Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northville, NY

Absolutely perfect!

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Everything!! As stated above, I can't imagine a more wonderful place to call "home" during our vacation.
Location: Great location near the ferry dock, where a bellman met us when we arrived and drove us and our luggage back when we left.
We stayed 7 fabulous nights at Gallows Point. I can't say enough great things about this "resort." Our condo was beautiful, immaculately clean, with a sitting room, awesome kitchen, king sized bed, and huge walk-in tile shower. The view from our deck was outstanding, and at night it was magical to see the lights on St. Thomas. We discovered great snorkeling right off the back of the property and enjoyed the warm pool afterwards. The other guests we met were so friendly, and the whole staff couldn't do enough for us. I will definitely be returning to St. John and stay at Gallows Point. We didn't need to rent a vehicle, as there were wonderful restaurants and shops within walking distance. Thank you, Gallows Point staff for helping make our vacation a dream come true! Oh, and the Gallows Point shop was well stocked with everything you could want, along with great gift and souvenir items.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Terrific location. Easy walk to town

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Location, grounds, amenities.
Location: Easy, quick walk into the town of Cruz Bay where there are many, many restaurants, cute shops, water sports, and ferry dock.
Loved our stay at The Gallows. The grounds were beautiful, secluded, safe, and in a great location. Hotel staff was kind and knowledgable. Please note that this resort does not shuttle you to beaches, etc as many others do, only will assist you with luggage upon arrival/departure at the ferry. Facilities were very clean and in nice condition. We had 2 adults and 2 teenagers and knew going into this that it was a 1 bedroom w/pull out couch and that we would want a rollaway. My only complaint would be that it was VERY tight quarters with the couch open and rollaway there. We had to move some furniture around to make it all fit. That said, we'd stay there again in a heartbeat. View from the room was beautiful. Walk to town was quick and easy. Loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Right in town but an oasis of calm

Posted Mar 30, 2015
We faced St. Thomas, not Cruz Bay, and all we heard were the waves. Super nice staff. Some of the best snorkling right off the property. Plenty of parking, a convenient store for breakfast basics and ice cream, and a top restaurant for dinner with fab view. Wifi worked great. 5 minute walk at most to town. No beach but beach chairs in sun and shade. A small pool for lolling and a hot tub. Need some exercise? Swim out to the float. No snorkel gear? Rent from the on a site shop.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet haven

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Condos right on the ocean with beautiful tropical landscaping, and an easy walk to town for food and music. Couldn't be better!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Cleveland

Great hotel with good views and easy town-access

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: Location and size of room
Cons: Room maintenance
Location: Very close to Cruz Bay. Can also swim in pool or bay.
Had a great experience with this hotel. Really enjoyed the location and the service was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Holland, MI

Excellent alternative to hotels or all-inclusives

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Great location, well kept, spacious rooms, beautiful grounds, excellent snorkeling, choice of either ocean or harbor view, no small children.
Location: Short walk down the hill to Cruz Bay for shopping and dining, or ferry over to Charlotte Amalie for a day. Taxi to any beach.
We love staying at Gallows Point. The condos are beautiful, spacious, and perfectly located just a short walk up from Cruz Bay. After staying in all-inclusive Caneel Bay a couple of times, we found that we prefer the greater independence of staying at Gallows. You can go to Dolphin or Starfish market, stock up the fridge for breakfast and lunch, then choose a different place for dinner each night from among the many great dining choices in Cruz Bay. Getting there is convenient since you can fly major airlines into St. Thomas, and Gallows will send their driver to meet you at the ferry from either Red Hook or Charlotte Amalie. Hotel grounds are beautiful, filled with gorgeous plantings, birds and iguana. Although the shoreline is rocky, there is a small sandy area with hammocks, and several platforms for sunning around the pool and down the hill to the ocean. Snorkeling around the resort is excellent. After numerous stays at Gallows Point we have found the quality of accommodation and service to be consistently excellent. We look forward to our next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Gallows Point is the best

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Everything
Gallows Point is hands down one of the nicest places I ever stayed. There is nothing bad to say about the place--beautiful grounds, top accommodation, the best, friendliest staff. Can't go wrong here
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Great place to relax!

Posted Jan 27, 2015
The Gallows Point Resort is a lovely place to visit! It's centrally located to several restaurants and bars. Our condo had a beautiful ocean view. The surroundings were quiet. I would highly recommend staying at Gallows Point in St. John if you desire a relaxing place to get away from it all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: accomodations very beautiful
Cons: The dining room- dinner was disappointing.Music from town until very late at night
Location: not much,few restaurants and bars
only problem one hast take a taxi to go to any beach and also often to go to town
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom r

Great hotel, amenities and unbeatable location

Posted Jan 9, 2015
We stayed on cruz bay side in an upstairs unit. View was spectacular and unit itself was well appointed, super comfy bed, newly renovated kitchen and bath. Grounds are gorgeous and a very short walk puts you in cruz bay. On site convenience/gift shop with concierge services to book excursions. Will stay here again next time for sure. Restaurant on site is good but only open for dinner