Ratings based on 409 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom georgetown sc

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Great for short stay. The only down side is the climb to the hotel. Not for the faint of heart
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Buffalo, NY

Close to downtown

Posted Jan 18, 2015
The location is great! But the bugs there aren't so much. They just need to debug the place and I'd rate it 4-5 stars. The staff was friendly and attentive. If you didn't know where to get lunch and/or dinner they have a huge binder of restaurants in the area. (I'd recommend Glady's for lunch!) Our toilet wasn't working when we got there so when we called they sent someone up right away. He didn't completely fix the problem but it sufficed for the one night we stayed there. If you don't like stairs don't book here. But if you like an amazing view the stairs are worth it! Plus pretty much anywhere you go in St. Thomas you'll have to climb up stairs or hike up a hill!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Convenient to shopping and restaurants

Posted Jan 17, 2015
We found the hotel staff to be helpful and friendly. Great breakfast with a wonderful view of the harbor. It was nice meeting up in the morning and evening with the visitors sharing stories and information.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nc

okok hotel with fantastic view

Posted Jan 12, 2015
arrived and screen door fell off. Bads uncomfortable but room clean and breakfast good very nice staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Hamilton, ON

Christmas day at Galleon House B+B

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Smaller and the interaction was more personal
Gail was a terrific host. We were only staying in St Thomas for one night but she provided some very helpful info about restaurants- very honest. Other guests do need to know about the steep climb and number of steps to the B+B. This would be challenging to some.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would Stay Again

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Location and the view.
Location: Shops, restaurants, ferries, safari pick up (a local bus system), and cab dispatch.
Excellent location, good breakfast, and incredible view.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Missouri

Worst hotel I have ever visited

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Location sucks because their are too many stairs to take before you reach your room. Exhausted especially if you have luggage like I did.
The walls between the rooms are extra thin, you can here every movement. Secondly all the guest on the floor had to share a bathroom. Who the hell shares a bathroom at a hotel. That is so disgusting!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boise, Idaho

Good location and view.

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: View and location.
Cons: The rooms are in need of repair. Wouldn't take much but repairs would go a long way in making the rooms feel more upscale.
Location: Close to ferry and downtown Charlotte. Easy going staff. Restaurant next door. Take a safari taxi to beaches, or taxi anywhere.
The hotel is in a convenient location to downtown and the ferry is walking distance if you don't mind stairs and a hill. The hotel is old and in need of a good repair job. Lots of holes, dangling formica, that kind of thing that would be very easy to fix. The views from our rooms were very nice with a great overview of the bay. We stayed 3 nights total, 2 on our arrival before we left for BVI sailing trip, and one night when we returned before flight. Last night had the nicest room with view. Chris and the front desk staff were nice and knowledgable. There is a great little restaurant next door for the dinner if you don't want to stray into town. Most of the town shuts down after the cruise ships leave for the day. You have to go to Frenchtown to find a restaurant if you don't go next door. People warned us about going into town at night as not being too safe. We are in our 50's but in good shape and this hotel was all we needed for our stay. If you are looking for high end go somewhere else. If you are good with a place to stay with a view at reasonable island price, this worked just fine.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom s

terrible neighborhood,terrible staff

Posted Dec 28, 2014
they charge me more because we had one kid with us, the neighborhood is terrible (music all night for the party) and the staff is not friendly.the food is even worse.never want to deal with them again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly place with great view of town below

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and location were great. Breakfast on patio was really great and filling.
Cons: Just a better mattress for the bed we had. Room was neat a clean and small but that's what we expected.
Location: All old town was just steps below us. Really good location
We were greeted by friendly and helpful staff and a . Shared bathroom was no problem. Bed was lopsided a bit so sleeping wasn't all that comfortable. Breakfast and patio were excellent.