant's we've ever visited. A beautiful converted sugar mill, within Caneel's grounds, with a grand view of the bay. Can't wait to visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Beautiful Resort

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Location, staff and food.
Cons: The bed should be replaced.
Location: We loved the snorkeling and had a wonderful sunset yacht sailboat trip.
The staff was welcoming the resort gorgeous. We loved that it was located on a animal/nature preserve and really enjoyed the wildlife roaming around (wild donkeys, deer, iguanas & mongoose). This hotel was very expensive but everything was perfect the staff, restaurants (only two open at end of season) and room. The only minor complaint I had was that the bed was too soft I think ready to be replaced. The seven beaches were oustanding and we cam back totally relaxed and refreshed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: peaceful, quiet
Location: Good restaurant option in Cruz bay Zozo's is great at Caneel
Relaxing, great snorkeling, great staff. Will go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Another wonderful stay at Caneel Bay - beaches, grounds, rooms, restaurants, amenities, and staff make this resort and Island of St. John my favorite. Hope to come back soon!