Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place to relax

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Caneel Bay is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful Caribbean. The rooms are perfectly scattered throughout the property so that you never feel crowded (of course I was there in the summer). Breakfast buffet is amazing. Dinner at Zozo's was excellent. The Director's reception is quirky but nice as is the afternoon tea. There were two drawbacks but neither would prevent me from returning. The young man that checked us in could have provided us with more information and the housekeeping staff forgot to lock the veranda door after sweeping the room everyday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Georgia

Hotel Stay

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: The surrounding beaches were great. The easy access to a scuba shop was convenient.
Cons: The cold water in the room was limited. Taking a shower at times was uncomfortably warm. No phone in the room. Operating days of restaurants.
Location: We loved the surrounding beaches on the resort. The hiking trails were great.
The staff was friendly and helpfull. The beaches around the resort were beautifull. The staff member that took us to our room did not explain the amenities of the resort. We had to find out during our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OH

Gorgeous beaches!

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: Appreciate the low key ambience loved tea at Turtle Bay
Cons: Paddle boards and kayaks would be nice at Scott Beach.
Location: Cruz Bay only minutes away. Several nice restaurants
Overall a wonderful place to stay for a relaxing low key getaway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amaaaaaazzzzing!

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Absolutely amazing from start to finish!! Everyone asked us where we were staying when we would venture off the resort and would oooh and awww when we said caneel! We were treated like royalty the entire time we were there! They arranged day trips for us, had 7 private beaches with snorkeling that was better than the snorkeling trip we paid for!! We will for sure be back and wouldnt think of staying anywhere else!! The only down fall is ZoZos was not everything it was talked up to be as an italian restaurant but still great food just not my idea of italian!! Love love love this resort!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Relaxing and uncrowded Caribbean vacation spot

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: See above comments.
Cons: The friendliness/helpfulness of the staff was sporadic and unpredictable. Staff often ignored us or responded in unfriendly ways. !
Location: The town of Cruz Bay, about 10 minutes away, was a waste of time in our opinion - lots of overpriced touristy shops.
We stayed at Caneel Bay in early July, not tourist season at all, so although the resort did have guests, we often found ourselves alone or with just a handful of others at the various beaches. Beautiful property, nice rooms (we were at Hawksnest Bay), comfy beds, great food, plush beach and bath towels plus a complimentary bottle of rum in our room upon arrival. The only down side - staff was often unfriendly or ignored us completely. Weird for such an expensive resort. Housekeeping, shuttle drivers and wait staff were usually very nice, but anyone else either ignored us or responded in a gruff or condescending manner. Love the resort, but that was a weird surprise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sandy, Utah

Everything you need to unplug and recharge!

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Great snorkeling with turtles, Rays, coral, sea fans, tropical fish and star fish. Day trip on sailboat Kalina. Great captain Kati and mate Brian. A must do. Book at concierge. Clean quaint simple rooms, all have great location and views. Property is stunning! Donkeys and deer on site. Best place to stay. We will return. Top rating!!! Put it on your bucket list!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

fantastic getaway

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Great resort. Excellent service, good food, and pristine placid beaches. The bed wasn't the most comfortable, but otherwise, we had a fabulous time swimming, snorkeling, and recharging. Be sure to visit the gelato shop for homemade gelato.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bloomington, IN

Best resort on St. John - hands down!

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Location: you MUST visit all of the beaches associated with Caneel Bay - all have lovely views and great snorkeling.
My husband, 17 year old daughter and I wanted a relaxing trip to the Caribbean at a place with good snorkeling facilities. I was familiar with Caneel Bay as the place my parents vacationed at almost 40 years ago. Read the reviews and saw they had 7 beaches with primo snorkeling so i booked us our trip. Caneel Bay Resort is, by far, TOPS in my book. The beaches, the views, the service, the rooms, the nice extra-touches throughout made this trip FANTASTIC. Their service is impeccable - and it began the day before we arrived when they called to confirm where they would pick us up at the St. Thomas airport and then take us on their ferry. I initially was worried that travel from St. Thomas airport to the resort (on St. John) would be a hassle, but it wasn't - the Caneel Bay employees made everything run so smoothly - i was able to sit back and relax! our beachfront room opened up to Hawksnest Bay which had FANTASTIC snorkeling. I have snorkeled in other Caribbean locations, Hawaii, and way back when in Australia - and i thought the snorkeling here was the best i've seen. all of the beaches we visited on the resort had fantastic snorkeling and great swimming. The resort provided us with beach chairs, rafts, free ocean kayaks - it was wonderful! The service was great - towels changed out twice a day and sheets changed daily (so you didn't have to sleep with sand in the sheets). everyone greeted us with the smile and ensured our stay was a good one. highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing beach vacation

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Private beaches on resort offering beautiful turquoise waters. Snorkel, kyack, sail, hiking also available on resort. Staff are always ready to make stay an enjoyable one. Zozos restaurant on resort, great meal with beautiful view. Nice sunset Cruise at evening and sail/snorkel tour during day. Breakfast buffet to start day. Short taxi ride into town for shopping and dining.in town. In town, recommend trying Ocean Grill and Da Cold Pot for local dining. A very nice vacation experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Better than your expectations!

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: The 170 private acres & seven private beaches allows you to complete relax & enjoy the island.
Cons: St. Thomas airport is a nightmare but there isn't anything the Caneel Bay Resort can do about the airport.
Location: Coral reefs, turtles, sting rays, sailing, scuba diving, fishing.. There are more things to do than there is time to do it in.
This resort is unlike any other. The attention to detail makes it a 5-star resort. From the minute you arrive at the St. Thomas airport, the Caneel Bay Resort staff is there to transport you on their private ferry to the Caneel Bay Resort. The exclusive nature of this resort, complete with all the amenities you could ever want, makes it the vacation destination of your dreams.