Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location 10, Facility 4

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: See above
Location: Beach - swimming - snorkeling; Red Hook for shopping, eating, entertainment; 5 min from the ferry to St John; 20 min to city, but away from crowds.
This facility is located on Sapphire Beach, a stunning and fairly isolated slice of nature. The setting alone is worth a return visit. The facility, however, was variable at best. There didn't seem to be a minimum standard, even for safety, for rental unit maintenance (this comes from an owner of rental property in other resort areas). Our family had 2 units. The other one needed updating, but was serviceable enough. Ours was so in need of updating that aged phone and lamp cords disintegrated in our hands, the plumbing only worked some of the time, and the "full" kitchen wasn't adequately equipped for much beyond toast and coffee. The management never did address any of it, so we were without a phone the entire stay. Other units had been totally redone and were lovely, so what you get for lodging is a role of the dice. In the end, we would return to this place on the basis of the beach alone, plus we would better know what to expect (or not) the next time around and be better prepared to work around it.
1 out of 5
by KB from Oklahoma

Old Hotel needs major renovation

Posted Oct 29, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: a fire of bulldozer would help...
Location: bezch is pretty and Red hook is a nice town nearby.
Room was clean and that is the best we can say. Linens smelled of mildew and some of the furniture looked like I made it myself... Only bright spot was that management co . moved us to another property which was much more acceptable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Fell way short of expectations...

Posted Jun 2, 2013
Cons: Our room was very run down
Location: Close to Redhook - about a 5 min cab ($10 for 2 people each way)
My husband and I stayed here on the first night of our honeymoon before departing for the British Virgin Islands. We reserved through Expedia but when we showed up at the front desk they thought we had cancelled. After waiting about 30 minutes they were able to find us a room and gave us a 'complimentary upgrade' to stay at Sapphire Beach rather than the main resort Crystal Cove. Sapphire comes highly recommended and is even rated a top choice in the lonely planet guide but the room we stayed in was very run down and did not match the other reviews. It did not feel like much of an upgrade and we were happy to depart the next day. The part of the beach that our room walked out to was very rocky so bring water shoes if you do decide to stay here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary

Room was a bit run down but beach was nice!

Posted May 15, 2013
Pros: Beach was nice. Easy to get to Redhook!!
Cons: Towels had hair attached to them. Freezer smelled a bit. Couches are really worn out and need to be replaced. Pool was closed!
Location: Coco Cove sushi restaurant in Redhook was Fantastic!!!!
Spent a week on St John! Magical Island for sure!! St Thomas resort areas are nice, but most of the Island is living in poverty and garbage is everywhere!! Saphire Beach and Megans Bay are great.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Beach front with little to no amenities

Posted May 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Condo was old and tired but clean with nice new towels, beach front location was nice but there wasn't any dining on premises, had to take a $10 one-way taxi ride to go 3/4 of a mile since there weren't any sidewalks on a dangerous road, it was not possible to walk to anything.
1 out of 5
by Max from Phoenix, AZ, USA

Awful service and rundown facility

Posted Feb 23, 2013
Pros: The beach was very nice
Cons: Staff, cleanliness, conditions of the hotel
Location: Great location. Near ferry dock to other islands
We made the reservation for Crystal Cove Beach Resort but they put us in the sapphire beach resort instead (we have no idea why). So this review is for the sapphire beach resort. The Sapphire beach resort St. Thomas really needs repairing. The suite we stayed in was beachfront with full kitchen. When we checked in the light in the bathroom didn't work. The bathroom floor was not very clean. We didn't have a phone in the room. The kitchen was outdated but functional. The tv remote didn't work. The tennis courts were rundown and couldn't be used. The staff were not helpful and sometimes rude. However, we loved the sapphire beach and the location of the hotel near red hook. I would not recommend this hotel at all!!
1 out of 5
by Tonya & Yolanda from NYC

Stay At Your Own Risk

Posted Jul 12, 2012
Location: The location was great; however the resort was TERRIBLE!
Bottom Line: My girlfriend & I hotel stay was TERRIBLE. Absolutely not what we expected and we will never break ground at this establishment on our future visits to St. Thomas again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Max

Close to Red Hook

Posted May 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
Location is wonderful. Great beach, snorkling, good room layout. Room dated, and needs upgrading. Limited food, no bar, no gift shop. Taxi always available, local bus stop at enterance to property. Do not stay here if you are looking for nightlife/entertainment on property.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Harwich, Ma

Crystal Cove Beach Resort

Posted Apr 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
Crystal Cove Beach Resort is a decent place to stay. It is on a beautiful beach. We stayed in one of the older apartment style units. It is part of Saffire Beach Resort, where you have to check in, then get a ride back to the Crystal Cove section. A little confusing for the first time visitor, especially when calling for a cab. Only about a five minute cab ride to Red Hook.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by martin from ohio

better than expected

Posted Mar 4, 2012
Pros: the staff
Cons: full kitchen had I realized it I would have brought cofffee for the morning
Location: excellent maybe 1 minute to Red hook by taxi 3 dollars 1 way.
we used the place as a 1 night stop over on the way to St. John nice place excelent beach close to Red Hook the staff was the best and the room was much larger than expected I would most definitly stay there again for a night or a week of fun and sun on St. Thomas