Ratings based on 481 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to the heart of downtown St Thomas

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: TV with a ton of channels! Clean amenities and extremely friendly staff.
Cons: Free WiFi.
Location: Shopping by downtown. Take a tour bus. Close to the ferry.
The owner Gale is an extremely friendly woman, and very accommodating. The rooms were clean and modest, with TV. There are a lot of stairs so expect some climbing, however, it is very close to everything so no complaints there. There is no free Wifi.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Pros and cons of Galleon House

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: The location was convenient, especially if you don't rent a car. Free breakfast every morning served by the cheerful staff.
Cons: Rooms need upgrading. Water pressure was low; shower nozzle was moldy. Toilet seat was cracked and ancient. Toilet tank needed to be replaced.
Location: It was located close to downtown Charlotte Amalie, within walking distance of the bay, shops and restaurants. There is also an open-air market nearby.
This hotel was located close to downtown, within walking distance of the bay, shops and restaurants. The staff was very nice, and we got lots of good advice from Gail and Christine. This hotel is located on a steep hill, and there is no elevator. You must carry your luggage up 60 to 90 stairs, so we recommend that you be in very good physical condition, or otherwise avoid this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming Hotel in the Center of Town w/Harbor View

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Location, colorful funky vibe, friendly staff.
Cons: Everything was fine.
Location: Charlotte Amalie waterfront, restaurants, shops. Ferry to St John is a quick walk, and you can get a taxi tour of the island at the corner.
This hotel is just what I was looking for, charming and colorful West Indian vibe in the heart of town. 83 steps to our room, yes, that was a bit of a pain but the gorgeous harbor view from our balcony was the pay-off. A little funky but a more authentic experience than what you find at the resorts. All of the staff were lovely, especially Gail the manager. Easy walk to waterfront, restaurants, historical buildings. Breakfast was great, the room was roomy, we loved it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Efficient hotel, friendly staff, great breakfast!

Posted Jun 25, 2015
We enjoyed the location of the hotel, being in walking distance to many things. We felt safe as the gates are locked at night. The staff was friendly, the breakfast was delicious. The room we had was a bit small and didn't provide a view, but it was clean and was all we needed for a 2 night stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what we thought we were paying for

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: Pleasant people
Cons: Everything could be improved
Location: Not the best area to be at night, nothing to do but shopping
Rooms, pool were not as pictured on line. Sketchy area of town, to the point of feeling unsafe at night. Difficult access, many, many stairs with no elevator. Tiny cramped room in need of major renovations and soundproofing. Staff very pleasant and accommodating. Wanted to leave as soon as we got there but no vacancies elsewhere. Would not recommend or stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2015
Pros: very clean, good location, very friendly staff
Cons: offering cold drinking water through out the day.
Location: shopping, restaurants
great experience, stayed for several days, good breakfast
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice view.

Posted May 30, 2015
Too many stairs, but the view is amazing, the staff is friendly, the location is in downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great service!

Posted May 23, 2015
Gail was the BEST host, making out stay great. She went out of her way for a surprise from family back home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2015
no hot water in the shower, otherwise it was ok; the staff was very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Juan, PR

Perfect Bed and Breakfast for a weekend trip!

Posted May 8, 2015
Pros: The location.
Cons: Add a bit more character to the room.
I stayed with a friend for one night at Galleons. The staff was very friendly, we arrived at 8:00 am and the room was ready so they gave it to us right away. The bed and breakfast is right next to the historical 99 steps and a 5 minute walk from the Charlotte Amelie's shopping district where you can find restaurants as well. The room was simple but clean, perfect for a weekend getaway in St. Thomas.